Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X1C gen2 or gen3 display into gen1 is it possible to?

X1 / X1-Carbon (X1C) / X1-Extreme (X1E) Series/Generations
Post Reply
Message
Author
remasik
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:37 am
Location: Moscow, Russian Federation

X1C gen2 or gen3 display into gen1 is it possible to?

#1 Post by remasik » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:49 am

So, maybe my question is stupid, but I want to ask... Can I insert display gen2 or gen3 into gen1 carbon?
They all have 40pin, but connector on different sides.
Display gen1http://www.lcd4laptop.co.uk/lg-philips- ... en-hd.html
Display gen2http://www.lcd4laptop.co.uk/lg-philips- ... -wqhd.html

thanks.

fb1996
Freshman Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:24 am
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany

Re: X1C gen2 or gen3 display into gen1 is it possible to?

#2 Post by fb1996 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:11 pm

As the screens of both the second and the third generation of the X1 Carbon use eDP while the first generation still uses LVDS, you need some kind of converter from LVDS to eDP that is small enough to fit inside the chassis...
X1, X380 Yoga

remasik
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:37 am
Location: Moscow, Russian Federation

Re: X1C gen2 or gen3 display into gen1 is it possible to?

#3 Post by remasik » Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:14 pm

oh, thanks.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X1 / X1-Carbon / X1-Extreme and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests