Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T450/T460 - use same RAM as T430?

T430-T490, T530-T590 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
serpico
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:49 am
Location: NC

T450/T460 - use same RAM as T430?

#1 Post by serpico » Tue Jul 27, 2021 8:20 am

I have a T430 with 16GB (2 x 8GB sticks) of DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) RAM. Looking to upgrade to a T450 or T460 and would like to swap in the RAM from my T430. Is this RAM compatible with the T450 and T460 series?
T430: i5-3320M(2.6GHz), 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 14" 1600x900, NVIDIA NVS 5400M 1GB
W510: i7-720QM(1.6GHz), 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD, 15.6" 1600x900, 1GB nVIDIA Quadro FX 880M
T410s: Core i5 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 14.1" 1440x900
T60
X60

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22506
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: T450/T460 - use same RAM as T430?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jul 27, 2021 11:24 am

Goggle for: lenovo t450 psref (or t460, or any other Thinkpad)
It tells you all you need.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Covid-19: Stay safe, so still Mask it or Casket!

serpico
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:49 am
Location: NC

Re: T450/T460 - use same RAM as T430?

#3 Post by serpico » Tue Jul 27, 2021 11:36 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Tue Jul 27, 2021 11:24 am
Goggle for: lenovo t450 psref (or t460, or any other Thinkpad)
It tells you all you need.
Thanks.
16GB max7 / PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3L, non-parity,
dual-channel capable, two 204-pin SO-DIMM sockets
Looks like I'm good to go to swap RAM from T430 to T450/T460. Interestingly the same search for the T430 turned up DDR3, but the DDR3L RAM I'm using in it works fine.
T430: i5-3320M(2.6GHz), 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 14" 1600x900, NVIDIA NVS 5400M 1GB
W510: i7-720QM(1.6GHz), 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD, 15.6" 1600x900, 1GB nVIDIA Quadro FX 880M
T410s: Core i5 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 14.1" 1440x900
T60
X60

nex86
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:11 pm
Location: Cologne Germany

Re: T450/T460 - use same RAM as T430?

#4 Post by nex86 » Thu Oct 07, 2021 5:03 pm

doesn't T460 have DDR4 since its skylake?
but I think low voltage variants of sky and kabylake still had DDR3L.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430-T490 / T530-T590 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests