Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T460p and T61 in Docking Stations at 1600x1200 Resolution Setting

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
dances_with_woof
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 6:45 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA

T460p and T61 in Docking Stations at 1600x1200 Resolution Setting

#1 Post by dances_with_woof » Wed May 06, 2020 7:47 pm

Does anyone have experience using the ultra-docking station with the T460p, but with the display input into an alternative format standard? (Specifically, 4:3 at 1600x1200, but I am also curious about the 5k2k 21:9 standard LG has been bringing to the market). Lenovo's literature on the Ultra-Dock lists 1600x1200 as an available output resolution, but also says that the input-device must stream it in.

Some background:

I am currently switching from a Mac setup to a Lenovo-based system, to better integrate my photographic technology. A T460p is in the mail, but I am unsure if I will be able to use the Ultra-Docking Station to output into 1600x1200 pixels on a EDL 23" display. This is an industrial grade LCD monitor with a DVI-I input that can be run for 7 years continously "on"; I just purchased it as New-Old-Stock. It came in the mail today, and is completely unused and beautiful. I prefer the older 4:3 setting when at a work-station, but 16:9 is fine for laptop use.

My question also extends to the older T61. Can a 16:9 T61 be set to 1600x1200 while in the docking station? I would prefer not to have to hunt down a 4:3 T61 Penryn at considerable cost when comparable 16:9 machines can be had at a pittance, and just as easily modded to run the Middleton BIOS.

The T61 Memron-meltdown problems are something that I want to avoid at all costs, since pairing it with my Imacon Flextight II scanner on a PCMCIA SCSI adapter will require multiple Windows OS-installs and potential driver-troubleshooting. The payout will be having the Imacon connected to a modern, 64 bit platform instead of the awful 667MHZ G4 Macbook it is currently plugged into.

I'd like to use a simple 1600x1200 DVI-switch box to go between the T460p and T61 in their respective docks. The Imacon takes an enormous amount of time to do its work, so switching is essential.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8613
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: T460p and T61 in Docking Stations at 1600x1200 Resolution Setting

#2 Post by dr_st » Thu May 07, 2020 12:38 am

Welcome to the forum. :)

There should be no problem. The laptop will recognize the resolution of the attached display and output accordingly. There is no connection between the resolution of the built-in display and any of the attached monitors.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21544
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T460p and T61 in Docking Stations at 1600x1200 Resolution Setting

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu May 07, 2020 1:20 am

For fancy machinery like that, I would recommend a desktop/(mini)tower PC instead.
I have a T440p (with W7) and a 40A2 Ultra-dock, but have not yet tried them out together.
It probably depends on your OS if you can get the desired resolution.
My T440p does not offer 1600x1200 (running with standard W7 drivers).
It goes from 1440x900 to 1600x900 to 1680x1050 to 1920x1080.
However, when I hook it up to my external 19" 1280x1024 monitor, it works perfectly.

Off topic:
Due to moving overseas, only last year did I sell my Agfa 1236s SnapScan scanner, which I bought back in 2000.
That scanner had an unusually high 36-bit sensitivity, which could register more than 60 billion colours.
It was hooked up to my desktop with an Adaptec PCIe SCSI card.
It needed only one program (ScanWise) to run on anything between W95 and W7.
When using Vuescan, it apparently could also run on W10 (but I have never tried that).
I replaced that Agfa monster with a tiny portable USB Canon LiDE-120 scanner.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8613
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: T460p and T61 in Docking Stations at 1600x1200 Resolution Setting

#4 Post by dr_st » Thu May 07, 2020 5:41 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 1:20 am
My T440p does not offer 1600x1200 (running with standard W7 drivers).
Connect it to a monitor where 1600x1200 is the native resolution, and it will.
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 1:20 am
However, when I hook it up to my external 19" 1280x1024 monitor, it works perfectly.
Exactly.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

atagunov
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:11 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: T460p and T61 in Docking Stations at 1600x1200 Resolution Setting

#5 Post by atagunov » Thu May 07, 2020 11:31 am

For what it's worth I have a T520 and an X220 in 4337 docs here + a PC all plugged in via DVI into CS1784A ATEN KVM snatched at around £70-80 on ebay. All that is plugged via DVI into a 27" 1920x1080 Nec monitor and works like a charm. The keyboards and mice are plugged into a powered USB hub which is also flipped between machines by the said KVM. Thinkpads recognized the resolution without any issue whatsoever. My notebooks are always closed in this configuration. Power-on button on the dock is a life-saver :)

I just love how I can switch between machines via buttons on the KVM itself and not via some sort of an intricate combination of keys on my keyboard. I also have audio output from both docks and the PC routed via the KVM to my headphones (all via 3.5mm jacks) but there's a lot of noise. Nor sure where it comes from.

Does T61 support DVI output in general when put into a dock? If it does I'd expect things to just work. I believe resolution is communicated over DVI back to the notebook.
X220, 2 *T520

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8613
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: T460p and T61 in Docking Stations at 1600x1200 Resolution Setting

#6 Post by dr_st » Thu May 07, 2020 11:46 am

atagunov wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 11:31 am
Does T61 support DVI output in general when put into a dock?
Yes.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

pjk
Freshman Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: T460p and T61 in Docking Stations at 1600x1200 Resolution Setting

#7 Post by pjk » Mon May 25, 2020 1:04 am

atagunov wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 11:31 am
For what it's worth I have a T520 and an X220 in 4337 docs here + a PC all plugged in via DVI into CS1784A ATEN KVM snatched at around £70-80 on ebay. All that is plugged via DVI into a 27" 1920x1080 Nec monitor and works like a charm. The keyboards and mice are plugged into a powered USB hub which is also flipped between machines by the said KVM. Thinkpads recognized the resolution without any issue whatsoever. My notebooks are always closed in this configuration. Power-on button on the dock is a life-saver :)

I just love how I can switch between machines via buttons on the KVM itself and not via some sort of an intricate combination of keys on my keyboard. I also have audio output from both docks and the PC routed via the KVM to my headphones (all via 3.5mm jacks) but there's a lot of noise. Nor sure where it comes from.

Just wanted to mention that I use the exact same model KVM to connect various Thinkpads, Thinkstations and even a Mac Mini to a 21" 1600x1200 NEC here.

As a "KVM snob" I will say it's a pretty good KVM for desktop use outside of a few idiosyncracies. I have some audio noise too but there are so many electronic things on this desk and corner of the room it's hard to say where it might be coming from.

I've never had any issue connecting docked Thinkpads to external displays that have completely different resolution than anything specified for the laptop as long as they don't exceed the maximum resolution capability of the laptop's GPU.
Phil
San Francisco, CA USA

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430-T490 / T530-T590 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests