Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

Operating System, Common Application & ThinkPad Utilities Questions...
Post Reply
Message
Author
Mike Pickwick
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Covington, Virginia

Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#1 Post by Mike Pickwick » Tue Dec 16, 2014 5:59 pm

I need to use an external monitor in a vertical orientation for a word procession project. I have looked, but don't see any way of rotating the screen using XP Pro. Am I just missing it, or do I need another OS? Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm new, so any errors in my post, please advise.

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2931
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#2 Post by Neil » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:11 pm

Welcome to thinkpads.com!

Your graphics adapter's utility should include that ability. In my case the nVidia control panel has a "Rotate display" setting. Don't think it matters what OS one is using.
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P - 600E

Mike Pickwick
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Covington, Virginia

Re: Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#3 Post by Mike Pickwick » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:28 pm

Thanks Nell, for the help. I will check it out again. I don't currently have an external monitor attached, but when it gets here and is hooked up, is it possible that I'll see additional choices?

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2931
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#4 Post by Neil » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:40 pm

Maybe....but probably not. What ThinkPad model are we talking about here? You should be able to rotate the internal LCD display even without an external monitor attached.
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P - 600E

Mike Pickwick
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Covington, Virginia

Re: Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#5 Post by Mike Pickwick » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:04 pm

OK Nell, sorry about the lack of info. I'm using a T60 2007-5Cu which has an ATI Mobility Radeon X1300 adapter. I'm using the Display Properties (right click on the screen method) to get to the "Settings" screen. When I select 2 monitors, I do get additional resolutions, but that's about it. I have a plan to buy a Advanced Dock (2503-10u I believe) along with the wide screen monitor. As I understand it, the dock provides an upgrade to the graphics capabilities by itself, and if that is not enough, it will accomodate a PCIe card slot for further upgrade purposes.

BTW this is to be a single purpose machine to be used for audio recording of single track voice overs, audiobooks, and so forth. The monitor provides a larger screen for reading text in full page mode.

Thanks so much for helping me get a handle on this!

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2931
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#6 Post by Neil » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:34 pm

I don't think the Windows display properties allows for advanced settings on it's own. But, I'm pretty sure the ATI control center (accessible through the Windows properties, usually advanced settings) does offer what you're looking for. I'm not on my T60 right now, but will check later if need be.

Also, I don't think a dock adds anything on it's own unless you have another graphics card installed. However, I don't think you will need anything other than the internal X1300 adapter to do what you want.
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P - 600E

Mike Pickwick
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Covington, Virginia

Re: Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#7 Post by Mike Pickwick » Tue Dec 16, 2014 8:44 pm

Nell, I don't have the ATI utility that you spoke of on my system. I recently had some problems with the hard drive and a local shop, while trying to install the restore disks I had purchased, found them to be defective and installed a "clean" copy of Win XP Pro.
I'm downloading the utility now and will work on getting that installed to see if that resolves the issue. Thank you very much for your help tonight. I'll post again when I get this thing downloaded and working.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18089
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:04 am

FYI: you're communicating with Mr. Neil, not Miss Nell. :wink:

Mike Pickwick
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Covington, Virginia

Re: Screen Rotation w/ XP Pro SP3

#9 Post by Mike Pickwick » Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:02 pm

Thanks to all, especially "Mr Neil". With the ATI utility properly installed, all is well.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows OS (Versions prior to Windows 7)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GMGolds and 2 guests