Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Cheap 256MB PC133 RAM for the 600X?!?!?

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
JHEM
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 5571
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Contact:

Cheap 256MB PC133 RAM for the 600X?!?!?

#1 Post by JHEM » Fri May 12, 2006 1:44 pm

Crucial.com lists their PC133 256MB RAM as being compatible with the 600X series Thinkpad.

This is apparently due to the fact that Crucial/Micron has overcome the lo-density problem in their PC133 RAM vs. PC100.

I've just ordered two sticks and i'll be trying them in my hangar Queen 600X.

Regards,

James
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown

phr
Sophomore Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:30 pm
Contact:

#2 Post by phr » Mon May 15, 2006 2:18 am

What's the low density problem? I'd heard there was some subtle timing issue with pc133 memory and the Intel chipset used in that generation of Thinkpads, so pc133 memory physically fits in the machine and somewhat works, but is unreliable. I also see though that Crucial now lists pc133 as compatible with the A20p, which I'd formerly gone to some hassle to get pc100 memory for without paying an arm and a leg.

Dr_Frankenmiga
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

#3 Post by Dr_Frankenmiga » Mon May 15, 2006 9:16 am

Any ideas if they will work in the 600E I would rather buy from Crucial then some scummy eBay seller who has no clue what so ever :D

dsigma6
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2299
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

#4 Post by dsigma6 » Tue May 16, 2006 9:59 am

i bought this a little while ago for my 600E

http://cgi1.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.d ... 6847396270

i read that it needs to have 8 chips on each side to work in the 600? it has 4 on each side and works well!!

edit: by works well, i meant i get BSOD about every two or three weeks. blame it on the memory!
[Current] [Dell Latitude D630] : [Past] [T43] [T40] [T23] [T20] [R40] [X22] [600E] [570] [765D]

JHEM
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 5571
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Contact:

Update

#5 Post by JHEM » Wed May 17, 2006 5:02 pm

UPS just delivered the memory from Crucial. Five days from order to delivery, a new record for Crucial for lethargy.

I just installed them in a 2645-UN2 (PIII 500MHz 600X) hangar Queen.

Each stick is marked "256MB 144-PIN SODIMM 32MX64 PC133 CL2".

Results?

Installed - 589,824KB.

Usable - 589,248KB!

Let there be rejoicing throughout the land!

Regards,

James
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown

dsigma6
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2299
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

#6 Post by dsigma6 » Wed May 17, 2006 7:07 pm

lucky you! how much did they cost? my 600e has BSOD'd two days in a row, and thats quite unacceptable. thing is, im not the one using it when it happens so i dont know the error number..
[Current] [Dell Latitude D630] : [Past] [T43] [T40] [T23] [T20] [R40] [X22] [600E] [570] [765D]

JHEM
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 5571
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Contact:

#7 Post by JHEM » Wed May 17, 2006 8:57 pm

dsigma6 wrote:lucky you! how much did they cost?
See the link in my original post.

Regards,

James
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10135
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

Slightly OT but still cheap!

#8 Post by rkawakami » Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:01 am

I've been having good luck finding 256MB PC100 CL2 memory for my 600X systems on eBay for the last couple of months for around $30-$40, including shipping. Two examples:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 6875565646
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 6874312410

Mostly I try to get the Micron MT16LSDF3264HG-10 modules, but I've also bought Samsung. It pains me to buy any modules because I work for a company who used to made DRAMS and I'm sure some of our old PC100 stock was tossed out several years ago when it "wasn't worth anything anymore" :roll: .

If you're patient enough and construct a good search string, it's just a matter of sniping a couple here and there. Then a few hours with PC Doctor and memtest86+ and you have a 576MB 600X! As of today, you can see in my signature that I've got one more system to go....
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

Dr_Frankenmiga
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

#9 Post by Dr_Frankenmiga » Fri Jun 23, 2006 3:05 pm

Am I guessing right that these will work in a 600E any tried that yet?
2 x 256Mbs from Crucial work out a hell of alot cheaper than eBay UK.
If they have overcome the low-density problem, which I hope, I gotta alotta hope riding on this :D

dsigma6
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2299
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

#10 Post by dsigma6 » Fri Jun 23, 2006 3:27 pm

the item i posted above does in fact work fine in the 600e and 570. the BSODs i kept getting were due to an older 64mb card that was also installed. $37-$40 depending if you bid or buy it now, shipped. kingston brand.
[Current] [Dell Latitude D630] : [Past] [T43] [T40] [T23] [T20] [R40] [X22] [600E] [570] [765D]

cecooper
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: Erie, PA USA

Crucial PC133 Works, Interesting Price!!

#11 Post by cecooper » Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:36 pm

Based on James' experience with the Crucial PC133 CL2 256k memory, I also purchased one from Crucial. It works perfectly in my old 600x (2646-4EU).

I did observe something very interesting with the price listed on the Crucial website. The first day I looked the price was 53 USD (free shipping), the next day the price was 51 USD, the next day the price was 45.73 USD where I purchased. A few days later I looked again and the price was 90 USD and today it is 84 USD!!! So I guess it would be good idea to watch the price for a while to get the best deal, it changes faster than I change my underwear!!

Prior to purchasing the Crucial, I puchased a "noname" memory from a dealer that was supposed to be 600x compatible, it would not boot at all (did get a refund), next I purchase a new Kingston KTM-TP390X/256 through eBay (Kingston's website says this module is compatible with the 600x), it also would not work (shows installed, but not useable)!!

Sure was glad to see the Crucial work perfectly...

Thanks,
Charlie

dsigma6
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2299
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: Crucial PC133 Works, Interesting Price!!

#12 Post by dsigma6 » Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:06 pm

cecooper wrote:it changes faster than I change my underwear!!
it changes every day and you don't? :P
[Current] [Dell Latitude D630] : [Past] [T43] [T40] [T23] [T20] [R40] [X22] [600E] [570] [765D]

vanaya
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 523
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

#13 Post by vanaya » Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:54 am

FYI Currently the price is 36.06 for 128mb
81.91 for the 256mb.
Z61p (WUXGA)/2.16ghz/2gb/60gb, R51/1.8ghz/1gb/160gb, R40/1.5ghz/2gb/80gb, 600E/366mhz/416mb/20gb, Project R51 with SXGA+

Ken Edmonds
Freshman Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Chesterfield UK

#14 Post by Ken Edmonds » Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:58 pm

I've got a Kingston KTM-TP390X/256 in my 570E and it works fine.

As soon as I can get a couple more at the right price I'll take the two 128s out of my 600X and replace them.

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8444
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Re: Slightly OT but still cheap!

#15 Post by pianowizard » Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:29 pm

rkawakami wrote:I've been having good luck finding 256MB PC100 CL2 memory for my 600X systems on eBay for the last couple of months for around $30-$40, including shipping.
I got even luckier about 5 months ago: a low-density 256MB PC100 memory for a friend's X20 for $19 on eBay, shipped! I am not sure why so few people bidded. I suspect it was the fuzzy photo shown, which made it look more like a high-density stick.
HP Pavilion x2 12 (Core M3-6Y30, 3.14 lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00 lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); HP 8300 Elite minitower (Core i7-3770)
Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; Dell U2715H, U2711, D2015Hf; Monoprice 10734; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

Mannersxxx
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:23 am
Location: London, England

Another PC133 working

#16 Post by Mannersxxx » Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:03 am

A while back I took some RAM sticks out of some other laptops to pop in my 600x (2645-5EG). They were both 128mb but one was PC100 the other PC133. I figured both being older types of RAM they would work. So I popped them in and sure enough when booting my 600x it checked and found about 327mb (128mb + 128mb + 64mb-inbuilt). Does this mean my machine accepted this form of PC133 as well? Or do you have to run another check to see if this RAM is actually working and being used by the computer (if so is there some software that does this similar to the CPU speed checking software)?

Also is there a massive performance difference between PC100 vs PC133 because I looking to max out my RAM with to sticks of 256mb off the old eBay (is this advisable?)

Thanks in advance!

P.s. I'm not sure what make of PC133 I put - I'll check later and post.
Thinkpadder Enthusiast
T400
2.4ghz 2gb LED
T61
2.5ghz 2gb
600x - 2645-9WU
Pentium III - 650mHz
Windows XP (SP3), 40 GB , 529 RAM
Panasonic/M a t s u s h i t a UJDA 710 upgraded DVD/CD-RW, internal wireless

Ken Edmonds
Freshman Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Chesterfield UK

#17 Post by Ken Edmonds » Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:12 am

There is a massive performance difference between PC100 and PC133 - but only on a system that can run the memory bus at 133MHz. The old dog of an Athlon 1300 that I'm typing this on slows down a lot if I switch the memory speed down to 100MHz. A 600X (or a 570E) can't run it at 133 so it will make no difference.

WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: Another PC133 working

#18 Post by WarMachine » Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:13 pm

Mannersxxx wrote:Also is there a massive performance difference between PC100 vs PC133 because I looking to max out my RAM with to sticks of 256mb off the old eBay (is this advisable?)
On your 600x, you won't see any difference between PC100 and PC133, because the max FSB is 100 MHz, and, if you put PC133 in your machine, it'll run @ 100 MHz.

If you take very poor PC100 RAM, and if you overclock, then, you could see difference, in terms of system stability.

Note that PC133 is nowadays generally cheaper than PC100, so, it's a better choice.

Of course, buying them via eBay is a good choice, just make sure that they will run on your system. ;)

W.
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

SaberX
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:22 am
Location: St John's , Newfoundland , Canada

#19 Post by SaberX » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:37 pm

I'm doing some serches now but how would you tell if a 256 meg pc-100/133 is low density or high density?
I have a 570E P-III500.I'm guessing this 570E system takes the same ram as the 600X.So when i go looking for ram should i look for low density?

Bill Wheeler
Great White North
Thinkpad T61 , T60p , T430
[Donor]

tfflivemb2
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 5532
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:17 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

#20 Post by tfflivemb2 » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:44 pm

SaberX wrote:I'm doing some serches now but how would you tell if a 256 meg pc-100/133 is low density or high density?
I have a 570E P-III500.I'm guessing this 570E system takes the same ram as the 600X.So when i go looking for ram should i look for low density?
256mb LOW density sticks will have 8 black chips on EACH side of the stick, for a total of 16 chips. A high density stick will only have 8 chips total....4 on each side.

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10135
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

#21 Post by rkawakami » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:47 pm

A 256MB low-density module has 16 total memory chips (8 per side). The high-density version will only have 8 total chips (4 per side).

(HAH! Gotta learn to type faster!)
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

willmize
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:23 am
Location: St Petersburg, FL

Re: Cheap 256MB PC133 RAM for the 600X?!?!?

#22 Post by willmize » Wed May 23, 2007 3:22 pm

JHEM wrote:Crucial.com lists their PC133 256MB RAM as being compatible with the 600X series Thinkpad.

This is apparently due to the fact that Crucial/Micron has overcome the lo-density problem in their PC133 RAM vs. PC100.

I've just ordered two sticks and i'll be trying them in my hangar Queen 600X.

Regards,

James
Just a quick note, that I just tried this exact same RAM in my own 600x and it works perfectly.

- Bill
Creator of the Denton Ward and Monty Crocetti Mystery Series
http://www.williammize.com

Nesh
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:37 pm
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

#23 Post by Nesh » Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:35 am

Does it make any difference if the sticks are 128MB?
I ordered two 128MB sticks yesterday, PC133 and high-density, will it work on my 600e?
If not :cry: ...
Regards!

ryengineer
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.

#24 Post by ryengineer » Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:40 pm

Nesh wrote: I ordered two 128MB sticks yesterday, PC133 and high-density, will it work on my 600e?
It would.
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.

Nesh
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:37 pm
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

#25 Post by Nesh » Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:38 pm

ryengineer wrote:
It would.
It works, and works great! :D
Thanks!

cparker
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 5:03 pm
Location: New York City

Upgrading my 570 with 256mb ram

#26 Post by cparker » Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:06 pm

Someone just gave me a 570 to add to my thinkpad collection. It was a gift! Seems to work perfectly. Of course, the 128mb ram is a problem. After reading some of the threads here I plan on picking up a 256mb stick and then should have a workable system (Running windows 2000 now). I was thinking of getting the Crucial 256 mb module as described in this thread. I went to Crucial and they had a 256mg stick for the 570e but not for the 570. I figure that's because the specs for the 570 are only for 192mb maximum, but have read that you can add a 256mb module, rather than a 128mb module. I would think that getting the stick that's compatible with the 570e and various 600 versions would be good (which I believe is the same as the one mentioned at the top of the thread), but just wanted any feedback (or reassurance) from people here.

Many thanks, in advance. I'm loving my little Thinkpad collection (up to 3 now!)

Frank
Frank
In Manhattan, very close to Central Park
Thinkpads: 560, 570, T30 (1.8/2gb ram/xp pro sp3)

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19160
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

#27 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat May 03, 2008 6:31 am

I found a manufacturer in Pennsylvania, that continues to make 128MB PC100 Low Density modules.
Compatible with IBM P/N 20L0255, used in a.o.:
1200i, 130, 1300i, 1400i, 1500i, 1800i,
240, 240X/Z,
390, 390e/x,
570, 570E,
600, 600E/X,
770, 770E/ED/X/Z,
A20M, A21E, A21M, A22M, A20P, A21P, A22P,
T20, T21,T22,
R30,
X20, X21, X22, X23, X24
http://cgi.ebay.com/128MB-PC100-PC-100- ... 0235884763
$13.99 (or best offer) ea. + shipping free.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10135
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

#28 Post by rkawakami » Sat May 03, 2008 12:27 pm

The way I read their description on how they "make" memory modules, it leads me to believe that for some of their modules they simply take old memory chips ("We purchase VIRTUALLY ANYTHING with DRAM on it.") and attach them to their own boards. They do say that they re-sell tier 1 (aka major name-branded) modules that may have been refurbished. To me, that means defective modules have been re-worked to identify the failing component and replaced with another one. As long as the modules have undergone some kind of effective testing (I've sent a message to them asking about their procedures) and they back up their 30-day money back guarantee, then that should be fine.
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

ozzymud
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Location: Klamath Falls, OR

Re: Cheap 256MB PC133 RAM for the 600X?!?!?

#29 Post by ozzymud » Thu May 12, 2011 1:16 pm

There are several vendors with memory as you said (rebuilt), they seem to only list products described as "Condition: Like New"

This is all well and fine with me, I mean if ram is gonna fail, it normally happens early on, I think i would rather have memory that has been used is old and STILL works :P

I just fixed an old Smith Corona/Acer 286 machine... dug out 4 1M 30pin simm sticks from a box (they were just tossed in and not in static bags... they worked flawlessly... I seriously doubt these sticks will EVER die :P
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests