Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T530 Mobo

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
JBUK
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 5:29 am
Location: Oxford UK

T530 Mobo

#1 Post by JBUK » Sun Jun 07, 2020 11:16 am

Anybody know if the T530 and T520 mobos are interchangeable into a 520 base ?
Where to begin......
390e FOR SALE
1 x T20
1 X T23 + 3 breaking for parts
1 X T23 with Samsung 840 SSD and XP Great combination !: SOLD
2 X T60
5 X T61
1 X T601 15"
1 X T520
2 X T530

atagunov
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 496
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:11 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: T530 Mobo

#2 Post by atagunov » Sun Jun 07, 2020 12:52 pm

Let's wait for somebody in the know to answer.. Last I heard you might need to swap in the "structure frame" along with the motherboard but I'm really not sure..

That said is there really that much motivation? I would have thought that with the right BIOS flashed (coreboot if everything else fails) you should be able to use all the same CPU-s in T520 as you can in a T530? There is arguably some sense in dropping a W530 or W520 motherboard into a T520 chassis so that you can have 32Gb of RAM rather than just 16.. but a T530 mobo in a T520 body?.. Perhaps just in order to do repairs? If your T520 mobo is dead?
X220, 2 *T520

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T530 Mobo

#3 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun Jun 07, 2020 1:14 pm

atagunov wrote:
Sun Jun 07, 2020 12:52 pm
That said is there really that much motivation? I would have thought that with the right BIOS flashed (coreboot if everything else fails) you should be able to use all the same CPU-s in T520 as you can in a T530?
A T530 mobo can use ALL of the T520 Sandy Bridge CPU's, as my T530 came with a 2nd gen i3, but the T530 has things like USB3, better graphics, DDR3L and 1600Mhz RAM support if an Ivy bridge CPU is installed. If CPU is the only thing you are concerned of, you can always step up on the 2nd gen CPU (i.e. instead of getting a 3720QM you can get a 2820QM. They have similar performance but the latter is a lot hotter). However, I don't think a T520 motherboard can use Ivy bridge CPU's as it is an Intel's purposeful chipset limitation.
Some things that I can tell you right away that are different between T520 and T530 is the outside shell. The T530 has a mini-DP and a regular USB2 port in place of the DP and eSATA/USB port of the T520. Also the T530 has no cutouts for modem. Perhaps it is better for you to buy an entire T530 and then swap other parts around and sell the T520 instead.
Also you need to mod the keyboard and/or the BIOS on the T530 for you to use the old style keyboard from the T520.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

JBUK
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 5:29 am
Location: Oxford UK

Re: T530 Mobo

#4 Post by JBUK » Sun Jun 07, 2020 4:18 pm

Thanks guys. My main motivation is to get USB3 into my T520 as the 34mm slot does not work any more. I used to have a USB3 card in there. So if I am going to change the mobo then a T530 would be a step up and give me usb3 natively.
OK the display ports are different but the 530 mini port is smaller so will at least fit but I suppose I was more concerned with whether the mobo would just fit in like a T61 in a T60 without major frigging.
Thanks for the advice so far.
Where to begin......
390e FOR SALE
1 x T20
1 X T23 + 3 breaking for parts
1 X T23 with Samsung 840 SSD and XP Great combination !: SOLD
2 X T60
5 X T61
1 X T601 15"
1 X T520
2 X T530

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T530 Mobo

#5 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun Jun 07, 2020 6:06 pm

JBUK wrote:
Sun Jun 07, 2020 4:18 pm
Thanks guys. My main motivation is to get USB3 into my T520 as the 34mm slot does not work any more. I used to have a USB3 card in there. So if I am going to change the mobo then a T530 would be a step up and give me usb3 natively.
OK the display ports are different but the 530 mini port is smaller so will at least fit but I suppose I was more concerned with whether the mobo would just fit in like a T61 in a T60 without major frigging.
Thanks for the advice so far.
https://imgur.com/oB7ZftV
Here's what my T520 and T530 looks like with the keyboard taken off. I noticed two things here:
1. the screw holes on the T520 heatsink don't line up with the T530. You will need a T530 heatsink with or without discrete graphics depending on the board you are getting. Luckily those screw posts go to a plate behind the motherboard and the plate comes with each motherboard.
2. the magnesium frame is definitely different. For example the screw threads for the LCD connector plate are on the frame for the T530 and not for the T520.
And as I said before, you will need to mod the keyboard for that keyboard to work on a T530. I am sure that is up on this forum
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

atagunov
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 496
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:11 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: T530 Mobo

#6 Post by atagunov » Mon Jun 08, 2020 7:56 am

However swapping in both the motherboard and the structure frame should work right?
People like me will want the kbd mod on T530/W530 anyway :)

I have been looking at a W530 frame/board option for one of my T520-s for a while..
X220, 2 *T520

JBUK
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 5:29 am
Location: Oxford UK

Re: T530 Mobo

#7 Post by JBUK » Mon Jun 08, 2020 8:26 am

There is no guarantee that the T530 frame will fit and align properly in the 520. If so then a base is needed too also the webcam might not be compatible. There are potentially too many parts to change compared economically to just buying a T530 and selling on the 520.
The price of T530s seems to have gone up quite a lot since the lockdown, presumably as home workers are looking for good laptops to buy.
Where to begin......
390e FOR SALE
1 x T20
1 X T23 + 3 breaking for parts
1 X T23 with Samsung 840 SSD and XP Great combination !: SOLD
2 X T60
5 X T61
1 X T601 15"
1 X T520
2 X T530

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T530 Mobo

#8 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Jun 08, 2020 4:46 pm

atagunov wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 7:56 am
However swapping in both the motherboard and the structure frame should work right?
People like me will want the kbd mod on T530/W530 anyway :)

I have been looking at a W530 frame/board option for one of my T520-s for a while..
Also it seems like the palmrest for T530 is totally different than the T520 as well. If you use the T530 frame you need the T530 palmrest as well. The T530 FPR also comes with a handy LED that blinks green or red to tell you whether your fingerprint is accepted. The keyboard mod for T530 is done with a T530 palmrest. You need to sort out the trackpoint buttons as they are different in shape between the keyboards.
Again, perhaps looking up on Gumtree and eBay and see if anyone has a T530 with a smashed screen or something. Seems like the screen assembly contains the majority of parts swappable with the T520.
One more thing for the T530 is that it also removed all the classic beeping sounds such as AC connect and disconnect, and might also have compatibility issues with your T520 battery. I was not able to get the T520 9-cell to charge with the T530.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21592
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T530 Mobo

#9 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jun 09, 2020 12:46 am

All xx30 machines can get the EC-mod for battery-check bypass.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430-T490 / T530-T590 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests