Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Critical Battery Low - W530, while plugged in..

W530/W540/W541/W550 Series

Critical Battery Low - W530, while plugged in..

#1 Post by 735 » Tue Apr 14, 2020 6:16 pm

Hello,

I have a W530 that I bought new in 2013, it has served me very well, as a backup laptop - I love this machine so much that I keep it as a non-daily driver, I use it for "special events" to keep it in A+++ condition ;)

Recently, I wanted to upgrade the 3G to LTE, so I did the 1vyrain firmware hack, all of that went perfect. I was able to replace the 3G with an LTE card, and upgrade to the Intel ac wireless, fantastic..

Here now, is the question.. I started getting "critical battery, shutting down" alerts - BEFORE the 1vyrain update (so it's absolutely not related to that), while I was plugged into a 170W adapter, with a perfectly good 3 month old 9 cell battery in 99% health condition. It even does it with the slice battery (also perfect 101% health) while on AC. At first I thought it was related to CPU, it does it even when everything is close to idle, 40-45C temp on proc, and zero GPU load.

Basically when this happens, a "critical low" error is logged in the system event log, the window pops up saying "critical, battery low 0%" and then 2-3 seconds later, it disappears and all is well.

You can run the Intel Extreme "stress test" on this for hours and it won't happen, but then out of nowhere it will do it without any strain on the machine. I have noticed that it will do it on two different power bricks, a 135W and a 170W, so it's not related to that either.

I am running Windows 10 for Workstations, and have the following spec:

i7 3740qm
4 x 8GB Hynix 12800S, not L
2 x Samsung PM863 960G SSD, one in Ultrabay, one internal
1 x LTE MC7710 WWAN
1 x AC7260 intel wifi
K1000M Quadro