Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

XP and the WGA

Operating System, Common Application & ThinkPad Utilities Questions...
Post Reply
Message
Author
jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

XP and the WGA

#1 Post by jronald » Sun May 11, 2014 6:11 am

I installed a slipstream with a known good Serial of XP. The box says it is activated, so how do I get rid of the WGA pop up box?

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

Thinkpads4Life
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:20 pm
Location: Albion, Michigan

Re: XP and the WGA

#2 Post by Thinkpads4Life » Sun May 11, 2014 7:02 am

Just google it. There's a patch out there.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: XP and the WGA

#3 Post by jronald » Sun May 11, 2014 9:16 am

I see plenty of hacks, not what Im trying to do. I would like to fix it. The serial is legit.

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7540
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: XP and the WGA

#4 Post by dr_st » Sun May 11, 2014 9:40 am

Then call Microsoft and the should be able to fix it / issue you an activation code on the phone.

Or have they stopped supporting XP activation? (I don't think so)
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG, X61 7673-V2V
T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

Thinkpads4Life
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:20 pm
Location: Albion, Michigan

Re: XP and the WGA

#5 Post by Thinkpads4Life » Sun May 11, 2014 11:51 am

I solved the problem by patching my copy. Its been working since I first burned it.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: XP and the WGA

#6 Post by jronald » Wed May 14, 2014 7:09 am

So I changed the slip stream to delete the auto-input serial.
Manually added the serial at the correct time, and no WGA. Go figure.

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows OS (Versions prior to Windows 7)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests