Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
lenovot530
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:56 am
Location: toronto, on, canada

Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#1 Post by lenovot530 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:04 am

I have T530 (i7 with nVidia 5400M) with FHD screen. The mother board dead... friend has a T530 (also i7, CPU is slightly faster then mine, also has nVidia 5400m), but his screen is 1366x768. He is willing to sell to me for a dirty cheap price.
I am wondering if i can just swap the lcd lid assembly so that my FHD screen works on his T530, and his 1366x768 panel works on my T530?
If it works, I plan to replace the motherboard of my T530 so I can use it for some automated testing.

Thanks

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20182
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:32 am

Straight swap of the complete lids will work.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

lenovot530
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:56 am
Location: toronto, on, canada

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#3 Post by lenovot530 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:49 pm

Thanks! Sorry one more question, do they use the same LCD cable? I am thinking to swap the panel probably is easier then the complete lcd asemmbly. If they use the same 40 pin cables, then I probably will just swap the panel. So would that work?

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2584
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#4 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:59 pm

lenovot530 wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:49 pm
Thanks! Sorry one more question, do they use the same LCD cable? I am thinking to swap the panel probably is easier then the complete lcd asemmbly. If they use the same 40 pin cables, then I probably will just swap the panel. So would that work?
I know at least with the T420/30 that they use different cables for the HD+ and HD screens so your best bet is just to do a lid swap.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

lenovot530
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:56 am
Location: toronto, on, canada

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#5 Post by lenovot530 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:02 am

Thanks! Asked the same question on lenovo forum, I was told by admin they use the same cable, I will give it a try!

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-T ... se#M133475

Thanks!

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1252
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#6 Post by TPFanatic » Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:22 pm

When I upgraded my T520 from its original HD to FHD the original cable was used and worked.
lenovo X200s L9300 WXGA+ 4GB
lenovo T430s i5 3230m NVS 5200m WQHD 16GB "Super T430s"
lenovo
T500 P9700 Radeon 3650 WUXGA 8GB

Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430/T530 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests