Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrade Display on X240?

X230 and later series specific matters only
Message
Author
stan1415
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Upgrade Display on X240?

#1 Post by stan1415 » Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:30 pm

Hi,

I have an X240 (20AMS0AA00) with the base 1366 x 768 display. I'm looking at purchasing a new FHD touch display FRU. (not a pull from an existing laptop). The panel I'm looking at is "04X3922 N LGD 12.5"IPS FHD LED backlight LCD panel with touch for Stella model.LGD LP125WF2-SP".

Would anyone know if that panel will work with my laptop and if any other parts are needed?

Thanks,
Stan

Cunha
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:24 pm
Location: Monterey, CA.
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#2 Post by Cunha » Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:35 pm

I have not ever looked into that specific model, but such a swap is very seldom a plug and play affair. I would not expect it to work without extensive modification, sadly.

Someone with more experience may chime in though.
Me - X61s w/ UL, Wife - Z61t, Dad - Z61t, Mom - T61 4:3
Lenovo service parts index: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... TPAD-FRU#x

stan1415
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#3 Post by stan1415 » Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:31 am

After investigating I decided to skip the touch screen upgrade. To upgrade to the touch screen you need to replace the entire display assembly. Maybe I'll do it if I come across a used touch display assembly at some point, but in the meantime I have my Surface Pro...

I instead opted for the 1080p non-touch display. Got it for $80. FRU: 00HM111 It was a drop in replacement to the 1366x768 display. The difference is night and day, the viewing angle on the 1366 display was horrendous. Sure the text is smaller on the 12.5" 1080, but it's nice and crisp and the viewing angle is 1000 times better. The system picked it up with no issues on reboot. Swapping was easy, just had to go slow and careful when removing the bezel. It was much harder installing the backlit keyboard then it was to swap the display.

Boggler
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 7:49 am
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#4 Post by Boggler » Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:37 pm

Hi,

Where did you buy the 1080p non-touch display? I didn't find a shop that sells 00HM111 for $80. The FRU 00HM111 isn't even in the FRU listing, how did you know it was exactly this part?

stan1415
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#5 Post by stan1415 » Fri Apr 25, 2014 3:26 pm

I had purchased a keyboard bezel (my X240 didn't come with a fingerprint reader) from a seller on ebay and then asked if he had any 1080p non touch display's available. That is what he sent me and it worked. His ebay ID is "passionfruit-us". I also bought a backlit keyboard from him, no issues with any of the parts.

animlboogy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Ottawa, IL

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#6 Post by animlboogy » Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:35 pm

I tried contacting that same seller. I haven't heard anything back yet. So this display really was a drop-in sort of situation? Any tips on where else I could look to find one? I've been pulling my hair out trying to find a compatible 1080p upgrade for the X240.

doubledown
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#7 Post by doubledown » Thu May 01, 2014 3:58 pm

I contacted the seller three to four days ago (as soon as I read your post) - also to no response sadly.

Lenovo FRU's typically start with a 0x. I wouldn't ask you to disassemble the laptop now, but did you see any 0x number on it? The lenovo FRU parts list only lists the 1080p touch screen. Only one source on the internet mentions 00hm1111 and they charge 1000$ for it (700GBP).
My ThinkPads:
Current: X201s, X240s, ThinkCentre M93p Tiny
Previous: TransNote (right-handed), 701C, 560x, S30 i-Series, T40, T42p, T43, X60T, X200s, X301, X1 Carbon (1st Gen), X240, Helix (2nd Gen w/ Ultrabook Pro keyboard), X230s

doubledown
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#8 Post by doubledown » Fri May 02, 2014 9:45 am

He just contacted me actually to let me know he plans to have more in stock next week - :-)
My ThinkPads:
Current: X201s, X240s, ThinkCentre M93p Tiny
Previous: TransNote (right-handed), 701C, 560x, S30 i-Series, T40, T42p, T43, X60T, X200s, X301, X1 Carbon (1st Gen), X240, Helix (2nd Gen w/ Ultrabook Pro keyboard), X230s

stan1415
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#9 Post by stan1415 » Tue May 06, 2014 11:35 pm

Glad to hear that he got back to you.

stan1415
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#10 Post by stan1415 » Tue May 06, 2014 11:46 pm

I just remembered that I took pictures of the info on the back of the 1080 LCD before I installed it. See below:

http://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-B4roe ... 224254.jpg

http://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-s-4DS ... 224337.jpg

stan1415
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#11 Post by stan1415 » Wed May 07, 2014 12:06 am

Yes, it is a direct drop in, remove the display bezel, take out the old LCD. You have to carefully remove the tape securing the connector to the display. The new screen fits exactly, connect the video cable to the identical connector. I was able to reuse the tape. Reassembled the display, worked immediately on reboot.

I had the entire laptop apart when I was taking the display apart as I was installing the keyboard at the same time. The display was completely detached from the laptop. It might be a bit more challenging to replace the LCD without detaching the display. The display bezel was kind of a pain to reattach at the bottom of the display, when it's attached to the base there is not a lot of clearance. Lenovo actually says that the display bezel needs to be replaced if it is removed. I guess they think that the bezel would probably be damaged during removal. I was able to remove and replace it without any apparent damage.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19304
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#12 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed May 07, 2014 5:51 am

stan1415 wrote:I took pictures of the info on the back of the 1080 LCD before I installed it
Any chance of putting in the link to those?
And what are the exact part-number(s) P/N or FRU? They are normally 7-character, like the 00HM111 you mention.

doubledown
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#13 Post by doubledown » Wed May 07, 2014 11:20 am

The internet (google searches) seems sure enough that LP125WF2 is a touch screen display - I paid 330 for Lenovo to upgrade an x240 to that panel - amazing that you got it for 80$.

Was your old 1366 screen a touch screen as well - it seems the panel shapes are different for touch and non touch (and so are the bezels)?
My ThinkPads:
Current: X201s, X240s, ThinkCentre M93p Tiny
Previous: TransNote (right-handed), 701C, 560x, S30 i-Series, T40, T42p, T43, X60T, X200s, X301, X1 Carbon (1st Gen), X240, Helix (2nd Gen w/ Ultrabook Pro keyboard), X230s

stan1415
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#14 Post by stan1415 » Wed May 07, 2014 4:51 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
stan1415 wrote:I took pictures of the info on the back of the 1080 LCD before I installed it
Any chance of putting in the link to those?
And what are the exact part-number(s) P/N or FRU? They are normally 7-character, like the 00HM111 you mention.
I included the pictures in the post, can you not see them?
doubledown wrote:The internet (google searches) seems sure enough that LP125WF2 is a touch screen display - I paid 330 for Lenovo to upgrade an x240 to that panel - amazing that you got it for 80$.

Was your old 1366 screen a touch screen as well - it seems the panel shapes are different for touch and non touch (and so are the bezels)?
This panel is definitely not a touch screen. The touch screen appears to be a LP125WF2(SP)(B1). This 1080 panel is a LP125WF2(SP)(B2). The site below shows the touch screen version, listed for $99. You can see that the screen covers almost the entire face of the display. If you look closely at the pic in the link you can see where the camera window is at the top. My old 1366 was not a touch screen, if I went to the touch screen I was not sure what parts would work or not work from the existing display assembly.

http://www.aroseks.com/products_detail/ ... d=417.html

unit80
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:40 am
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#15 Post by unit80 » Tue May 13, 2014 6:41 pm

Hey stan, i was wondering if you upgraded from a TN 768 diplay or from an already IPS 768 display?

stan1415
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#16 Post by stan1415 » Wed May 14, 2014 11:40 am

I'm not sure if it was TN or IPS, I can get the model number off the back tonight and post it. (I'm at work now, it's at home.)

unit80
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:40 am
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#17 Post by unit80 » Wed May 14, 2014 7:29 pm

That would be awsome. Although id guess it was an IPS since switching from TN to IPS is difficult sometimes. And how is the screen anyways? Still going strong? Ive been looking for the screen you mentioned but i cant find any but the touch version of it. Any idea where one could find the one you bought?

doubledown
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#18 Post by doubledown » Fri Jun 27, 2014 1:59 pm

For those interested 00HM111 is now the old FRU for the non touch FHD display and 00HM745 is the replacement. IBM US spare parts has 00HM111 out of stock but claims it was 349$+tax (ouch) anyways. They list 00HM745 as the replacement, due to be in at end of July but with price still pending.

Dear IBM Customer,
Per your request, the following price quotation is submitted. THE AVAILABILITY IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE (ONLY VALID FOR TODAY )

** PLEASE CHECK WITH THE ORDERING DEPT. FOR UPDATED AVAILABILITY AND TO PLACE THE ORDER**
|--------------+------------+------------+------------------------------------------+------------+------------|
| ITEM | FRU # | UNIT PRICE | AVAILABILITY | EXCHANGE | EXT. EXCH. |
| | | | | PRICE | PRICE |
|--------------+------------+------------+------------------------------------------+------------+------------|
|DISPLAY |00HM745 | pending** | NO. ETA LATE JULY. NO SUB | N/A | N/A |
|--------------+------------+------------+------------------------------------------+------------+------------|
|DISPLAY |00HM111 | 349.00 | NO. NO ETA. SUB 00HM745 | N/A | N/A |
|--------------+------------+------------+------------------------------------------+------------+------------|
My ThinkPads:
Current: X201s, X240s, ThinkCentre M93p Tiny
Previous: TransNote (right-handed), 701C, 560x, S30 i-Series, T40, T42p, T43, X60T, X200s, X301, X1 Carbon (1st Gen), X240, Helix (2nd Gen w/ Ultrabook Pro keyboard), X230s

doubledown
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#19 Post by doubledown » Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:31 pm

There's one on Amazon right now for 160 USD

http://www.amazon.com/LENOVO-00HM111-SU ... ds=00hm111
My ThinkPads:
Current: X201s, X240s, ThinkCentre M93p Tiny
Previous: TransNote (right-handed), 701C, 560x, S30 i-Series, T40, T42p, T43, X60T, X200s, X301, X1 Carbon (1st Gen), X240, Helix (2nd Gen w/ Ultrabook Pro keyboard), X230s

andyj
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:32 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#20 Post by andyj » Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:58 am

Sorry to resurrect this thread, but I'm in the same boat. I got a used x240 for a great deal but man the TN display is not good, especially coming from a macbook pro--I'd definitely like an IPS panel. What do you guys think about these two options?
http://www.laptopscreen.com/English/mod ... %20SERIES/

I'd love 1080p, but I don't want to pay the $170 that amazon or ebay ones that are available now, plus I'm not sure how the high DPI will look with windows 7. From what you guys mentioned, it sounds like the touch panels are out of the question.

doubledown
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#21 Post by doubledown » Thu Aug 21, 2014 2:40 pm

Sadly that's right. Upgrading to a touchpanel from non-touch is not possible. IPS even at 1366x768 will look a ton better than TN at that resolution so of course get it if you can. The upgrade with the X240s (very similar machine to X240) was easy but time consuming and there are videos at http://www.frusonfone.com that explain disassembly of all the right parts you need to get in there.

Good luck

That said, if you can afford the 170 or can find a better deal on the internet why not get the 1080p panel. I use it with no scaling on Windows and it looks awesome.
My ThinkPads:
Current: X201s, X240s, ThinkCentre M93p Tiny
Previous: TransNote (right-handed), 701C, 560x, S30 i-Series, T40, T42p, T43, X60T, X200s, X301, X1 Carbon (1st Gen), X240, Helix (2nd Gen w/ Ultrabook Pro keyboard), X230s

andyj
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:32 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#22 Post by andyj » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:35 pm

Cool, I think I'll try the 1080p... maybe after waiting a while to see if any deals show up. Thanks!

endac
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: Cork, IE

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#23 Post by endac » Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:52 pm

Hey all,

I'm in the same boat here. I just received my X240 with a 1366 TN display. A bit of a disappointment overall compared to the T410 it's replacing but that's a rant for a different post.

Just to confirm: I can swap out my TN panel with an 00HM111 / LP125WF2(SP)(B2) panel without issue? I'm having trouble finding a supplier here in Europe so it looks like I'm going to have to buy it on eBay for about $160 + shipping + import taxes but it should add much more value to the machine I use for 8-10 hours a day.

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7254
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#24 Post by BillMorrow » Fri Aug 22, 2014 5:17 pm

endac wrote:Hey all,
.
..
...
Just to confirm: I can swap out my TN panel with an 00HM111 / LP125WF2(SP)(B2) panel without issue?
a thought occurs..
lenovo (and IBM formerly) might pitch-a-fit if you send a thinkpad in for warranty repairs with a non-standard part.. i.e. a frankenpad..

just food for thought and welcome to the forum.. :)
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

andyj
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:32 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#25 Post by andyj » Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:33 am

lenovo (and IBM formerly) might pitch-a-fit if you send a thinkpad in for warranty repairs with a non-standard part.. i.e. a frankenpad..
I was thinking about keeping the TN panel around and reinstalling it if ever I needed a warranty repair--do you think I could get away with that?

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8449
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#26 Post by pianowizard » Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:14 am

andyj wrote:I was thinking about keeping the TN panel around and reinstalling it if ever I needed a warranty repair--do you think I could get away with that?
The first thing to do is to look up whether your X240 is still under warranty. If it's already out of warranty, then there's no need to worry about this. Go to this web site: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/warrantylookup
HP Pavilion x2 12 (Core M3-6Y30, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); HP 8300 Elite tower (Core i7-3770)
Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Bolva 40BL00H7; Crossover 404K; Dell U2715H, U2711, D2015Hf; Monoprice 10734; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

andyj
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:32 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#27 Post by andyj » Mon Aug 25, 2014 12:22 pm

The first thing to do is to look up whether your X240 is still under warranty.
Says it still is, so I guess I should try not to screw this up. Thanks!

endac
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: Cork, IE

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#28 Post by endac » Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:03 am

I spoke to a really nice support rep today who told me that as long as I use a Lenovo FRU and don't damage the machine then swapping the display wouldn't affect my warranty. I don't imagine that's actually the case when claiming under the warranty though!

oplacheno
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Samara, Russia

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#29 Post by oplacheno » Sat Nov 01, 2014 3:43 pm

doubledown wrote:For those interested 00HM111 is now the old FRU for the non touch FHD display and 00HM745 is the replacement. IBM US spare parts has 00HM111 out of stock but claims it was 349$+tax (ouch) anyways. They list 00HM745 as the replacement, due to be in at end of July but with price still pending.

Dear IBM Customer,
Per your request, the following price quotation is submitted. THE AVAILABILITY IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE (ONLY VALID FOR TODAY )

** PLEASE CHECK WITH THE ORDERING DEPT. FOR UPDATED AVAILABILITY AND TO PLACE THE ORDER**
|--------------+------------+------------+------------------------------------------+------------+------------|
| ITEM | FRU # | UNIT PRICE | AVAILABILITY | EXCHANGE | EXT. EXCH. |
| | | | | PRICE | PRICE |
|--------------+------------+------------+------------------------------------------+------------+------------|
|DISPLAY |00HM745 | pending** | NO. ETA LATE JULY. NO SUB | N/A | N/A |
|--------------+------------+------------+------------------------------------------+------------+------------|
|DISPLAY |00HM111 | 349.00 | NO. NO ETA. SUB 00HM745 | N/A | N/A |
|--------------+------------+------------+------------------------------------------+------------+------------|
Good day! Find supplier for new LCD Display http://www.aroseks.com/products_detail/ ... d=551.html
But I can not understand why it comes with Touch Digitizer 00HM745??

many thanks for reply!

endac
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: Cork, IE

Re: Upgrade Display on X240?

#30 Post by endac » Fri Nov 07, 2014 6:19 am

If you look at the pictures you can see the cutouts for the camera and the lenovo logo at the bottom. I'm pretty sure installing that model requires a new display assembly. Now that I'm testing Windows 10, I can see the use for a touch display on my little X240 but I don't think you can just straight swap the two parts :?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X230 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests