Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Older Thinkpads

Windows 10 on Lenovo hardware
Post Reply
Message
Author
thealphaoverseer
Freshman Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:10 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Older Thinkpads

#1 Post by thealphaoverseer » Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:57 am

Hi Everyone!
How do I install Windows 10 on older Thinkpads?

cadillacmike68
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Older Thinkpads

#2 Post by cadillacmike68 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:43 am

How old?

I have a T60 with W10, but I didn't install it. I have heard of folks putting it on a T43.

What I would do (if the machine can take W10) is have the system running with W7 or W8/8.1, go to the ms site and DL the (still) free W10 package, burn it to disc, boot it and install. OR install directly onto the HDD.

Of course I will have a back up image of the HDD prior to doing this, and preferably have the backup already restored to another HDD and verified to boot and run.

When working with your only laptop, you need to make sure you have a fallback. If you only have a single machine, you need to be careful and approach it methodically.

With a dozen or more here, I could give a rat's 4th point of contact if an install gets FUBAR'd, other than the wasted time which is still a major aggravation to me, but it won't leave me out in the lurch.
600, 600X
760LD FUBARd
T21 2647 T22 2647 1@ 1GHz SXGA+ 4 more; T23 2647 1@ 1.2GHz SXGA+ 3 more
T30 2366-88U 2GHz; 2366-83U 1.8G; 5@ 2366-LU0/66U; 2367-KU6 FUBARd
T41 T42 T43
T61 8897 2.4GHz SXGA+; 8898 2.4Ghz; 6463 2@ WSXGA+; 7658 2.5GHz; T61p; 6 more T61s
T500 2
T530 W530

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1869
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Older Thinkpads

#3 Post by kfzhu1229 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:57 pm

The oldest ThinkPads that would start up the setup of (at least some versions) of Windows 10 are the ThinkPad X41 series and T43/R52 series.
The X41 series and T43/R52 series with only the intel GMA graphics CANNOT give you a working graphics driver in Windows 8 and up though. The ATi chip in the T43/R52 series with ATI graphics only works fully with Windows 10 x86 up to 1607. 1703 and 1709 will give you unusable video playback performance and bogs the system down quite a bit more, and 1803 and later will throw you a BSOD when booting up Windows setup.
The X/T/R60 series should work with the latest 2004 version and x64 will work too only if you have a Core 2 duo CPU installed. But with the 3GB ThinkPad RAM limitation on those models x64 is not recommended.
The X/T/R61 series and later should fully work with Windows 10 2004 x86 or x64 provided you at least have the minimum requirements amount of RAM for the edition you are installing.
If you already have Windows 7 SP1 or 8.1 with Update, just run mediacreationtool on those and upgrade them to Windows 10 that way for you to get a genuine Windows 10 license. Then reinstall Windows 10 to get rid of all the bloat from a major OS upgrade (your system should activate automatically as soon as it is connected to the internet provided you are reinstalling the same edition (home or pro).
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

thealphaoverseer
Freshman Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:10 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Older Thinkpads

#4 Post by thealphaoverseer » Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:08 pm

Thanks for the tips. I realised it was the installation disk, not the laptop's fault. I was trying to install it on a SL410k. However, it runs both W10 and W7 ridiculously slow (with only 2GB of RAM), do you think Windows XP is a good idea before the RAM I ordered gets delivered?

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1869
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Older Thinkpads

#5 Post by kfzhu1229 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:04 pm

Windows 7 and 10 32 bit should work just fine by itsel with 2gb of ram, just forget about multitasking until the ram arrives
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

MikalE
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Older Thinkpads

#6 Post by MikalE » Wed Jul 08, 2020 9:26 am

I have a Core 2 Duo E4400 Acer tower running a 32 bit copy of Win 7 with 2 GB of ram. It runs along just fine if I'm not running WX radar, You Tube videos, and have ten tabs open all at the same time.

It isn't really powerful enough to multi-task, but one program at a time runs very well on a clean system.

That tower used to be my main flight sim computer running three monitors for outside visuals and cockpit displays. It was running XP Pro back then and did a pretty good job with frame rates hovering around 30, which was really all that was needed as the eye can't distinguish anything higher than about 24 or 25 FPS.
A31p P-IV 2Ghz, 2MB, 2653-R6U
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7QM 4242-4UU Highly Modified

thealphaoverseer
Freshman Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:10 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Older Thinkpads

#7 Post by thealphaoverseer » Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:11 pm

Nice. Was it Microsoft Flight Simulator? I've also tried IL2 Sturmovik, and it is amazing what computers at that time could do...

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests