Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Resetting BIOS Pwd on X270

X230-X280, X390 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
sicilia
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:09 pm
Location: New York, NY

Resetting BIOS Pwd on X270

#1 Post by sicilia » Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:31 pm

I inherited an almost brand new X270 from a company I did some work for and they went out of business. I have no way of contacting the person who set up the password as he also left said company.

The laptop came with a BIOS password which doesn't allow me to go into the BOOT Bios menu and select a USB to install from. I want to format it and build it anew.

I disconnected the internal battery and also shorted the circuit with a pin, neither solution worked. I'm about to give up on it and sell it for parts.

I'm either looking to send it to someone to reset this password or sell it for a very good price. Any interest or ideas?

I'm located in New York City.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21841
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: Resetting BIOS Pwd on X270

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 13, 2020 2:08 am

You have a Private message.
Still NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown until Easter 2021!
Covid-19: Stay safe, so Mask it or Casket!

khemalshiv
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 4:44 pm
Location: Subang Jaya, Malaysia

Re: Resetting BIOS Pwd on X270

#3 Post by khemalshiv » Sat Feb 20, 2021 4:46 pm

I too have the same issue ... can someone help me

Boxxer
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:41 am
Location: Cascais, Portugal

Re: Resetting BIOS Pwd on X270

#4 Post by Boxxer » Wed Mar 03, 2021 5:04 pm

If there's a way around this, can it be applied to a X230? Same issue here.

davidgurvich
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 8:07 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Resetting BIOS Pwd on X270

#5 Post by davidgurvich » Wed Mar 03, 2021 8:13 pm

I believe it's possible to install to the drive from a different computer. Physically remove drive, set it up with OS of choice, then replace drive.
R61:4GB:T8100:Intel X3100:OSX Lion(10.7.5)

cadillacmike68
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Resetting BIOS Pwd on X270

#6 Post by cadillacmike68 » Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:30 am

Folks, please read the forum rules, particularly the section on not discussing removing BIOS PWs or HDD PWs. By the way, changing the HDD will not do anything about a BIOS PW.
600, 600X
760LD FUBARd
T21 2647 T22 2647 1@ 1GHz SXGA+ 4 more; T23 2647 1@ 1.2GHz SXGA+ 3 more
T30 2366-88U 2GHz; 2366-83U 1.8G; 5@ 2366-LU0/66U; 2367-KU6 FUBARd
T41 T42 T43
T61 8897 2.4GHz SXGA+; 8898 2.4Ghz; 6463 2@ WSXGA+; 7658 2.5GHz; T61p; 6 more T61s
T500 2
T530 W530

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X230-X280 / X390 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests