Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
negreter19
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

#1 Post by negreter19 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:26 am

Hello, I'm thinking of updating my laptop t520, because I want to work with the Lightroom and some emulator that leaves me the t520 a bit slow.
My computer is a i5, 1600x900 screen, with 128SSD and 8GB of RAM and Windows graphics.

The t550 is a i5 with Windows graphics, FullHD screen and 256GB SSd and 16GB of Ram. Price 500 dollars.

The t560 is i7, graphics GTX 940mm, 8GB RAM, 3k display, and 128GB SSD. Price 550 dollars.

I am little entendico in these aspects so I would appreciate vustra opinion.

The one I think will be the ideal team is the t550 with a dedicated graphics, but I have now available in the market.
The inconvenience of the t560 is that I can not put a second solid disk SSD. But it has the graphics card and a newer screen with more resolution.

What do you think?

With the T520 I have been very happy, is my fourth ThinkPad, T42, T60, T500, and this last T520...

Best regards!!

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19158
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:45 am

Welcome to the Forum.

In all those laptops you can add a second SSD in the WWAN-slot, either mSATA or M.2 or NVMe, depending on slot-version.

If you mostly need graphics, have you considered an eGPU for your T520 instead?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

negreter19
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

#3 Post by negreter19 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:06 am

thanks for the answer, but I did not know that is posible to add a graphic card to my T520! how it is possible? which one?
Regards
Jorge

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

#4 Post by MikalE » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:07 am

I would upgrade the RAM to 16GB and install a quad-core processor.
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win7 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

negreter19
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

#5 Post by negreter19 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:04 pm

I am cheching but i can not find that the t560 can host 2 SSD inside, apparently there is no port inside.
To upgrade the ram that i have now , 2x4gb to 16gb it cost around 150 dollars, plus the new CPU that it cost at least 80-100 dollars...it is a good investemt considering that I can sell this t520 for 200 dollars and get the t550 or the t560 for the money of those parts??

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19158
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:33 pm

That 2nd SSD goes in the same slot on the motherboard where you can put in a WWAN-card, next to the wifi-card.

negreter19
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

#7 Post by negreter19 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:06 pm

hi, what about a w530 instead?? 16g, i7 , 256ssdand fullHD for the same Price?
i7-3720QM(3.6GHz) 16GB RAM 256GB Solid State Drive 15.6in 1900x1080 LCD 2GB Nvidia Quadro K2000M

tst550
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Delhi, New Delhi, India

Re: Upgrade T520 to T550 or T560??

#8 Post by tst550 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:26 pm

My T550 machine is running short of space and as per my requirement, planning to upgrade storage. Please could you help me decide a few things below-

Thinkpad T550
Questions:
Can I replace my existing 16 GB M.2 SSD(cache drive) with 128GB M.2 SSD and boot windows from this drive?
I want to use my existing HDD alongside 128 GB M.2 SSD and do not want to compromise on Wifi connectivity
Your guidance will help me decide if i should purchase a M.2 SSD or SSD replacement against HDD
Below is my machine's config

•Intel Core i5-5200U Processor (3MB Cache, up to 2.70GHz),
• 500GB Hard Disk Drive, 7200rpm, 2.5"
•16 GB Solid State Drive, Serial ATA3 ,Single
• Intel 7265 AC/B/G/N Dual Band Wireless + Bluetooth Version 4.0
• 15.6" HD (1366x768), With WWAN
• 4GB PC3-12800 DDR3L SDRAM 1600MHz SODIMM

Thanks
Tarun S

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430/T530 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests