Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Force X1 to boot from external display?

X1/X1-Carbon series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
xsixt
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:21 am
Location: Australia

Force X1 to boot from external display?

#1 Post by xsixt » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:29 am

I received an x1 with a broken display. Unknown if it works, but it powers up without any beeps.

Without replacing the display, is there someone way of forcing it to boot using the HDMI port? This is to test the machine actually works.

Thanks
T60p 15" UXGA T7600 | T61p 15.4" WUXGA T9500 |
Former: X61 T8300 [Slow GPU] | W510 FHD QM [Top screen but 16:9 sucks] | T420s [Portable but worst LCD ever] | X201 | X200 | X60T [Slow & hot]

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 7220
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Force X1 to boot from external display?

#2 Post by dr_st » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:46 am

Try pressing Fn+F7 (multiple times, if needed) when the computer starts booting. This should cycle the display options.

The default display device can be selected in the BIOS, but navigating it without seeing anything on screen may be difficult.
Current: Thinkpad 25 (20K7), Yoga 14 (20FY), X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, T60 1952-F76, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad

xsixt
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:21 am
Location: Australia

Re: Force X1 to boot from external display?

#3 Post by xsixt » Thu Nov 09, 2017 4:47 am

dr_st wrote:
Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:46 am
Try pressing Fn+F7 (multiple times, if needed) when the computer starts booting. This should cycle the display options.

The default display device can be selected in the BIOS, but navigating it without seeing anything on screen may be difficult.
Ahh legend, I'll try that !

I never thought of the second idea, but I guess it's theoretically possible but would take a bit of practice and preparation - e.g. writing down the number of key presses up and down, left and right etc. :thumbs-UP:
T60p 15" UXGA T7600 | T61p 15.4" WUXGA T9500 |
Former: X61 T8300 [Slow GPU] | W510 FHD QM [Top screen but 16:9 sucks] | T420s [Portable but worst LCD ever] | X201 | X200 | X60T [Slow & hot]

xsixt
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:21 am
Location: Australia

Re: Force X1 to boot from external display?

#4 Post by xsixt » Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:58 am

dr_st wrote:
Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:46 am
Try pressing Fn+F7 (multiple times, if needed) when the computer starts booting. This should cycle the display options.

The default display device can be selected in the BIOS, but navigating it without seeing anything on screen may be difficult.
Ahh.. It's the X1 with the soft Fn keys. I tried this a few times, but I don't know if I am doing it correctly.

The soft Fn keys really suck!
T60p 15" UXGA T7600 | T61p 15.4" WUXGA T9500 |
Former: X61 T8300 [Slow GPU] | W510 FHD QM [Top screen but 16:9 sucks] | T420s [Portable but worst LCD ever] | X201 | X200 | X60T [Slow & hot]

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X1/X1-Carbon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests