Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

RAM upgrade

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Ybb
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 12:44 pm
Location: Qatar, Doha

RAM upgrade

#1 Post by Ybb » Mon May 18, 2020 1:12 pm

Hi guys !

I have a thinkpad T430u, I upgraded the RAM to 8gb, 4gb each slot, but they was tow mixed sticks, one ddr3 and the other ddr3l, the laptop was running well and so snappy till I decided to check which RAM im running as I gonna upgrade to 16gb and im not sure if im running ddr3 or ddr3l, i got a RAM not found sound signal once I on the laptop, the machine doesn't recognise the ddr3, tried it in an other laptop its running well!
Is it right to mix between ddr3 and ddr3l ?
Why it was running well and now it doesn't? Is it a bios apdate issue ?
Im upgrading to 16gb ddr3l, is it right or i gonna face issues ?

Need help guys ! Please

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21594
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: RAM upgrade

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon May 18, 2020 11:59 pm

Your T430u needs only PC3-12800 or DDR3-1600 RAM, not PC3L or DDR3L.
Test your current RAM, one at a time, in both sockets.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

Ybb
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 12:44 pm
Location: Qatar, Doha

Re: RAM upgrade

#3 Post by Ybb » Tue May 19, 2020 1:46 am

Thank you for the prompt replay,
Actually as my 4gb ddr3 doesn't want to run on it, I'm using 2 sticks of 4gb and 2gb ddr3l, the system is showing that I'm running a summary of 6gb ram, the stick of 4gb ddr3 I moved it to my thinkpad Edge 14" and its running well there with a 2gb ddr3l stick which is wired as my Edge is more older than my main laptop T430u ( both laptops are running win 10 )
Im ordering 16gb ddr3l ram for my T430u, as I read if the voltage is lower ( 1.35v instead of 1.5v ) the system will be more snappier and consume less energy.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21594
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: RAM upgrade

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue May 19, 2020 4:17 am

IF it works, it will run hotter and consume MORE energy.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

Ybb
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 12:44 pm
Location: Qatar, Doha

Re: RAM upgrade

#5 Post by Ybb » Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:06 am

Hi guys

I just got the 2 sticks of 8gb each ddrl3 ram, installed on the laptop, they been detected by the motherboard, 16gb ram on deck :banana: , but and here is my issue, the laptop is running so slow, to start up he takes more than 6min, the ssd led is lightning with non stop.
Any suggestions please i need help

Ybb
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 12:44 pm
Location: Qatar, Doha

Re: RAM upgrade

#6 Post by Ybb » Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:27 am

Hi guys

I just fixed the issue, by updating my bios version from 2.02 to 2.18, the laptop is running so well so snappy with 16gb ram on deck.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430-T490 / T530-T590 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests