Page 1 of 1

Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:04 am
by lenovot530
I have T530 (i7 with nVidia 5400M) with FHD screen. The mother board dead... friend has a T530 (also i7, CPU is slightly faster then mine, also has nVidia 5400m), but his screen is 1366x768. He is willing to sell to me for a dirty cheap price.
I am wondering if i can just swap the lcd lid assembly so that my FHD screen works on his T530, and his 1366x768 panel works on my T530?
If it works, I plan to replace the motherboard of my T530 so I can use it for some automated testing.

Thanks

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:32 am
by RealBlackStuff
Straight swap of the complete lids will work.

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:49 pm
by lenovot530
Thanks! Sorry one more question, do they use the same LCD cable? I am thinking to swap the panel probably is easier then the complete lcd asemmbly. If they use the same 40 pin cables, then I probably will just swap the panel. So would that work?

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:59 pm
by Thinkpad4by3
lenovot530 wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:49 pm
Thanks! Sorry one more question, do they use the same LCD cable? I am thinking to swap the panel probably is easier then the complete lcd asemmbly. If they use the same 40 pin cables, then I probably will just swap the panel. So would that work?
I know at least with the T420/30 that they use different cables for the HD+ and HD screens so your best bet is just to do a lid swap.

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:02 am
by lenovot530
Thanks! Asked the same question on lenovo forum, I was told by admin they use the same cable, I will give it a try!

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-T ... se#M133475

Thanks!

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:22 pm
by TPFanatic
When I upgraded my T520 from its original HD to FHD the original cable was used and worked.