Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

X230 and later series specific matters only
Message
Author
skrble
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:18 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#331 Post by skrble » Sun Mar 04, 2018 6:34 pm

hamish wrote:
Sun May 01, 2016 1:47 am
TPFanatic wrote:Hello.

Is there any chance that the mod will restore the virtual numberpad functionality of the classic keyboard as well?

Thanks.
Surprisingly, yes! Even though the x230 had no support for the virtual numberpad, they left all that functionality in the firmware. So, when we added back the keysym for the NumLock key, it all just jumped into life again.
I am so happy it works! In past I have remapped ScrollLock to work as NumLock via the KeyTweak utility on my old X220 (I don't use ScollLock at all). I tried to do this too after modding my X230, but it won't work. There is just a system pop-up that NumLock is activated, but the keyboard just keeps to type in the letters instead of digits. I have to switch on NumLock right as intended, using Fn+ScrollLock.
Isn't there any chance that there may be different barcodes for "normal numlock" or the ThinkPad one? Or some different coding just in the core firmware itself? This is just weird. :?
Thank You! I know this is such a niche question but still, if you knew some workaround... :)
PS: W7 user here.
ThinkPad X230 | Classic 7-row Keyboard Mod | Intel Core i5 | IPS | 9 cell

Dongers
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 3:10 pm
Location: Harlow, UK

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#332 Post by Dongers » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:36 am

@Mods - Please forgive the cross posting, but as have had no responses to my original thread and dont want to needlessly bump it, wanted to see if i can get some attention from Hamish or Nitrocatser from this thread.... (assuming they are still active..?)

I have a t430 with a failed EC firmware flash full details: viewtopic.php?f=68&t=125769

Has anyone seen this before or had any issues with the EC Flash?

Looking to put coreboot onto this paticular T430 at some stage, so wondering if i can flash a new EC mod at same time, via SOIC clip flash method (or if i can just re-flash EC using SOIC anyway)

Cheers

Donger

sponka
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:41 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#333 Post by sponka » Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:59 pm

I finally managed to modify my T430 with keyboard mod. Could be done sooner, but I specifically wanted keyboard for my country (slovenian/yu layout).
Unable to find any used one and refused to get keyboard with english layout and "localize" it by engraving, it took almost half a year of searching. With some luck I came into posession of 2 new, unused boards, one for T430 and one for X230 (waiting for replacement palmrest for x230 so mod, yet).

One obstacle was updated bios to latest version 2.76 on T430. At the moment thinkpad-ec doesn't have this bios included, so I modified Descriptions.txt to download latest iso (EC version is still the same) and made bootable USB.

I don't have dremel so I took file and some sand paper to fix metal nubs. Not the best job, but when installed notbody can see what was done.

I also dissasembled keyboard cable and put some kapton tape on pins. This turns out to be "the most difficult job" of whole operation. Let me explain -- flash was OK, but after assembly some keys didn't work. So I dissasembled cable and realigned pins. Second try was better, but still had problem -- AltGr combinations didn't work at all. I probably tryed more than 5 timed to finally get everything work :oops:

Sooo, I'm looking forward to mod x230, besides new palmrest and keyboard I also have nitrocaster's board waiting for FHD mod + this one will get coreboot 8)
T430 • 2349-OG6 • Crucial MX300 525 Gb • rest still original :(
X200 • 7459-EH9 • Ultimate-N 6300 • F5521gw • Crucial BX200 240Gb
[SOLD ] T500 • 2056-VL1 • Ultimate-N 6300 • Samsung 830 256 Gb • F5521gw ... a bit upgraded :P

ztof
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:15 am
Location: Brussels - Belgium

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#334 Post by ztof » Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:24 am

sponka wrote:
Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:59 pm
I also dissasembled keyboard cable and put some kapton tape on pins. This turns out to be "the most difficult job" of whole operation. Let me explain -- flash was OK, but after assembly some keys didn't work. So I dissasembled cable and realigned pins. Second try was better, but still had problem -- AltGr combinations didn't work at all. I probably tryed more than 5 timed to finally get everything work :oops:
I did the T430 mod yesterday and it was pretty easy to isolate the keyboard pins, just I lost the click buttons of the trackpoint at first try.
So on the second try I've put tiny piece of tape (the same isolating tape) but above the ribbon, on the opposite side of the isolation. In order to compensate the thickness and get the same pressure on contact points, then it worked. The contact points on each side of the isolated contacts don't get the same pressure because of the tape thickness.

BUT I've to say it was not my first time, I was experienced by modding first my X230 previously. When I did my first mod, I tried maybe 8 or 10 times to get proper contacts while reassembling the ribbon to contact pins, every times I lost keys and different keys each time. I started to lose patience but I finally succeed.
It was really boring and annoying, and I did say so many swear words when doing the first mod. But I don't regret it, X230 is really better with classic keyboard.
T430-Classic-Keyboard | X230-Classic-Keyboard | SK855 & SK-8835 keyboards

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2078
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#335 Post by Tasurinchi » Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:00 am

ztof wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:24 am
I did the T430 mod yesterday and it was pretty easy to isolate the keyboard pins
You don't need to tape the pins for the T430, only the X230 needs that (IIRC)
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

ztof
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:15 am
Location: Brussels - Belgium

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#336 Post by ztof » Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:53 am

Tasurinchi wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:00 am
You don't need to tape the pins for the T430, only the X230 needs that (IIRC)
Oh really!? T430 doesn't have backlit functionality?
Frak, I did that for nothing... Hopefully this attempt was easy and quick, as I was already experienced isolating those pins for X230.
If it was for the first time and I did that for nothing I would have been angry.

At least I can swap keyboards from my X230 to my T430 and vice-versa if needed, without any fear.
It was quite hard to find several X220/T420 keyboards with QWERTZ Swiss layout, and living in Belgium. So theses keyboards are precious for me. I did not even alter the keyboards to make them fit, I preferred to alter the palmrest instead (it's easier to find a replacement palmrest than a Swiss keyboard).
T430-Classic-Keyboard | X230-Classic-Keyboard | SK855 & SK-8835 keyboards

sponka
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:41 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#337 Post by sponka » Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:30 am

With backlit functionality you mean backlight keyboard? T430 definitelly have such option, I have such model (2 levels of backlight + thinklight).

For me it was easyer to mod both keyboards at once :)
T430 • 2349-OG6 • Crucial MX300 525 Gb • rest still original :(
X200 • 7459-EH9 • Ultimate-N 6300 • F5521gw • Crucial BX200 240Gb
[SOLD ] T500 • 2056-VL1 • Ultimate-N 6300 • Samsung 830 256 Gb • F5521gw ... a bit upgraded :P

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2078
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#338 Post by Tasurinchi » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:15 am

The pin taping is to prevent some burn marks on the KB when used in a X220. Is not bad if you tape them, but you spare some work if you don't have a X230 :wink:

But as you said, now you can swap KB back and forth, I also normally tape mines, even when modding them for non X230 models...
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

swinokur
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:59 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#339 Post by swinokur » Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:00 pm

Hey,
There's a typo in the "descriptions.txt" in the github repo:

line 128 has "depi:g2uj23us.iso.bat" when it should read "depi:g2uj26.us.iso.bat".

as it is right now, it won't build if checked out directly from git...

thanks!

ProgressiveMuppetization
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 3:55 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#340 Post by ProgressiveMuppetization » Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:17 pm

I can confirm that, because of that typo, using the current script to generate a modded BIOS for an X230 produces an error rather than a file.

So before you run "make patched.x230.img", you'll need to open descriptions.txt with a text editor, correct the typo and save the file.

Once you've done that, you can carry on as described in Hamish's readme.

ThxGiving
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 8:16 am
Location: Germany

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#341 Post by ThxGiving » Thu May 10, 2018 8:18 am

Does anyone know which Fuse to check if i forgot to tape the pins on my T430s and the kbd backlight wont work anymore? F5 is fine.

Kagor
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 2:36 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#342 Post by Kagor » Mon May 21, 2018 7:16 am

Hi,

I am reading on the web that some Fn combos, Caps lock light and other keys? are not working after a keyboard swap to the classic one (from T420/X220/...). Since the known EC mod is some years old by now I thought of asking the community if there is a possible update or workaround to get the full functionality of a classic keyboard in a T430/X230/...?

If this has been discussed anywhere else and I am just repeating the question please redirect me :)


Thank you!
Currently using: X220

sponka
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:41 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#343 Post by sponka » Tue May 22, 2018 1:35 am

Kagor wrote:
Mon May 21, 2018 7:16 am
Hi,

I am reading on the web that some Fn combos, Caps lock light and other keys? are not working after a keyboard swap to the classic one (from T420/X220/...). Since the known EC mod is some years old by now I thought of asking the community if there is a possible update or workaround to get the full functionality of a classic keyboard in a T430/X230/...?

If this has been discussed anywhere else and I am just repeating the question please redirect me :)


Thank you!

Here: https://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.p ... 78#p779778
hamish wrote:
Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:53 pm
Biased Opinion wrote:So which buttons are still non fuctional, the only ones i really care about is the home, end delete cluster.
The only buttons that are not working are Fn+F12 (Hibernate), Fn+F3 (Battery) and Fn+Space (some magnify thing?) - so the important ones are all fine for you.
And as you noticed, CapsLock light is also not functional. Everything else works :)
T430 • 2349-OG6 • Crucial MX300 525 Gb • rest still original :(
X200 • 7459-EH9 • Ultimate-N 6300 • F5521gw • Crucial BX200 240Gb
[SOLD ] T500 • 2056-VL1 • Ultimate-N 6300 • Samsung 830 256 Gb • F5521gw ... a bit upgraded :P

pure3d2
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:44 am
Location: Concord, CA, USA

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#344 Post by pure3d2 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:21 am

I flashed my EC with the patches (including battery check removal), but my keyboard is acting as the EC hasn't been patched at all.

Menu = PrtScr

PgLeft = PgUp
PgRight = PgDown

PgUp = Delete
PgDown = Insert

Home = does nothing
End = End

Delete = Home

Insert = does nothing
Pause = does nothing
ScrLk = does nothing
PrtScr = does nothing

The standard keys are working normally.

They all match the pre-flashed column (Function after install) on this table: http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Install_C ... _ThinkPads

I flashed it twice just to be sure but my X220 keyboard still acts like I didn't install the patch. I taped the 3 pins on the cable as indicated by the picture--would this be the cause if I didn't do it properly?

Here is a video I made of the flashing process: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ffhp6GE ... e=youtu.be

EDIT: I guess I shouldn't be doing this after waking up to feed the baby in the middle of the night! I forgot to plug in the AC adapter this whole time. I just plugged it in and powered up the laptop. It gave me a message about flashing the EC, then booted windows. Now everything works! I'm so sorry for wasting anyone's time. I hope you all had a good laugh, though! :lol:

Mr. TA
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 3:39 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#345 Post by Mr. TA » Sat Sep 22, 2018 3:42 pm

Hi all,
I tried to follow the steps found in the Thinkwiki page:

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Install_C ... _ThinkPads

I have a W530, so I downloaded the linked ISO and patch file, however the Perl script says:

Address 300544 mismatched data
The binaryfile does not match the context bytes from C:\LenovoKeyboard\g5uj28us.iso.diff

Did Lenovo update the ISO file on their website? Should I attempt to modify it manually, or is there an updated W530 patch file?

Thanks in advance!!!

UPDATE: Minutes later, I opened the ISO in a Hex Editor and the patch file turned out to be perfectly correct. I guess the Perl script has a bug in it. I don't know Perl too well so I didn't spend any time debugging it. In any case, it only took me about 3 minutes to apply the changes manually using a hex editor (in Windows). Will report when I go through with the replacement and reflashing. Thanks again for the information.

UPDATE 2: Flashed BIOS, all good. Now getting used back to W520 KB, haha. Flashing doesn't work without battery and power cord both connected.

sponka
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:41 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Re: Installing classic keyboard into X230 with EC firmware mod

#346 Post by sponka » Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:04 pm

Few months ago I modded keyboard for my T430. Everything is working except lights (power, mute mic, mute speakers). I thought it was problem with wiring since I taped few pins.
Today I "fixed" wiring, but still didn't work. I took another modded keyboard from X230 which have 100% working mod and lights don't work, too.

Sooo ... It's not keyboard, its computer :/ Anyone experienced this before?
T430 • 2349-OG6 • Crucial MX300 525 Gb • rest still original :(
X200 • 7459-EH9 • Ultimate-N 6300 • F5521gw • Crucial BX200 240Gb
[SOLD ] T500 • 2056-VL1 • Ultimate-N 6300 • Samsung 830 256 Gb • F5521gw ... a bit upgraded :P

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X230 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests