Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

What should i do?

W530/W540/W550 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
wayi
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:12 am
Location: New York, NY

What should i do?

#1 Post by wayi » Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:20 am

I am using thinkpad W540. I have been using it for almost a year but it seems like the device catches the wifi a bit weak, should I replace the network card?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20104
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: What should i do?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:45 am

Intel AC-7260 is probably the best for it, FRU 04X6007
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

TinkerMan
Sophomore Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:02 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: What should i do?

#3 Post by TinkerMan » Fri Aug 09, 2019 1:32 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:45 am
Intel AC-7260 is probably the best for it, FRU 04X6007
Hy RBS
how does the AC 7260 compare to the Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 (3x3 AGN) ?
W530, 3630QM, 32GB, K2000M
P1, XEON 2176, 32GB ECC, P2000, IPS
X230, 3320M, 16GB, HD4000, IPS
T601F X9000, 8GB, X3100, UXGA FlexView 1600x1200
T61 14" 4:3, T9500, 8GB, NVS140M
T60 14" 4:3, T7600, 3GB, GMA950
P71, 7700HQ, 16GB, P600, IPS
X201, R61i, T430s, T43p

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20104
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: What should i do?

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Aug 10, 2019 2:46 am

The (3x3) 6300N is max 450Mbps, the (2x2) AC-7260 is max 866Mbps and also includes Bluetooth 4.0.
The above AC-7260 (when bought as a proper FRU) is officially supported in the W540 (and other xx40) frubom lists.
Also, the AC-7260 is PCIe format with standard antenna-connectors, newer cards have some M.2 format and smaller antenna-connectors.
When you upgrade to an AC-card, it would be advisable to also have an AC router.

When I originally bought mine, it was an (ASUS re-badged) T-Mobile TM-AC1900 router for only $50.
But after a (bit complicated) firmware conversion and upgrade with Merlin, it is now a real ASUS RT-AC68U, worth at least double that.

To have all the (and possibly way too much) info for (initial) AC-7260 hiccups, and how to solve them, see this long post

As I don't have/use any Bluetooth devices, I never installed any BT driver.

As for comparing 6300N vs AC-7260 I leave that to others, as I have no problems with either.
I have an X230 with 6300N, plus some X240's and a T440p with AC-7260 and an X250 with AC-7265.
Since we have FTTH (Fiber To The House) internet, we all get great wifi with average Down/Up speeds of 90/20 Mbps.
If I would throw a bit more money at my ISP, I could even get 500Mbps or 1Gbps, but who needs that?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

TinkerMan
Sophomore Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:02 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: What should i do?

#5 Post by TinkerMan » Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:14 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 2:46 am
The (3x3) 6300N is max 450Mbps, the (2x2) AC-7260 is max 866Mbps and also includes Bluetooth 4.0.
The above AC-7260 (when bought as a proper FRU) is officially supported in the W540 (and other xx40) frubom lists.
Also, the AC-7260 is PCIe format with standard antenna-connectors, newer cards have some M.2 format and smaller antenna-connectors.
When you upgrade to an AC-card, it would be advisable to also have an AC router.

As for comparing 6300N vs AC-7260 I leave that to others, as I have no problems with either.
I have an X230 with 6300N, plus some X240's and a T440p with AC-7260 and an X250 with AC-7265.
Since we have FTTH (Fiber To The House) internet, we all get great wifi with average Down/Up speeds of 90/20 Mbps.
If I would throw a bit more money at my ISP, I could even get 500Mbps or 1Gbps, but who needs that?
I was asking because I have an 6300N on my W530 and something similar on my X230, and a new AC one, 9000 series I think on my P1
the W530 and X230 modules work like a charm, good speed, fast connection, fast to find wireless connections, everything works PERFECTLY
the P 1, ....well....sometimes I feel like using it to crack nuts with it, ...The level of misery I experience with the wifi card on that machine (the P1) far far exceeds anything I experienced so far, not even the old days of 56k connections are not that traumatizing compared to this new rubbish. and I dont understand why, it was supposed to be better not worse. sometimes I can lose 5 minutes or more to manage to connect the P1 to the same wireless sources that it takes to the W530 and X230 less than 5 seconds. on many occasions, more than half the times, it requires me to manually click on connect several times, like 3 or 4 times before a connection is established, its unbelievable.
W530, 3630QM, 32GB, K2000M
P1, XEON 2176, 32GB ECC, P2000, IPS
X230, 3320M, 16GB, HD4000, IPS
T601F X9000, 8GB, X3100, UXGA FlexView 1600x1200
T61 14" 4:3, T9500, 8GB, NVS140M
T60 14" 4:3, T7600, 3GB, GMA950
P71, 7700HQ, 16GB, P600, IPS
X201, R61i, T430s, T43p

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20104
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: What should i do?

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Aug 10, 2019 11:31 am

That would be the Intel AC-9560.
Apparently a not unheard of problem.
You have 2 options:

#1: Select Start > Settings > Network & Internet > Status > Network reset > Reset now > Yes to confirm, reboot and test your wifi.

#2: Cold boot, go straight into BIOS, select F9 to set BIOS to Default, reboot and test your wifi.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W530/W540/W550 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest