T400 & Windows 8

Windows 8 on ThinkPads
Message
Author
s47896
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:54 am
Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#31 Post by s47896 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:21 am

Just to thank precip9, Speez, emeraldgirl08, et al for resolving this. I was about to give up and go back to Windows 7 for my T400 2767 1RG with switchable graphics when I came across these posts. The only very minor difference from the splendid instructions provided above was I had to install the Catalyst Control Center in Windows 7 mode. For some reason it consistently failed to load in XPSP3 mode. I also went back and loaded a couple of other drivers for unrelated applications that failed to load in XPSP3, as recommended in other forums. They too worked in Windows 7 mode. No idea why that would be but thought I'd pass it on. Thanks again to all.

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#32 Post by precip9 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:04 pm

s47896 wrote:Just to thank precip9, Speez, emeraldgirl08, et al for resolving this. I was about to give up and go back to Windows 7 for my T400 2767 1RG with switchable graphics when I came across these posts. The only very minor difference from the splendid instructions provided above was I had to install the Catalyst Control Center in Windows 7 mode. For some reason it consistently failed to load in XPSP3 mode. I also went back and loaded a couple of other drivers for unrelated applications that failed to load in XPSP3, as recommended in other forums. They too worked in Windows 7 mode. No idea why that would be but thought I'd pass it on. Thanks again to all.
The compatibility settings seem to be the variable and unstable part of the experience. Perhaps you already had DotNet 3.5 installed on your system, which might, illogically, be responsible for the difference. Do what works :)
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

aeschylus
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:00 pm
Location: Parkersburg, WV

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#33 Post by aeschylus » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:55 pm

I'm currently using windows 8 on my t400 and everything is working well for the most part but I'm having two issues.

1) Although switchable graphics is enabled, I'm unable to switch from one video cardto the other because "System cannot enable High-performance graphics." I used to get this issue in Windows 7 if I tried to switch video cards while Internet Explore 9 was open but now it seems that I cannot switch at all no matter what programs are open or closed. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

2) I'm installed the latest thinkpad power management drivers and software but my laptop will not go into sleep mode unless it is forced to enter sleep mode. Anyone experienced a similar issue?

Thanks for any help!

BunkyJunks
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:37 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#34 Post by BunkyJunks » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:50 pm

I was hoping someone here could help me my issue with Windows 8 & my T400 - 6475. Everything seems to be working up until now but i have run into an issue when i tried to install my USB > HDMI adapter (UFX6000), The troubleshooter says:

"The drive for PCI Simple Communications Controller is not installed. Install the latest driver for the device"

Is there a workaround for this?

Thanks for any help you can offer as it is the only problem i have run into!

lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#35 Post by lukee » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:43 am

aeschylus: what version of PM driver you've installed? And can you reach the same battery time as in Win7?
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

Bánh mì
Sophomore Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 2:38 pm
Location: Westminster, California

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#36 Post by Bánh mì » Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:02 pm

Seems like W8 is a complete disaster for non modern era TPs. I'm leery to install it on mine now.
Có một ngày tuyệt vời!

kangaskhan
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:14 am
Location: Fairfax Station, Virginia

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#37 Post by kangaskhan » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:35 am

I have a 6475-MC2 model T400, and my Windows 8 upgrade has been relatively smooth.

Mine only has the integrated GM45 graphics (MHD4500 IIRC, no switchable graphics), and I found patched drivers that work for me.
http://www.eightforums.com/graphic-card ... ation.html

I've lost a bit of battery life (I'm pretty sure I could shoot for nearly 3.5, maybe 4, hours if I really push it, but now, 3 hours is the max.), and Windows tells me Access Connections has problems :( . Those are my only complaints so far. (It was without merit, Access Connections and EasyEject both seem to work fine, despite warning.)

You know what, something happened to my battery and it's gone downhill pretty fast.
Last edited by kangaskhan on Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:29 am, edited 2 times in total.
ThinkPad T400 - Windows 8
Palm Treo Pro
Palm-fan, ironically not a fan of HP.

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#38 Post by precip9 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:21 am

kangaskhan wrote:I have a 6475-MC2 model T400, and my Windows 8 upgrade has been relatively smooth.

Mine only has the integrated GM45 graphics (MHD4500 IIRC, no switchable graphics), and I found patched drivers that work for me.
http://www.eightforums.com/graphic-card ... ation.html

I've lost a bit of battery life (I'm pretty sure I could shoot for nearly 3.5, maybe 4, hours if I really push it, but now, 3 hours is the max.), and Windows tells me Access Connections has problems :( . Those are my only complaints so far. 8)
I have Windows 8 installed on two T400. These have switchable graphics, and I did not have to resort to 3rd party patches. The Lenovo drivers work fine. No reduction in battery life is noted.

These were clean installs.
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

bill bolton
Admin
Admin
Posts: 3848
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#39 Post by bill bolton » Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:25 pm

kangaskhan wrote:Windows tells me Access Connections has problems
Since AC is not supported for Win 8, that's hardly surprising

kangaskhan
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:14 am
Location: Fairfax Station, Virginia

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#40 Post by kangaskhan » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:15 pm

bill bolton wrote: Since AC is not supported for Win 8, that's hardly surprising
Actually, I took a jump with EasyEject and it seems functional, choosing to ignore the warning.

I decided to try Access Connections disregarding the message, (just made a new backup) and it seems to work.
My take is that the software has a flag saying for it to only run on supported OSes, regardless of the actual presence of problems.
I guess that's a nice surprise. I'll keep you guys posted.

On a nice unrelated note, my flexible bay battery arrived today :D
ThinkPad T400 - Windows 8
Palm Treo Pro
Palm-fan, ironically not a fan of HP.

Mighty_Mauz
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 6:01 am

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#41 Post by Mighty_Mauz » Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:44 am

I also have the "System cannot enable power-savings graphics, close down any 3D applications" when I try to switch to the Intel graphics. Even after a fresh boot, with nothing open yet and no external display connected.
R60 9461DXG
T400 2764CTO
X200s 7470-CR9
X220T 4298-R45

Mighty_Mauz
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 6:01 am

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#42 Post by Mighty_Mauz » Wed Mar 06, 2013 1:57 am

Actually, this ^^^ has magically disappeared. So no problem in this area anymore.

But I noticed something else: A horrible power drain when in standby. I am loosing a few percent each hour instead of nothing noticeable before switching to Win8.
R60 9461DXG
T400 2764CTO
X200s 7470-CR9
X220T 4298-R45

northyen.dk
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 11:38 am

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#43 Post by northyen.dk » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:34 am

I really haven't had any issues with Win 8 on my T400, besides one very strange issue, which causes the CPU to get "stuck" in low power mode when on AC. Ie. "out of the blue" the CPU gets stuck at 0,73 GHz (via Task Manager). The only way I've found so far to correct this, is putting the laptop in standby mode, and out again.

I've tried with and without the Lenovo PM driver, doesn't seem to make any difference here.

The powerplan currently used is "balanced", with min CPU state at 5% and max at 100%.

hokr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:36 am
Location: Decin, Czech Republic

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#44 Post by hokr » Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:28 am

Hello,
I recently updated to Win8 on my W500 laptop and tried workflows from this thread. Unfortunately I did not succeed:

I installed Intel Chipset driver for Win 8 - g1ic09ww.exe
I installed power management driver for Win8 - geku18ww.exe
I can NOT instal power manager app - ghu405ww.exe
I have got switchable graphic driver for Win7 - 7vd619ww.exe

I have been able to update ATI driver, so it shows V5700 now, but I can not install ATI controll center and I believe that graphic switching does not work either without the Power Manager app.

Additionally the fingeprint sw stopped working. I can run the app, but I can not login to Widows. The request for swipe is not shown.

Can you please help?

Thanks,
Jan

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#45 Post by precip9 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 7:02 am

How does the power manager app install fail?

OK, here is my advice. You used the Windows 8 drivers. The success reported was with the Windows 7 drivers. Wipe the system, do a clean install, use the Windows 7 drivers.
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

hokr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:36 am
Location: Decin, Czech Republic

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#46 Post by hokr » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:35 am

I formatted the drive and installed a fresh copy of Windows 8 Pro 64-bit Czech. Without installing any other drivers/apps I installed Windows 7 power management driver - 1.65.05.21 and tried to install Windows 7 Power manager app 6.40. Unfortunately I only receive a warning dialog "Cannot run on this system". Could the OS localization be a problem?

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1478
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#47 Post by Cigarguy » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:59 am

Lenovo have not updated power manager for Win 8 yet. You need to install power manager in compatibility mode.

hokr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:36 am
Location: Decin, Czech Republic

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#48 Post by hokr » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:12 am

I also tried to set to XP/SP3 compatibility mode. Still the same.
I will try the English OS.

Edit: OS localization is not a problem. I received the same error even in English Win8 Pro

kitor
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:48 pm
Location: Wieluń, Poland

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#49 Post by kitor » Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:02 pm

At least on T400, PowerManager installed in Win7 Compatibility mode is working without problems.

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#50 Post by precip9 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:45 pm

hokr wrote:I formatted the drive and installed a fresh copy of Windows 8 Pro 64-bit Czech. Without installing any other drivers/apps I installed Windows 7 power management driver - 1.65.05.21 and tried to install Windows 7 Power manager app 6.40. Unfortunately I only receive a warning dialog "Cannot run on this system". Could the OS localization be a problem?
These are the versions I am running:
Power Management driver: g1ku10ww
Power Management app: g6u426ww . The installed app "about" shows version 6.23
Power Management patch: g6u426ww

Unfortunately, these do not appear to be available on the website.
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#51 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:32 pm

Hi hokr. Take a look at a screenshot of my 'Programs and Features' and take note of what versions I have installed.

http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/1692 ... 172013.png

and here are my screenshots of my Power Manager and ATI switchable graphics GUI

http://imageshack.us/a/img528/4964/w8le ... qoiseg.png

http://imageshack.us/a/img16/5136/w8len ... lcente.png

I installed the latest Lenovo Power Power Management Driver last Thurs and so far the Power Manger is still functional. Good luck :)
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#52 Post by precip9 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:41 pm

Good job, emeraldgirl. Another thought occurs: perhaps if hokr installs all the Microsoft updates first, the posted version of Powermanager will be compatible. A lot of compatibility problems were fixed in the updates.
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#53 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:50 pm

Hi precip9 :)

That sounds reasonable as 4 months have gone by since I did the W8 installation. I am curious how things will turn out if hokr does the updates first then does the power management driver.
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

hokr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:36 am
Location: Decin, Czech Republic

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#54 Post by hokr » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:39 am

I've got all the available Windows updates, but still was not able to install Power manager 6.40 - ghu405ww.exe.

BUT. I found 6.32 setup g6u426ww.exe, which SUCCEEDED to install. I can now switch graphic using the Power manager. I can confirm, that switching works, because Intel graphics is used when I choose Energy saving option and ATI graphic is used for High performance.

My final configuration is:

Intel Chipset Driver for Win 8 - g1ic09ww.exe - 9.3.0.1021
Power Man Driver for Win 8 - geku18ww.exe - 1.66.0.22
Power Man App - g6u426ww.exe - 6.32
ThinkPad Switchable Graphics Driver - 7vd619ww.exe - 8.792.5.2-120504a-138564C - installad only the V5700 driver

I am not able to install Catalyst Control Center app, as the ATI installer, still claims, that it cannot find any installed components.
I did not verify automatic switching - don't know how.

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#55 Post by precip9 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:20 am

hokr wrote:I've got all the available Windows updates, but still was not able to install Power manager 6.40 - ghu405ww.exe.
I am not able to install Catalyst Control Center app, as the ATI installer, still claims, that it cannot find any installed components.
I did not verify automatic switching - don't know how.
This would happen if you do not have DotNet 3.5 installed on your system. When I genned three W8 Thinkpads, the system identified DotNet 3.5 as required by a package, and downloaded it. It could be a new bug in either the Lenovo package or Windows that this does not happen.

This page, http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh506443.aspx, gives a manual procedure for "enabling" DotNet 3.5." In previous versions of Windows, you would download a DotNet 3.5 package. This is no longer the case. You will enable it in the Control Panel, and it will then download.
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

hokr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:36 am
Location: Decin, Czech Republic

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#56 Post by hokr » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:07 am

.NET 3.5 has been installed when I did install Intel AMT Management drivers.
I can install CCC by browsing the unpacked video driver folders and clicking on CCC install package, however this procedure makes about 5 various installations - CCC, CCC Help, CCC Localization etc.
Would be great to have only one installation, on the other hand CCC is running and is not crashing.

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#57 Post by precip9 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:34 am

It was noted that, from release candidate to release, and perhaps after that, the required compatibility setting changed. Have you tried them all?

You are using the "custom" option?

Just thought of something: Make sure that, in the ATI install, "Aero" is unchecked.
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

hokr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:36 am
Location: Decin, Czech Republic

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#58 Post by hokr » Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:54 pm

OK, switching to "Windows 7" compatibility did the trick and I was able to install CCC.

I have fully working Windows 8 Pro at W500 with all components and drivers working now. Thank you guys for all your help. I appreciate it a lot.

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#59 Post by precip9 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:03 pm

Excellent!
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: T400 & Windows 8

#60 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:14 pm

Yay @ hokr :thumbs-UP:
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest