Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

Operating System, Common Application & ThinkPad Utilities Questions...
Post Reply
Message
Author
MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#1 Post by MikalE » Thu Sep 15, 2016 4:58 pm

I got this computer given to me by my sister several years ago when she upgraded. It had XP Pro on it and I cleaned it up and used it as a WideView machine for my 727 flight simulator for a side window view.

I decided to dig it out of the spare room and see what was up with it. It booted fine, a little slow.

I then wanted to see how much OS it could handle with a single-core processor.

Windows 7 HP was very laggy and slow to respond to most menu opening, start menu, selections in pop up boxes etc. I couldn't change the monitor resolution and it was stuck at 800x600. THis wasn't working out too well. I also lost the audio drivers with no replacement to be found.

I loaded up Linux Mint and Zorin one at a time, but lost the Ethernet drivers and there were none to be found. I screwed around with this for two days before giving up on Linux for this machine.

I went through my .iso's and found a Vista HP to load up. Surprisingly, it runs very well. No lag, updates were fairly quick. Resolution problems, audio driver, and ethernet driver problems went away. I'm actually pretty impressed that this 14 year old machine is running this well with Vista.

So now, what do I do with a machine of this vintage?

I thought about using it 24/7 as my weather radar computer, or as a music system, or, ???

Any other ideas?
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win10 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1426
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:44 am

For something that old, I'm a bit wary of running it 24/7 without some maintenance, like lubricating the fan shaft and replacing the thermal paste.

For playing music, it's not energy efficient IMO. I'd rather buy a cheap, second-hand smartphone for that.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18051
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:52 am

Any laptop with AMD CPU should be avoided like the plague.
They run way too hot for comfort.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#4 Post by MikalE » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:13 am

This is a mini-tower desktop unit.
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win10 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1426
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#5 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Sep 16, 2016 11:19 am

Is that an AM2 processor? If yes, you can probably upgrade it to an Athlon 64 X2 to get a little more ooomph.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#6 Post by MikalE » Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:16 pm

Yes, I read up on that. It is an AM2 socket otherwise known as 939. It will take the Athlon 64 processor. I might be on the lookout for one.

I think if I upgrade the processor I'll probably end up selling the machine. There is a family that is need of a school computer but don't have a lot of money.

I'm not going to just give it away, but I'm not going to charge them much either.

I also purchased a brand new refurbisher copy of Vista Ultimate last night on FLeabay for the amazing sum of $10.50 to load up on this machine.

Who knows? I may keep it myself.
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win10 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1426
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#7 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:40 pm

Socket 939 and AM2 are different, and incompatible. The former uses DDR1, while the latter uses DDR2 RAM.
You can download and run CPU-Z to determine what memory type it uses, and the exact CPU model as well. :D
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#8 Post by MikalE » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:49 am

You're right. They are not the same. It is an AM2 socket that is on the board.
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win10 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1426
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Old Compaq Presario AMD Sempron 3200+

#9 Post by axur-delmeria » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:19 pm

It is an AM2 socket that is on the board.
Sweet. It's probably upgradable up to Brisbane (65nm) Athlon 64 X2. OTOH you can also check HP's website to see what processors similar Presario models had. You can also google its motherboard's model name and see if anything comes up.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows OS (Versions prior to Windows 7)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests