Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Touchpad active zone?

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
nads1978
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:18 am
Location: UK

Touchpad active zone?

#1 Post by nads1978 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:08 am

Hi, I have a T460s.

It has the touch pad with 3 buttons on the top for the red nipple thing (I don’t use it/them), and 2 buttons which are built-in to the pad at the bottom.

I find it annoying when I'm using the lower button to click on the page/window scroller, if my finger moves slightly, it moves the curser from the position I'm clicking.

Within the Synaptics control panel there is "Edge tap" zone, "Gesture filtering" zone, is there a way to have "touchpad" zone?
What I'd like to achieve is omitting the bottom 1/4 of the touch pad for mouse function, and have it for clicking only. Much like my old T420 which had separate buttons.

Touchpad like mine:
https://www.camerongray.me/wp-content/u ... CotlGg.jpg

Zones available in Synaptics:
http://users.wfu.edu/yipcw/lenovo/2016/ ... tics-5.png
Error 404

nads1978
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:18 am
Location: UK

Re: Touchpad active zone?

#2 Post by nads1978 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:48 am

I guess thats a no then!
Error 404

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19001
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Touchpad active zone?

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:56 am

Correct, but you CAN switch off the whole touchpad and keep just the buttons.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1790
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Touchpad active zone?

#4 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:58 am

More than a few people here just turn off the touchpad, including myself, so forgive us if we're not that familiar with its features. :oops:
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60/s Frankenpad Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E, X61 T7500
:cry:

nads1978
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:18 am
Location: UK

Re: Touchpad active zone?

#5 Post by nads1978 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:59 am

Okay, thanks. I prefer to use the pad. Just have to live with it :lol:
Error 404

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1120
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Touchpad active zone?

#6 Post by kfzhu1229 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:53 am

if you really wanna use the touchpad, you can also instead use the TrackPoint left and right buttons instead of the buttons embedded into the touchpad. I am never a fan of that design, even the Apple ones.
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430/T530 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests