Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Old HDD won't image

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2667
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Old HDD won't image

#1 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:04 am

I put my 365XD drive on a USB-IDE adapter and I'm trying to get it to image using Raw HDD Copy Tool and it gets about 4% in and the drive slows and makes clicking sounds, speeds up and repeats. The drive works fine in the machine so I don't know why it won't copy? Bad sectors? What is the best method for imaging an 810MB IBM drive?
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21160
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Old HDD won't image

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:46 am

You could try an older version 9.1 of Acronis True Image as found here: https://www.techspot.com/downloads/1329 ... ation.html
That ATI works from computers with Win98, WinME, WinXP, WinNT 4.x, Windows2000 and should also copy/image older OSes like DOS, W3.1 etc..
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes: I Am Pilgrim)

fultontech
Sophomore Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:38 am
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Contact:

Re: Old HDD won't image

#3 Post by fultontech » Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:58 am

Worst case I've had to go through was to LapLink from a DOS/Windows system to a directory on a Win98/W2K system in realmode then to USB
IBM P75
IBM ThinkPad 700, 720C, 750Cs, 360C, 360P, 360CE, 360PE, 730TE, PC110, 365CSD, 365ED, 701Cs, 820, 600X, 770X, 240, T30
IBM RS/6000 43P 150
Lenovo ThinkPad X41T, X61T, X200T, X201T, X220T, X230T, X280
Lenovo ThinkCenter M92p Tiny, M900 Tiny

Mornsgrans
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:35 am

Re: Old HDD won't image

#4 Post by Mornsgrans » Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:10 am

If you use Acronis emergency boot CD Linux based, you can switch to the Linux console by presseing <Ctrl>-<Alt>-<F2> or <Ctrl>-<Alt>-<F1> (I do not really know the exact key combination, but I use it very often ;-))

Login by pressing <Enter> and type

Code: Select all

tail - f /var/log/messages
Then you can find error messages concerning HDD while you hear the clicking sounds and speeding down.

I suggest, that the drive is dieing.
Thinkpads: 240, X40, T41p, T60, T61, X61s, X61 Tablet, X200, X300, T400, R500, X220, T420

goldeneagle
Sophomore Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 8:06 pm
Location: Bandera, TX

Re: Old HDD won't image

#5 Post by goldeneagle » Tue Apr 14, 2020 3:29 pm

I've had really bad luck with those USB adapters. As in "loss of data" bad luck. I'm imaging a drive as we speak with Norton Ghost. It's NOT fun, and it's slower than molasses, but I'm doing it inside my 755C. I would suggest for reliability, and if possible, to image it in an older machine with a real IDE port, and just dump the contents to a CF card, like what I'm doing.
Historic ThinkPads owned:
300 (x3), more 355's than I know what to do with, 360C/CSE/CE/P, 510CS, 560/E, 600E, 701C/CS, 730TE, 750/C, 755C(x3)/CE(x3)/CX/CDV/CD, 760ED, 770
Newer ThinkPads owned:
T520, W520 (x2), X220 Tablet (x4), and some T61/X61T laying around somewhere

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests