XP and the WGA

Operating System, Common Application & ThinkPad Utilities Questions...
Post Reply
Message
Author
jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1799
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

XP and the WGA

#1 Post by jronald » Sun May 11, 2014 6:11 am

I installed a slipstream with a known good Serial of XP. The box says it is activated, so how do I get rid of the WGA pop up box?

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

Thinkpads4Life
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:20 pm
Location: Albion, Michigan

Re: XP and the WGA

#2 Post by Thinkpads4Life » Sun May 11, 2014 7:02 am

Just google it. There's a patch out there.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1799
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: XP and the WGA

#3 Post by jronald » Sun May 11, 2014 9:16 am

I see plenty of hacks, not what Im trying to do. I would like to fix it. The serial is legit.

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6959
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: XP and the WGA

#4 Post by dr_st » Sun May 11, 2014 9:40 am

Then call Microsoft and the should be able to fix it / issue you an activation code on the phone.

Or have they stopped supporting XP activation? (I don't think so)
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

Thinkpads4Life
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:20 pm
Location: Albion, Michigan

Re: XP and the WGA

#5 Post by Thinkpads4Life » Sun May 11, 2014 11:51 am

I solved the problem by patching my copy. Its been working since I first burned it.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1799
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: XP and the WGA

#6 Post by jronald » Wed May 14, 2014 7:09 am

So I changed the slip stream to delete the auto-input serial.
Manually added the serial at the correct time, and no WGA. Go figure.

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows OS (Versions prior to Windows 7)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests