T470 and installing a bigger SSD

T430 - T470 and T530 - T570 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
oliversl
Freshman Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: San Jose, Costa Rica

T470 and installing a bigger SSD

#1 Post by oliversl » Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:05 pm

Hi,
I wonder how can I install Windows 10 on a new SSD on a T470?

A new T470 came with a 180GB SSD, just bought a new 512GB SSD. Then created a recovery drive, since there is no longer recovery media creation from Lenovo.

Now, after booting form the recovery drive I'm stuck at this message:
Recovering this PC %1

How is the procedure to factory reset a Thinkpad with Windows 10 now? Thanks!
http://tinymailto.com/oliversl <-- my email after a captcha

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: T470 and installing a bigger SSD

#2 Post by TankPad » Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:17 pm

Did you try just cloning the drive to the new SSD?
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

oliversl
Freshman Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: San Jose, Costa Rica

Re: T470 and installing a bigger SSD

#3 Post by oliversl » Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:42 pm

Cloning worked, but I'm afraid of not be able to factory reset the ThinkPad like before.
http://tinymailto.com/oliversl <-- my email after a captcha

w0qj
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:53 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: T470 and installing a bigger SSD

#4 Post by w0qj » Wed Aug 23, 2017 1:34 pm

1. Did you first "initialize" your new 512GB SSD to prepare for Win10 installation?
http://forum.thinkpads.com//viewtopic.p ... 2de7835b91

2. Also, did you try to do a Product Recovery on your 180 GB SSD?
(AFTER you back up your data first to yet another external hard drive).

If you cannot do a Product Recovery on your 180 GB SSD that came with your T470,
then there may be something with your T470, to be repaired by Lenovo (under Warranty hopefully).

Good luck!
Daily Driver: X1 Carbon 4th Gen (X1C4): i7-6600U 2.6GHz; 16GB DDR3 1866 MHz; 1TB PCIe-NVMe SSD; 14" WQHD 2560x1440; LTE EM7455 Mobile Broadband; Win7 Pro 64bit
Current Thinkpads: X1C4 | X1C3 | X250 | X230 | T410
Retired Thinkpads: T42 | 560 (circa 1996)
~~IBM Thinkpad era computer bag !

oliversl
Freshman Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: San Jose, Costa Rica

Re: T470 and installing a bigger SSD

#5 Post by oliversl » Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:17 pm

Thanks for your reply:
1. yes, I tested the drive with a partition and without any (doing clean on diskpart)
2. yes, I try starting the recovery on the original T470 and didn't work

I was using an external USB enclosure with a SSD attached as the destination for the Recovery Drive. Windows 10 created
a 32GB on the 180GB external SSD. One idea I was thinking is that W10 ask for a flash drive, not external SSD. But didn't have
the patience to wait for the creation of Recovery Drive on a flash drive at 4MByte/s transfer rate.
http://tinymailto.com/oliversl <-- my email after a captcha

pjc123
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:53 pm
Location: Sparta, NJ USA

Re: T470 and installing a bigger SSD

#6 Post by pjc123 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:07 pm

Weird, I followed Lenovo's instructions for creating a recovery drive a couple months ago on my T470 (Basically just type recovery in the taskbar search box, select Create a Recovery Drive and follow the prompts) and my T470 Recovery Drive on a USB stick takes up only 6.6 GB. How yours is taking up 32 GB is beyond me, unless because I did mine as soon as I got my laptop and didn't add anything...beats me? Maybe you made a Image Backup of your drive instead? If that's the case I have had mixed luck with Windows Image Backups and use Clonezilla instead. In fact I have a Samsung 960 NVME drive on order for my T470 and will be using Clonezilla to copy the HDD over to it.

cyclops13
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:48 am
Location: Jupiter, FL

Re: T470 and installing a bigger SSD

#7 Post by cyclops13 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:23 am

As far as I know, T470 comes with the signature version of win10. A clean install is better and you are not really loosing anything worthy.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430/T530 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: WVZR1 and 3 guests