Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Can I use the blue or black "ThinkVantage" button in Win8 RP

Windows 8 on ThinkPads
Post Reply
Message
Author
barrywohl
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:01 am
Location: Sheridan, WY
Contact:

Can I use the blue or black "ThinkVantage" button in Win8 RP

#1 Post by barrywohl » Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:57 pm

Since nothing else is giving me a problem right now with Win8RP, and since I can't order Win8 RTM for two more months, I was wondering...

I did a clean install of Win8RP x64 on my new X230T. I wonder if there's a way to attach an action to the rectangular "black button" on an X230T. This button is similar to or the same as the blue ThinkVantage button on earlier laptops.

I'm not sure what I'd want to launch. I'm also looking for clever ideas for that.

I've got the Windows 8 beta "Base Utility Package Hotkey 4.10" running on my system.

I'm sorry if I missed an answer to this. I didn't find it in this forum and I didn't know if searching other sections would be useful.
First Thinkpad 755CX in 1995. First IBM: PC 1982 8088 w 64K RAM, dual floppy. Currently in use:
X230T with Win8Pro x64, i7, 500gb ssd; W700 WUXGA RAID 1 Blu-Ray W7Pro x64, occasionally a T61p with Win7Pro x64

Jason404
Sophomore Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:17 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Can I use the blue or black "ThinkVantage" button in Win8 RP

#2 Post by Jason404 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

I have a fresh installation of Win8 and currently using the Win7 versions of Power Manager, Access Connections, Communications Utility and Hotkey drivers.

Nothing is attached to the ThinkVantage button here either and I cannot think of anything that I would want to attach to it.

Maybe ThinkVantage System Update?
T410, X220, X200s, X200, X40, X31, X30, 755c
STOLEN! sold still used in the family broken for sale!

Check out the ThinkPad subreddit at http://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad

barrywohl
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:01 am
Location: Sheridan, WY
Contact:

Re: Can I use the blue or black "ThinkVantage" button in Win8 RP

#3 Post by barrywohl » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:44 am

I did a clean install of Windows 8 Pro x64 on October 26th, 2012. Everything works fine EXCEPT I can't get the black button to be recognized and I haven't activated my Sierra Wireless MC8355 card. I've got a lead on that but I haven't purchased the AT&T contract for it yet so I haven't tried the work-around for the Sierra Wireless card.

My registry has this entry: "IBM TPHOTKEY 8001 has (value not set)" but I've tried registry hacks with no success.

Maybe a registry expert on this site can help.
First Thinkpad 755CX in 1995. First IBM: PC 1982 8088 w 64K RAM, dual floppy. Currently in use:
X230T with Win8Pro x64, i7, 500gb ssd; W700 WUXGA RAID 1 Blu-Ray W7Pro x64, occasionally a T61p with Win7Pro x64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest