Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T430 second RAM slot not working

T430-T490, T530-T590 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
T430_1tera
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Milan, Italy

T430 second RAM slot not working

#1 Post by T430_1tera » Sat Aug 14, 2021 12:44 pm

Hello everyone,
first of all thanks in advance for your patience and sorry for my english.

I have my T430 with the following problem:

Yesterday evening i shut down the PC, and leave it on the table, power supply disconnected.
This morning switched it on but no boot, black screen.
Replaced battery and power supply with a second T430 that i have: nothing, black screen - no boot.
Open the second memory slot (bottom one) and removed the RAM : BOOT OK ! All is working !
Check the removed RAM stick into the second T430: WORKS like a charme ! (seems it's OK)
Insert a working RAM stick i take out from the second T430 and inserted in the second RAM slot : black screen - no boot.
Seems that (during the night) the RAM controller fails or the RAM slot (the ram connector) is not working.

Anyone with an obscure problem like this ?
Is there something I should check/try?

Thanks in advance
Last edited by T430_1tera on Fri Aug 20, 2021 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
a) T430: i7-3610QM, 1600x900, 12GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 500GB mSATA SSD, 1TB HDU
b) T430: i5-3320M, 1600x900, 8GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 240GB SATA SSD

sktn77a
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2037
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:44 am
Location: Chapel Hill, NC

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#2 Post by sktn77a » Sun Aug 15, 2021 12:46 pm

Never seen this although your troubleshooting suggests your conclusion is correct.
Keith
(Formerly 600E, T40, T41, 2xT42, 2xT61p, T420
Currently 4xT430, 2xT460, H520S, Ideapad K1)

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2155
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#3 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:10 pm

First try spraying the RAM slot with electrical contact cleaner and try again.
Then try pushing on the 2nd RAM slot and then turn the laptop on, if it works then then your second RAM slot has failed solder joints.
In which case, buy a fine tip soldering iron and flux and just go over the solder contacts one by one
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

T430_1tera
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#4 Post by T430_1tera » Mon Aug 16, 2021 9:39 am

@sktn77a : thanks for the reply

@kfzhu1229 : thanks, used "WD-40 Specialist Electrical Contact Cleaner Spray" then check with two different 4GB RAM stick (they work in the second T430) : nothing, black screen - no boot.
Then try to push the RAM connector, with the RAM installed, in every direction and in the meantime switch on the PC : nothing, black screen - no boot.

Don't know what to do now ....
a) T430: i7-3610QM, 1600x900, 12GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 500GB mSATA SSD, 1TB HDU
b) T430: i5-3320M, 1600x900, 8GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 240GB SATA SSD

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2155
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#5 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Aug 16, 2021 11:59 am

T430_1tera wrote:
Mon Aug 16, 2021 9:39 am
@sktn77a : thanks for the reply

@kfzhu1229 : thanks, used "WD-40 Specialist Electrical Contact Cleaner Spray" then check with two different 4GB RAM stick (they work in the second T430) : nothing, black screen - no boot.
Then try to push the RAM connector, with the RAM installed, in every direction and in the meantime switch on the PC : nothing, black screen - no boot.

Don't know what to do now ....
Reseat the processor and also check with another processor, as the RAM controller on these things are built into the processor and not the motherboard, thankfully.
The only cases that I saw faulty RAM controllers are on 1st gen Ryzen, but that's not to say it's impossible on one of these things. It can also be caused by a faulty or broken pin contact on the processor
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

T430_1tera
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#6 Post by T430_1tera » Thu Aug 19, 2021 9:58 am

Hi kfzhu1229,
yes, you'r right, i5-3320M (Ivy Bridge Processor) has a built-in memory controller (2 channels).
Now I need a calm day to disassemble the T430 and, as first action, reseat the processor.
In this moment I have not a new processor nor want to swap the processors in the two PC.
I'll be back here to update the post.
Thanks in the meantime !
a) T430: i7-3610QM, 1600x900, 12GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 500GB mSATA SSD, 1TB HDU
b) T430: i5-3320M, 1600x900, 8GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 240GB SATA SSD

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2155
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#7 Post by kfzhu1229 » Thu Aug 19, 2021 9:58 pm

T430_1tera wrote:
Thu Aug 19, 2021 9:58 am
Hi kfzhu1229,
yes, you'r right, i5-3320M (Ivy Bridge Processor) has a built-in memory controller (2 channels).
Now I need a calm day to disassemble the T430 and, as first action, reseat the processor.
In this moment I have not a new processor nor want to swap the processors in the two PC.
I'll be back here to update the post.
Thanks in the meantime !
When you reseat the processor, check the pins just in case one of them is actually bent or something
Well if you happen to have an Elitebook or Latitude from this era instead of the 2nd T430, try that instead and swapping the processors would be much easier because they all just require taking the bottom panel off with just a few screws to get to the heatsink.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

T430_1tera
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#8 Post by T430_1tera » Fri Aug 20, 2021 12:05 pm

Hi kfzhu1229,
When you reseat the processor, check the pins just in case one of them is actually bent or something
yes, but how could this have happened if i don't touch/open/disassemble the PC ?
we have been using it for six years (bought 2nd hand in 2015) ... and no one problem ...
bought a new battery last April, but changing a battery has nothing connected with the RAM or RAM-slot, and four months passed ...

all obscure in my opinion
a) T430: i7-3610QM, 1600x900, 12GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 500GB mSATA SSD, 1TB HDU
b) T430: i5-3320M, 1600x900, 8GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 240GB SATA SSD

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2155
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#9 Post by kfzhu1229 » Fri Aug 20, 2021 12:40 pm

T430_1tera wrote:
Fri Aug 20, 2021 12:05 pm
yes, but how could this have happened if i don't touch/open/disassemble the PC ?
we have been using it for six years (bought 2nd hand in 2015) ... and no one problem ...
bought a new battery last April, but changing a battery has nothing connected with the RAM or RAM-slot, and four months passed ...

all obscure in my opinion
Totally fair, but a RAM slot not working can many times be a bent pin which is common on Ryzen processors.
I guess that is not very likely in your situation, but a faulty memory controller can be a probability, which is something that plagues the 1st gen Ryzen processors.
You are lucky though that you are working with a middle of the line i5 processor and not a quad core i7, which would be absolutely heartbreaking if one of those get plagued with a faulty RAM controller
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

T430_1tera
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#10 Post by T430_1tera » Sat Aug 21, 2021 4:04 am

a RAM slot not working can many times be a bent pin
Hi kfzhu1229,
PC disassembled, CPU removed, CPU checked, no bent pin(s), new thermal paste, reassembled,
RAM in second slot locks completely the power on self test, black screen, no leds on, press keys on keybord do nothing.
Removing RAM from second slot all become working !
The RAM (two 4GB stick) works in another T430 (second slot).
Seems I need to try a new CPU.
May be in September ... I'll update this thread as soon as I have news !
Thanks in the meantime ...
a) T430: i7-3610QM, 1600x900, 12GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 500GB mSATA SSD, 1TB HDU
b) T430: i5-3320M, 1600x900, 8GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 240GB SATA SSD

T430_1tera
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#11 Post by T430_1tera » Thu Sep 23, 2021 5:44 am

Hi,
removed a perfect working processor from another thinkpad with two ram installed,
replaced the processor in the T430 with RAM slot not working,
nothing changed, with the second ram installed i have black screen + no boot.
Check a second time, with a 5x lens, all the ram connections of the second ram slot, all looks ok,
check with a 5x lens all the soldered pins of the ram connector, all seems ok.
I do not know what to do now !
I ran out of ideas ...
a) T430: i7-3610QM, 1600x900, 12GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 500GB mSATA SSD, 1TB HDU
b) T430: i5-3320M, 1600x900, 8GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 240GB SATA SSD

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22413
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#12 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Sep 23, 2021 5:55 am

Tried the RAM from the other laptop?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Covid-19: Stay safe, so still Mask it or Casket!

T430_1tera
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#13 Post by T430_1tera » Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:04 am

Yes !
you can find it in my first post,
thanks anyway
a) T430: i7-3610QM, 1600x900, 12GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 500GB mSATA SSD, 1TB HDU
b) T430: i5-3320M, 1600x900, 8GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 240GB SATA SSD

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3049
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#14 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:37 pm

This issue reminds me of an old Socket A motherboard that would always boot with a bad RAM error beep code. Upon closer inspection, a bloated electrolytic capacitor near the RAM slot was found. Upon replacing it, the motherboard worked again. Unfortunately, non-electrolytic capacitors I commonly see in laptops don't bloat, or have any visual indicator of failure. That makes troubleshooting difficult without training and experience with electronics.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

T430_1tera
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#15 Post by T430_1tera » Thu Sep 30, 2021 12:46 pm

Thanks for the tip axur-delmeria !
a) T430: i7-3610QM, 1600x900, 12GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 500GB mSATA SSD, 1TB HDU
b) T430: i5-3320M, 1600x900, 8GB RAM DDR3L 1600MHz, 240GB SATA SSD

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2155
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T430 second RAM slot not working

#16 Post by kfzhu1229 » Thu Sep 30, 2021 3:28 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:37 pm
Unfortunately, non-electrolytic capacitors I commonly see in laptops don't bloat, or have any visual indicator of failure. That makes troubleshooting difficult without training and experience with electronics.
Well in this case, you have to resort to using a multimeter to see whether the capacitor has full continuity, and also power the laptop on and see if there are voltages fed through the second RAM slot of the laptop. (For this you can just measure the voltage of any capacitors on the RAM stick itself when it's inserted into the problematic slot.
It's unlikely to have any fuse problems for DIMM slots (it would be dumb to implement those), but a short on the 2nd slot power rail might be an issue.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430-T490 / T530-T590 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests