Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
derick
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
Contact:

Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#1 Post by derick » Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:22 am

My T520 keyboard was water damaged. I have one good chiclet keyboard from my old x230 (swapped for back light one).
There is many tips, for using 7 row classic keyboards in x30 models, but no for new chiclets, in oldest x20 models.
It will be possible swap it after controller mods?
in use: T520, T431s, X230T, x61s (pinmod), x200s, x300 (pinmod), X220T
Past: 380x 600e, 240x, A22m, T20, x30, T30, T40, x41, x41T, T60, T61, T400, T500, R500, x60s, x61, x200T, x201T, T420, T430, X230i, X220i

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8798
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#2 Post by dr_st » Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:31 am

I don't think an EC mod to use a 6-row keyboard on a 7-row model exists. Someone with the right skills could probably easily make one, but so far there hasn't been enough interest to make it happen.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

derick
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#3 Post by derick » Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:03 am

Original T530 EC (with battery hack) will not work?
in use: T520, T431s, X230T, x61s (pinmod), x200s, x300 (pinmod), X220T
Past: 380x 600e, 240x, A22m, T20, x30, T30, T40, x41, x41T, T60, T61, T400, T500, R500, x60s, x61, x200T, x201T, T420, T430, X230i, X220i

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8798
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#4 Post by dr_st » Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:43 am

I would think not, for the same reason that an original T520 EC would not work in a T530, and required someone to make a mod. More than just the keyboard table was changed between the two.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

derick
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#5 Post by derick » Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:14 am

Yes, it is true. I need hack for T520 EC. Somebody tried it?
in use: T520, T431s, X230T, x61s (pinmod), x200s, x300 (pinmod), X220T
Past: 380x 600e, 240x, A22m, T20, x30, T30, T40, x41, x41T, T60, T61, T400, T500, R500, x60s, x61, x200T, x201T, T420, T430, X230i, X220i

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2800
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#6 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:49 pm

I don't know if the necessary groundwork has been done on the T420/520 for such a mod to be possible.

There was a lot of work involved in developing the original mod, and IIRC was built on earlier EC work by Matt.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

hhhd1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 500
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:23 pm
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#7 Post by hhhd1 » Tue Apr 04, 2017 7:53 am

will it work electricly if you can ignore the function keys mixup ?

the classic keyboard from t520 transplanted in t530 needs to isolate a pin or something .. anything similar when going the other way ?
===

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8798
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#8 Post by dr_st » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:14 am

Yes, it will work minus the keys that moved.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

derick
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#9 Post by derick » Wed Apr 05, 2017 5:41 am

There is a big problems, with chiclet keyboard, so I bought 7 row one, an leave this idea...
in use: T520, T431s, X230T, x61s (pinmod), x200s, x300 (pinmod), X220T
Past: 380x 600e, 240x, A22m, T20, x30, T30, T40, x41, x41T, T60, T61, T400, T500, R500, x60s, x61, x200T, x201T, T420, T430, X230i, X220i

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2670
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Can I use chiclet keyboard in T520?

#10 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:02 am

You can just "get by" using it. If you absolutely need to get something done then it can be done. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommended unless you want it for good and will be OK with fiddling with the settings.

Sent from my E6553 using Tapatalk
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430-T490 / T530-T590 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests