Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

770E on-board RAM errors and removal question

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
nobody88
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 6:30 am
Location: Bialystok, Poland

770E on-board RAM errors and removal question

#1 Post by nobody88 » Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:02 pm

Hello,

Today I obtained a thinkpad 770E that the seller stated was in "working condition". Well - it booted to WIN 95 it had on the HDD. I decided to do some upgrades (adding a 10 GB HDD and inserting 2 x 128 MB RAM) and install Win 2000 on it. After 10 unsuccessful attempts (the installer crashed randomly during the first couple of screens) I booted up Memtest86 and in 2 iterations I got over 300 errors in one specific memory range (30 - 31 MB). Fair enough - removed the added RAM and restarted Memtest. Turns out it was the on-board 32 MB memory that is soldered to the mainboard. Having no means of swapping the mainboard to this model I started thinking - will removal of the onboard RAM via desoldering them will not cause the mainboard to report problems on POST? Did any of You guys tried this on any thinkpad that had the on-board RAM faulty? If yes - was the removal successful or did You have to solder on new RAM chips (I could try finding them on the web)?

Thanks for any feedback!
Owner of working thinkpads: T42, T43, Z61m, R60, A31p, A20m, T30, X200, R31, X61, 560, 560X, 570, 570x, 600, T20, 356XD, X41
Restoring/work in progres: R40, X60t, 770E, 760EL and the 701C

SMA
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: 770E on-board RAM errors and removal question

#2 Post by SMA » Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:27 pm

Thinkpad 770 does not have it's on-board ram soldered on to the the mainboard. It is socketed.
You will have to remove the mainboard to get to it.
See the hmm

nobody88
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 6:30 am
Location: Bialystok, Poland

Re: 770E on-board RAM errors and removal question

#3 Post by nobody88 » Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:59 pm

SMA wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:27 pm
Thinkpad 770 does not have it's on-board ram soldered on to the the mainboard. It is socketed.
You will have to remove the mainboard to get to it.
See the hmm
Sorry, but You are incorrect - some 770 and 770E mainboards have the RAM soldered directly to the mainboard as mentioned in the HMM for the model. Which is unfortunately the case for me - verifed that by taking the mainboard. Today I have ordered some soldering flux gel and over the weekend I'm going to desolder it and see if it boots in this condidtion.
Owner of working thinkpads: T42, T43, Z61m, R60, A31p, A20m, T30, X200, R31, X61, 560, 560X, 570, 570x, 600, T20, 356XD, X41
Restoring/work in progres: R40, X60t, 770E, 760EL and the 701C

nobody88
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 6:30 am
Location: Bialystok, Poland

Re: 770E on-board RAM errors and removal question

#4 Post by nobody88 » Sat Jun 29, 2019 9:05 am

Well - got my answer today - after removing the memory from the mainboard it boots, but the BIOS detects that the memory is not present and gives me a 225 error, refusing to load anything. I'll have to find replacement memory chips then.
Owner of working thinkpads: T42, T43, Z61m, R60, A31p, A20m, T30, X200, R31, X61, 560, 560X, 570, 570x, 600, T20, 356XD, X41
Restoring/work in progres: R40, X60t, 770E, 760EL and the 701C

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests