Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

385ED doesn't recognise RAM upgrade

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
onespeedbiker
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

385ED doesn't recognise RAM upgrade

#1 Post by onespeedbiker » Fri Dec 06, 2019 1:24 am

I bought 64MB 144pin SoDimms to replace the 16MB RAM sticks in my 385EDs. I plugged in the RAM stick and it is not recognized; no error, it just shows the hard wired 16MB of memory. According to Impact C&E the FRU of the stick is the same as shows in the IBM Manual. FRU #42H2817. I have two 385ED Laptops and bought two of the chips and neither of them work in either computer. Both show an increase of RAM with a 16MB stick to 32MB, but no increase with the 64MB stick.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2469
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: 385ED doesn't recognise RAM upgrade

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Dec 06, 2019 1:46 am

Sounds like the RAM is bad. :(
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

onespeedbiker
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

Re: 385ED doesn't recognise RAM upgrade

#3 Post by onespeedbiker » Fri Dec 06, 2019 1:12 pm

That is certainly a possibility, but both ram sticks? And the fact they do not produce an error, makes me wonder if it's something else.

tfflivemb2
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 5595
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:17 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: 385ED doesn't recognise RAM upgrade

#4 Post by tfflivemb2 » Fri Dec 06, 2019 2:04 pm

If im not mistaken, you wont get an error code, because it sees the onboard 16mb. If there wasnt onboard ram, you would get beep codes, if neither registered. The same could be said if one worked and one didnt. You'd see 64mb, not 128mb, but no beeps.

Are you sure they are low-density sticks?

onespeedbiker
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

Re: 385ED doesn't recognise RAM upgrade

#5 Post by onespeedbiker » Fri Dec 06, 2019 2:39 pm

I don't know the density (?). They are Kingston KTM- TP770/64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests