Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T470S FHD to WQHD Panel Upgrade - Troubleshooting Question

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
htc4668
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 2:23 am
Location: San Jose, CA

T470S FHD to WQHD Panel Upgrade - Troubleshooting Question

#1 Post by htc4668 » Sat May 02, 2020 11:27 am

Per the following post from markgm: viewtopic.php?t=123783 it is possible to swap out the T470S panel from FHD to WQHD so long as you swap out the video cable with an eDP cable.

I was able to successfully swap out the panel + cable using the hardware maintenance manual as a guide. However, I noticed some funky behavior and am unsure if this is due to a bad battery set and was hoping for some input:

1. The brightness function key no longer works
2. When external power is off, the screen flickers with use - most noticeable on white backgrounds

So two questions:

1. Did the 470S previously even support a WQHD screen from factory?
2. Could bad batteries (inconsistent voltage) be the source of the panel's flickering when running off battery

Bonus Question: This screen is REALLY bright. It's really pleasant to use. But has anyone had issues with heat when the brightness is at this level?

gianry
Freshman Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:34 pm
Location: Ercolano, Italy

Re: T470S FHD to WQHD Panel Upgrade - Troubleshooting Question

#2 Post by gianry » Thu May 07, 2020 1:50 pm

htc4668 wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 11:27 am
1. Did the 470S previously even support a WQHD screen from factory?
2. Could bad batteries (inconsistent voltage) be the source of the panel's flickering when running off battery
1) I dont think there is a different graphic card or mainbord
2)No

Is the WQHD panel a new product or refurbished / used one ?

htc4668
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 2:23 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: T470S FHD to WQHD Panel Upgrade - Troubleshooting Question

#3 Post by htc4668 » Thu May 07, 2020 8:37 pm

The cable + panel replacement were OEM, new. They worked perfectly - just only if I have external power plugged in.

gianry
Freshman Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:34 pm
Location: Ercolano, Italy

Re: T470S FHD to WQHD Panel Upgrade - Troubleshooting Question

#4 Post by gianry » Fri May 08, 2020 11:02 am

it is a strange issue. it is diffucult to understand the way to fix .it is necessary an electric scheme

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430-T490 / T530-T590 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests