Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

x240

X230 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
rsutoratosu
Sophomore Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:43 am
Location: London, UK

x240

#1 Post by rsutoratosu » Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:45 pm

Anyone got one yet ? I couldn't seem to pull the back panel off.. I have the thinkpad yoga also, and that comes off extremely easy.

Thanks

Tr0n
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 6:41 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: x240

#2 Post by Tr0n » Thu Jan 16, 2014 11:08 am

I have one. This time they destroyed the trackpoint, without dedicated buttons is very bad. On my X220 I have 16GB RAM, on the X240 max is 8GB (one slot). Other things are fine

Backpanel - to replace e.g. SSD?
(x23,T60p, x31, x61s with XGA IPS, T410s) x220, x240

Puppy
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2681
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:52 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: x240

#3 Post by Puppy » Thu Jan 16, 2014 11:42 am

Have you noticed the space key delay ? http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-Th ... -p/1397577
ThinkPad (1992 - 2012): R51, X31, X220, Tablet 8
Huawei MateBook 13

Tr0n
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 6:41 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: x240

#4 Post by Tr0n » Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:32 pm

Puppy wrote:Have you noticed the space key delay ? http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-Th ... -p/1397577
No I don't have this problem, with the keyboard I will complain only about small arrows' buttons with PgUp and PgDn next to arrows.
The excellent X220 keyboard was replaced by the keyboard, which was made for design, not functionality.
Also I don't like that I can't switch in bios function keys default layout. TrackPoint without buttons is a huge step back, in fact this is a good reason to change Lenovo for Apple (even if you will install windows on MacBook).
(x23,T60p, x31, x61s with XGA IPS, T410s) x220, x240

rsutoratosu
Sophomore Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:43 am
Location: London, UK

Re: x240

#5 Post by rsutoratosu » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:11 am

I have the system since mid dec, did not notice the space bar issue at all but hate the function F1/keys, a bit annoying..

rsutoratosu
Sophomore Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:43 am
Location: London, UK

Re: x240

#6 Post by rsutoratosu » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:25 am

Having huge problems for my x240.. it randomly goes into sleep mode, while docked, the screen turns off.. biggest is random wifi drop.. it'll drop for 20 min and reconnects. Originally thought it was the wireless ap, swap out 5 different brands. We use ruckus, enterprise wifi, no other laptop including tons of x220/x230/t400/t410/t420/t430, x1 carbons,etc. Only this x240 can't connect normally.

I have done system restore and also install windows 7 from a burn cd, its probably just the wifi card but since these are all key, I cant even swap it out

The swap machine is being produce now and wont be ready till feb 18!!


Original - ruckus

AP tried
-Linksys wrt54g - default standard for testing wifi
-Linksys e4200 v1
-Airport express
-Airport extreme
-Trendnet generic
-asus RT-N56U

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X230 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests