Moving SSD from T520 to T470

Windows 10 on Lenovo hardware
Post Reply
Message
Author
dhave
Freshman Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#1 Post by dhave » Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:52 am

(1) My wife runs Windows 10 Pro on her aging T520. It has a 500Gb SSD (SATA, of course).

(2) She's getting a new T470. We bought it with a SATA hd so that I could replace the hd with the SSD from her T520.

(3) I had been thinking I could just pull the hd from the T470, plug in the SSD taken from her T520, reboot, let Windows 10 find the drivers it needs, and Bob's your uncle.

What's wrong with this picture?

[I know this is Windows question more than a TP question, but I have more confidence in the answers I get here than what I might find elsewhere.]

Thanks.
T21, T41p, T61p (two), T420, T520

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#2 Post by MikalE » Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:38 am

You might have to authenticate Windows again. I don't know what sort of anti-piracy crap MS has built into Windows 10 so I don't know if it will authenticate on a different machine.

Anyone else?
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win10 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6968
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#3 Post by dr_st » Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:41 am

MikalE wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:38 am
You might have to authenticate Windows again. I don't know what sort of anti-piracy crap MS has built into Windows 10 so I don't know if it will authenticate on a different machine.
The same anti-piracy crap that was built into any version of Windows since Vista, essentially. I don't recall anything significant changing in that regard.

However, that T470 should have the license and the SLIC tables to legally run Win10, so even if it requests reactivation, it should be easy to do over the net or the phone with Microsoft.
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

dhave
Freshman Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#4 Post by dhave » Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:46 am

Thanks, MikalE and dr_st.

I have the product key for the Win 10 Pro installation on the T520, so I should be O.K. Also, that license came with standalone copy of Windows; i.e., it wasn't an OEM pre-installation or whatever.

Apart from licensing and activation hurdles, do you foresee any technical problems?

I'd like to think that Windows 10 could recognize the different hardware environment and pull in any drivers it needs. That may be wishful thinking.
T21, T41p, T61p (two), T420, T520

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6968
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#5 Post by dr_st » Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:56 am

It should work fine with the basic things. Whatever it cannot pull, you should be able to install manually from Lenovo's site, or Intel's site. It should not crash like XP does when the IDE controller changes under it.
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

dhave
Freshman Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#6 Post by dhave » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:02 am

dr_st wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:56 am
It should work fine with the basic things. Whatever it cannot pull, you should be able to install manually from Lenovo's site, or Intel's site. It should not crash like XP does when the IDE controller changes under it.
That's very encouraging to hear. Thank you.

I realized that, while I've done a number of migrations to a new drive on the same Thinkpad, only twice have I moved a drive with its Windows installation from one Thinkpad to another, and that's been a while.
T21, T41p, T61p (two), T420, T520

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#7 Post by MikalE » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:28 am

The Lenovo updater should find any drivers that Windows misses.
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win10 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

dhave
Freshman Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#8 Post by dhave » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:43 am

A user on the Lenovo forum said that it should be as simple as I described in my first post *if* I set the T470 to boot legacy BIOS and not UEFI. The T520 is set to boot legacy BIOS.

Opinions? Thank you.
T21, T41p, T61p (two), T420, T520

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6968
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#9 Post by dr_st » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:45 am

dhave wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:43 am
*if* I set the T470 to boot legacy BIOS and not UEFI
That part is true. UEFI and Legacy boot configurations are not interchangeable.
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

dhave
Freshman Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Re: Moving SSD from T520 to T470

#10 Post by dhave » Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:07 am

Thanks again, MikalE and dr_st, for your helpful replies. My wife isn't actually getting the T470 until Christmas, so I've got a few days to plan. Your info was invaluable.
T21, T41p, T61p (two), T420, T520

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest