Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T530 to W530 motherboard swap

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
thinktwan
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:04 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#1 Post by thinktwan » Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:11 am

I have a T530 with i7-3720QM / Nvidia 5400 and need to get more ram capacity. I've upgraded screen / battery etc and am pretty happy with it (bar the weight :))

I use it as a music DAW and am running some heavy sample libraries so having 32gb ram would be a real advantage.

I'm wondering - is it just a matter of swapping the mobo with the W530 board?

Can I keep the same CPU / heatsink combo? And is there anything else I would need to swap?

Thanks in advance :)

Screamer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#2 Post by Screamer » Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:56 am

I don't think you can use the T530's heatsink on the W530's motherboard, since the W530's heatsink has quite a difference in terms of the screws' positions. Have a look at the W530's heatsink and the T530's heatsink for a comparison.

I believe that you would need the W530's heatsink, and the W530's heatsink mounting bracket (this is already provided with the motherboard, I believe). You can keep the processor, and install it as it is. There isn't such a difference that would prevent you from using your current processor in the W530's motherboard.

I can't be sure if this is the only difference that separates the W530 and the T530 apart, though.

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2122
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#3 Post by Tasurinchi » Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:07 am

Welcome to the forum!

As far as I remember the heatsink for the W530 is different and the screw holes are in different places. So your current nVidia heatsink will not fit.

The CPU will fit in the slot. However, you can only fully use the 4 slots of RAM of the mobo if you have a quad-CPU, if your current T530 has a dual-core one you're stuck to max 2x 8GB RAM.
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20277
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:19 am

You'll also need a bigger 135W (or better: 170W) charger!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Screamer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#5 Post by Screamer » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:53 am

Tasurinchi wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:07 am
However, you can only fully use the 4 slots of RAM of the mobo if you have a quad-CPU, if your current T530 has a dual-core one you're stuck to max 2x 8GB RAM.
That is strange; wasn't the 4-slot W510 the only machine that suffered from this particular problem (2x4GB max)?

I recall that any consumer single/dual/quad-core Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge could address up to 32GB of RAM, unlike Arrandale. There should not be a strange limitation that would artificially limit the W530 to use only 16GB, instead of the full 32GB that it can address with a dual-core Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge processor.

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2122
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#6 Post by Tasurinchi » Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:51 am

Screamer wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:53 am
single/dual/quad-core Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge could address up to 32GB of RAM
Nope, 16GB RAM modules are only supported from the 5th generation Intel CPUs onward. So although there are 16GB DDR3 RAM modules available, they will not work with the Ivy Bridge CPU's.

Summarizing:

Dual-core: Max 2x 8GB
Quad-core: Max 4x 8GB
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

thinktwan
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:04 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#7 Post by thinktwan » Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:05 pm

Thanks all! Sounds like best option is to grab a motherboard with the heatsink.

This is a great forum :D

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2122
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#8 Post by Tasurinchi » Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:08 pm

thinktwan wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:05 pm
Thanks all! Sounds like best option is to grab a motherboard with the heatsink.
And a quad! :mrgreen:

Otherwise, you will gain "only" more graphic power, but no more RAM...

Edit: Ignore my dumb comment about the quad! :oops:
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20277
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#9 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:20 pm

OP already has a quad i7-3720QM.
He just needs to make sure he gets a W530 mobo with 4 RAM slots, and not with only 2 slots!

Screamer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#10 Post by Screamer » Sat Feb 02, 2019 5:00 am

I think that I may have poorly phrased my question, but that is good to know.

What I was trying to say is, could a 4-slot W520/W530 address up to 32GB of RAM with a single or a dual-core variant of Sandy/Ivy Bridge? I was wondering if that setup could use 4 sticks of 8GB RAM modules in a 4-slot W520/W530.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20277
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T530 to W530 motherboard swap

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:35 am

The (W520) dual-core Sandy CPU (like i7-2620M) can only support 16GB RAM.
The Sandy Quad can support 32 GB.

The (W530) dual-core Ivy CPU (like i7-3520M) supports 32GB RAM, as does the Ivy Quad.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430/T530 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests