Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Replaced screen with IPS now grey bar

X230 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
applicationist
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:19 pm
Location: Marbella, Spain

Replaced screen with IPS now grey bar

#1 Post by applicationist » Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:23 pm

Just got a new IPS in the post, installed but when I use it, only a certain type of grey displays different within a vertical bar. The picture explains it better

https://imgur.com/a/tE0uzui


My thoughts are faulty LCD.. but just wondering if anyone had the same experience and it was something else !

Thanks

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Replaced screen with IPS now grey bar

#2 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:14 pm

Seems like one of the bits isn't working in that section but definitely a faulty LCD. It is too localized to be a GPU or LCD cable error. Used to get similar errors on my IPS swapped X240 with its broken LCD panel.

Replace and try again or see if the LCD is getting pressure at all in any spots but doubt it.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

applicationist
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:19 pm
Location: Marbella, Spain

Re: Replaced screen with IPS now grey bar

#3 Post by applicationist » Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:50 pm

Thanks for the reply! I send the sender some images and they sent out a replacement (No return neccesary)

The second screen had the same fault :( Sigh. I'll live with it I guess!

Geartooth
Freshman Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:35 am
Location: Ponyville, Equestria / Hong Kong

Re: Replaced screen with IPS now grey bar

#4 Post by Geartooth » Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:19 am

applicationist wrote:
Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:50 pm
Thanks for the reply! I send the sender some images and they sent out a replacement (No return neccesary)

The second screen had the same fault :( Sigh. I'll live with it I guess!
Demand a refund.
Your local Friendly Equestrian.

My Collection: X60, T60, X61, X200, X200s, X220i, T420, X130e, X240

Sold:E6320, X1C1

MacBook Air 2C4T hahaha

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19711
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Replaced screen with IPS now grey bar

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:41 am

That's beginning to look like either a bad LCD-cable or a bad motherboard.
Try that screen on another known working machine.
Try reseating the LCD-cable a few times or get another LCD-cable
Does your original (before IPS) LCD still work OK?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly! :mrgreen:
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

applicationist
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:19 pm
Location: Marbella, Spain

Re: Replaced screen with IPS now grey bar

#6 Post by applicationist » Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:41 am

yes that one works perfectly! But you might be right. I'm going to order a spare X230 anyway before they become collectors items haha so could try it in that!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X230 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests