Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X210s

Old(er) Thinkpads with New(er) Intestines: X62 / T50 / T70 / etc.
Message
Author
RushNY
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:15 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: X210s

#31 Post by RushNY » Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:01 pm

greenblob wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:51 pm
Just a quick report: Suspend/wake issues seem to have been resolved since updating to the new BIOS.
Can confirm this too, I have been testing for a couple days and haven't experienced any issues. Sorry I had been meaning to post an update here about it but I kept forgetting.
Current: 51NB X210 - i5-8250U 4C/8T | 32GB DDR4 2400 | 500GB 960 EVO | WUXGA
Collection: T400 - C2D P9600 | 8GB DDR3 1600 | WXGA+ | Libreboot
Past: X230 - i5-3210M | 8GB DDR3 1600 | X220 KB | Coreboot

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#32 Post by m000 » Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:22 am

So, I managed to get the intel 620 HD drivers (21.20.16.4552 - eg, the regular kaby lake 620 drivers, actual drivers for the "UHD 620" Kaby Lake R don't exist in the package) force-installed in Windows 8.1 by editing the .inf file.

Everything seems to work otherwise, except that if you try to use hardware acceleration for videos (intel or DXVA, doesn't matter) it crashes whatever program you're trying to run with an igdimdum32/64.dll -error :(.

I've also tried forcing the win10-only package drivers to install (that actually come packaged with Kayby Lake R UHD 620 drivers) via .inf editing, but so far the install refuses to finish, citing some error when trying to installing a service. Would be nice if you could track down at which point the install actually fails, to see if you could do something about it...

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#33 Post by m000 » Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:54 am

Also, if anyone wants to get a classic Thinkpad-esque battery meter into their taskbar on windows, check out BatteryBar.

The free version lacks any kind of customization (so you have to be content with the default settings), but is otherwise" fully functional".

RushNY
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:15 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: X210s

#34 Post by RushNY » Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:54 am

m000 wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:54 am
Also, if anyone wants to get a classic Thinkpad-esque battery meter into their taskbar on windows, check out BatteryBar.

The free version lacks any kind of customization (so you have to be content with the default settings), but is otherwise" fully functional".
Battery bar is a great hidden gem of a program, I bought that license 8 years ago and I'm glad to see it's still kicking although the most recent update was 3 years ago.
Current: 51NB X210 - i5-8250U 4C/8T | 32GB DDR4 2400 | 500GB 960 EVO | WUXGA
Collection: T400 - C2D P9600 | 8GB DDR3 1600 | WXGA+ | Libreboot
Past: X230 - i5-3210M | 8GB DDR3 1600 | X220 KB | Coreboot

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#35 Post by m000 » Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:45 pm

Edit: Initial celebration came a bit too early - the driver I used here previously unfortunately had occasional tearing problems (eg. buttons on webpages), but worse, it gave you a blank screen on resuming from suspend/hibernate (on hibernate it would show the bios logo and loading screen, but on loading windows, the screen would then turn off :( )

Original post below edited to reflect current changes:

Alright, so I finally got video drivers installed and not crashing - downloaded the 22.20.16.4691 from here. These actually have deviceId 5917 listed in them in the win10 section, and still has empty header sections for the win8/7. This one is an official production-release driver, but as always, use at own risk.

The only modifications I did was to add the line

%iKBLULTGT2R% = iKBLD_w10, PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_5917

under the section

[IntelGfx.NTamd64.6.3]

in igdlh64.inf.

I also changed AddReg = igfx_SoftwareDX12Settings to AddReg = igfx_SoftwareDX11Settings under section [iKBLD_w10]

Disable driver signing (choose restart with left shift-key down, then go to advanced startup options, and chose turn off driver signature check - nr. 7 in the boot options on reboot, install. Enjoy HW-accelerated videos and 3rd graphics.

Still came across a couple teared square elements on some web pages, but these are much rare now compared to the previous version i used. Will try to experiment with the later versions more, but the few I tried so far I could unfortunately not get to work properly - they install fine, but then the driver fails to load for what ever reason. This driver also lits the adapter correctly as "UHD 620".
Last edited by m000 on Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

csioucs
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: X210s

#36 Post by csioucs » Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:47 pm

harryK, Do you mind also telling us of how is the battery life?
current: TPY 370, X1 Tablet
retiring: FHD T420s,
active retirement: X61T. Watching: X301 (wife's). passive retirement: T60p. reretired: T60, X31, T30, 380E

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#37 Post by m000 » Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:45 pm

FWIW I get about 5½ hours on a 6-cell battery with a 19% wear level (Max charge 56 Wh) - so assuming a fresh battery, I'd expect 6½+ hours with a similar use profile.

This is with mainly writing text in word, WLAN on, some light web surfing, screen at ~50% brightness, and a Samsung 850 pro SATA SSD in the drive bay slot (default MS driver).


Maybe not the most amazing runtime compared to modern off-the-shelf contemporaries like the newer X1's, but considering I IIRC got roughly 3 hours on the same battery on the X201, I'm not complaining :D

greenblob
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:44 pm
Location: Bloomington, Indiana

Re: X210s

#38 Post by greenblob » Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:12 pm

I have a fresh 9 cell battery, and Ubuntu reports 101.8 Wh, although I'm not sure if that value is reliable. The same Power Statistics application reports 5.5 W when idling using my usual preferred screen brightness (which, to be fair, is quite low) and around 7 W at max brightness. So the idle battery life should be around 18.5 hours. But in real world use, I seem to be getting around 8 hours on a charge. It's usable, but very disappointing.

harryK
Freshman Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: X210s

#39 Post by harryK » Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:44 am

I get 4 hours on the small 4 cell battery, 8/9 on the 6 cell. For some reason power consumption seems higher with the 4 cell battery. Could it be because of the higher voltage? (14.4v the 4 cell, 11v the 6 cell).

My machine idles a little below 5w with the 4 cell, a little below 4 with the 6 cell (3.8W). I keep brightness fairly low though (4/15).

To get maximum power saving it's crucial that people install the r8168 module and blacklist r8169, as the latter doesn't support ASPM. Also, ASPM has to be manually switched on in the BIOS for all PCI lanes, as well as DevSleep if you use an AHCI/SATA ssd.

While ASPM itself saves *a bit* of power, from Skylake onwards, unless ALL devices access the ASPM L1 power state, the processor is prevented from accessing its own low power states (i.e. sub PC3 states). Therefore it's crucial to have ASPM available and enabled. Check with:

Code: Select all

sudo lspci -vv | grep -i lnkctl:
		LnkCtl:	ASPM L1 Enabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- CommClk+
		LnkCtl:	ASPM L1 Enabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- CommClk+
		LnkCtl:	ASPM L1 Enabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- CommClk+
		LnkCtl:	ASPM L1 Enabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- CommClk+
Here's the relevant part of my kernel boot string.
acpi_backlight=video i915.enable_dc=2 i915.edp_vswing=1 i915.enable_hangcheck=N i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_rc6=1 i915.enable_fbc=1 i915.enable_dpcd_backlight=Y i915.semaphores=1 i915.fastboot=1 i915.verbose_state_checks=N nmi_watchdog=0 drm.vblankoffdelay=1 snd_hda_intel.power_save=1 snd_hda_intel.power_save_controller=Y intel_pstate=active scsi_mod.use_blk_mq=Y libahci.devslp_idle_timeout=10 libahci.ignore_sss=1 libahci.skip_host_reset=1 iwlwifi.lar_disable=Y iwlwifi.bt_coex_active=N iwlwifi.d0i3_disable=N iwlwifi.disable_11ac=N iwlwifi.d0i3_timeout=30 iwlwifi.power_save=Y iwlwifi.power_level=5 iwlwifi.uapsd_disable=0 iwlmvm.power_scheme=3 drm_kms_helper.poll="N" acpi_osi="Linux" rw r8168.aspm=1 r8168.s5wol=0 r8168.eee_enable=1 r8168.s0_magic_packet=0 r8168.hwoptimize=1 r8168.debug=0
Here's my tlp.conf

Code: Select all

+++ Configured Settings: /etc/default/tlp
TLP_ENABLE=1
TLP_DEFAULT_MODE=AC
TLP_PERSISTENT_DEFAULT=0
DISK_IDLE_SECS_ON_AC=0
DISK_IDLE_SECS_ON_BAT=2
MAX_LOST_WORK_SECS_ON_AC=15
MAX_LOST_WORK_SECS_ON_BAT=60
CPU_SCALING_GOVERNOR_ON_AC=performance
CPU_SCALING_GOVERNOR_ON_BAT=powersave
CPU_HWP_ON_AC=balance_performance
CPU_HWP_ON_BAT=power
SCHED_POWERSAVE_ON_AC=0
SCHED_POWERSAVE_ON_BAT=1
NMI_WATCHDOG=0
ENERGY_PERF_POLICY_ON_AC=balance-performance
ENERGY_PERF_POLICY_ON_BAT=power
DISK_DEVICES="sda"
DISK_APM_LEVEL_ON_AC="254"
DISK_APM_LEVEL_ON_BAT="12"
SATA_LINKPWR_ON_AC="max_performance"
SATA_LINKPWR_ON_BAT="min_power"
AHCI_RUNTIME_PM_ON_AC=on
AHCI_RUNTIME_PM_ON_BAT=on
AHCI_RUNTIME_PM_TIMEOUT=20
PCIE_ASPM_ON_AC=performance
PCIE_ASPM_ON_BAT=powersupersave
RADEON_POWER_PROFILE_ON_AC=high
RADEON_POWER_PROFILE_ON_BAT=low
RADEON_DPM_STATE_ON_AC=performance
RADEON_DPM_STATE_ON_BAT=battery
RADEON_DPM_PERF_LEVEL_ON_AC=auto
RADEON_DPM_PERF_LEVEL_ON_BAT=auto
WIFI_PWR_ON_AC=off
WIFI_PWR_ON_BAT=on
WOL_DISABLE=Y
SOUND_POWER_SAVE_ON_AC=1
SOUND_POWER_SAVE_ON_BAT=1
SOUND_POWER_SAVE_CONTROLLER=Y
BAY_POWEROFF_ON_AC=0
BAY_POWEROFF_ON_BAT=0
BAY_DEVICE="sr0"
RUNTIME_PM_ON_AC=on
RUNTIME_PM_ON_BAT=auto
USB_AUTOSUSPEND=1
USB_BLACKLIST_BTUSB=0
USB_BLACKLIST_PHONE=0
USB_BLACKLIST_PRINTER=1
USB_BLACKLIST_WWAN=0
RESTORE_DEVICE_STATE_ON_STARTUP=0
Ok. I posted twice as well...... Sorry Thanks mods.

greenblob
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:44 pm
Location: Bloomington, Indiana

Re: X210s

#40 Post by greenblob » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:48 am

Have you managed to get powertop to report power draw?

harryK
Freshman Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: X210s

#41 Post by harryK » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:59 am

greenblob wrote:
Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:48 am
Have you managed to get powertop to report power draw?
Nope. Check with 'upower -d'

RushNY
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:15 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: X210s

#42 Post by RushNY » Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:14 pm

Had success changing the BIOS splash image after seeing this thread: https://forum.51nb.com/forum.php?mod=vi ... id=1820225

https://imgur.com/HLQ4KMT

I noticed the BIOS used on the T70 was the same type so I went for it and all steps were the same. Original splash image is 800x600 8-bit 256 color so just save the image within those parameters and it'll work fine.
Current: 51NB X210 - i5-8250U 4C/8T | 32GB DDR4 2400 | 500GB 960 EVO | WUXGA
Collection: T400 - C2D P9600 | 8GB DDR3 1600 | WXGA+ | Libreboot
Past: X230 - i5-3210M | 8GB DDR3 1600 | X220 KB | Coreboot

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#43 Post by m000 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:50 am

harryK wrote:
Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:44 am
Also, ASPM has to be manually switched on in the BIOS for all PCI lanes, as well as DevSleep if you use an AHCI/SATA ssd.
Under which subsection does one find these settings? I tried poking around for a good while, but couldn't seem to find anything :(


Batterybar estimates 6-7 W power consumption on idle for me, and ~8-9w+ if I actually use the machine in any manner (like running a browser with many background tabs and typing this message), on the low power plan @50% screen brightness. Your numbers are remarkably better, but it could of course also be an OS issue... :v

harryK
Freshman Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: X210s

#44 Post by harryK » Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:47 am

m000 wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:50 am
harryK wrote:
Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:44 am
Also, ASPM has to be manually switched on in the BIOS for all PCI lanes, as well as DevSleep if you use an AHCI/SATA ssd.
Under which subsection does one find these settings? I tried poking around for a good while, but couldn't seem to find anything :(
viewtopic.php?p=814005#p814005

Tyruiop
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: X210s

#45 Post by Tyruiop » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:54 am

RushNY wrote:
Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:14 pm
Had success changing the BIOS splash image after seeing this thread: https://forum.51nb.com/forum.php?mod=vi ... id=1820225

https://imgur.com/HLQ4KMT

I noticed the BIOS used on the T70 was the same type so I went for it and all steps were the same. Original splash image is 800x600 8-bit 256 color so just save the image within those parameters and it'll work fine.
I saw your message on IRC, this is great! I just have to find a way to make it work for linux (plus I didn't enable UEFI, did you?)

RushNY
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:15 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: X210s

#46 Post by RushNY » Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:17 am

Tyruiop wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:54 am
RushNY wrote:
Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:14 pm
Had success changing the BIOS splash image after seeing this thread: https://forum.51nb.com/forum.php?mod=vi ... id=1820225

https://imgur.com/HLQ4KMT

I noticed the BIOS used on the T70 was the same type so I went for it and all steps were the same. Original splash image is 800x600 8-bit 256 color so just save the image within those parameters and it'll work fine.
I saw your message on IRC, this is great! I just have to find a way to make it work for linux (plus I didn't enable UEFI, did you?)
Last time I tried to enable UEFI I get sent right back into BIOS :?

Edit: Doh that's how it's supposed to work, UEFI is working fine with a clean UEFI Arch install.
Last edited by RushNY on Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Current: 51NB X210 - i5-8250U 4C/8T | 32GB DDR4 2400 | 500GB 960 EVO | WUXGA
Collection: T400 - C2D P9600 | 8GB DDR3 1600 | WXGA+ | Libreboot
Past: X230 - i5-3210M | 8GB DDR3 1600 | X220 KB | Coreboot

Tyruiop
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: X210s

#47 Post by Tyruiop » Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:58 am

RushNY: could you upload your BMP file for the splashscreen? I tried with yours (from the imgur gallery you made) as well as https://tyruiop.org/~tyruiop/moebius_8.bmp to no avail, the bios simply doesn't display the images.. any idea why?

Edit: on a more positive note, it seems that the SATA hot swap works like a charm

RushNY
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:15 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: X210s

#48 Post by RushNY » Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:36 am

Here are the converted images uploaded to Mega to preserve format:

X210 Classic Style: https://mega.nz/#!N0JEQSyD!oJ3srTvtt9Z8 ... xFT-KJ4978

Tyruiop Ship: https://mega.nz/#!R15xAbKb!8yP_03R5U_s6 ... d-XgjZOofQ

Need to save the logo.bmp as 8 bit 256 color or they won't work.
Current: 51NB X210 - i5-8250U 4C/8T | 32GB DDR4 2400 | 500GB 960 EVO | WUXGA
Collection: T400 - C2D P9600 | 8GB DDR3 1600 | WXGA+ | Libreboot
Past: X230 - i5-3210M | 8GB DDR3 1600 | X220 KB | Coreboot

Tyruiop
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: X210s

#49 Post by Tyruiop » Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:43 pm

It works! Thank you very much RushNY

Note, if somebody on linux has any idea how to convert images properly? So far, using imagemagick, I tried

Code: Select all

convert orig.png -colors 8 -depth 8 -type palette bmp3:target.bmp
and variants but I can't get the "proper" file size.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19511
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X210s

#50 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:30 pm


Tremek
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Centennial, CO

Re: X210s

#51 Post by Tremek » Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:33 pm

Hi guys, I want to get an x210 kit and follow in these footsteps. It seems ridiculously obscure as to how to buy a kit: how do I get in line or whatever? This is harder than buying drugs.

RushNY
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:15 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: X210s

#52 Post by RushNY » Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:38 pm

Tremek wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:33 pm
Hi guys, I want to get an x210 kit and follow in these footsteps. It seems ridiculously obscure as to how to buy a kit: how do I get in line or whatever? This is harder than buying drugs.
Honestly I think the only thing you can do is wait until Jacky responds, unless some other exporter shows up but I don't know of any alternatives right now.
Current: 51NB X210 - i5-8250U 4C/8T | 32GB DDR4 2400 | 500GB 960 EVO | WUXGA
Collection: T400 - C2D P9600 | 8GB DDR3 1600 | WXGA+ | Libreboot
Past: X230 - i5-3210M | 8GB DDR3 1600 | X220 KB | Coreboot

Tyruiop
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: X210s

#53 Post by Tyruiop » Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:55 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:30 pm
Maybe this helps?
https://alternativeto.net/software/irfa ... form=linux
Thanks!

Turns out I'm an idiot and there is the -compress none option in imagemagick, I simply didn't know about it..

So linux users:

Code: Select all

convert orig_img -colors 8 -compress none logo.bmp
should work

Tyruiop
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: X210s

#54 Post by Tyruiop » Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:54 am

Some news from Jacky:

The 2560x1700 screen modification (discussed on irc) is not possible for the x210, because
1:X210 motherboard cannot support this voltage.
2: The size of the need to cut off too many circuits and indicators, we can
not fully modified him.
And they are making a second batch of x210 motherboards that apparently will be better than the previous batch. I might grab one as backup in case mine dies. I will first ask how is it improved though.

harryK
Freshman Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: X210s

#55 Post by harryK » Sun Mar 04, 2018 5:11 am

Tyruiop wrote:
Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:54 am
I will first ask how is it improved though.
1, SIM card slot to replace the Nano standard size, in order to adapt to the mainstream SIM card installation;
2, 2.5 inch hard drive interface out to 1mm, in order to more easily install 2.5-inch hard drive;
3, M.2 interface is fully compatible with SATA standard (previously also supported but not complete, resulting in some compatibility issues);
4, adjust the power IC near the components to better prevent installation pressure;
5, some other details are perfect.

https://translate.googleusercontent.com ... eoXdPBHfgg

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#56 Post by m000 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:22 am

harryK wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:47 am
m000 wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:50 am


Under which subsection does one find these settings? I tried poking around for a good while, but couldn't seem to find anything :(
viewtopic.php?p=814005#p814005
Thanks, don't know how I missed that.


In other news, utilizing ThrottleStop, i noticed that my machine never went below Package C-state 2. Trying to replicate somebody's elses' solution to the problem, I replaced the standard MS SATA/AHCI driver with the Intel SATA/AHCI driver from here. You want the f6flpy-x64.zip, and then just manually replace the driver via device manager. Afterwards, enjoy package C-state3 also:

Image

Still not going below 3, but I assume that is because of the BIOS, as there are no deeper package state options even listed there?


This change seems to have dropped CPU package idle minimum power consumption from ~1.3-1.5w to 1.0-1.1w in my case.

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#57 Post by m000 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:56 am

Seems like the 2nd batch of motherboards is going into production ?

Does anyone know if there are any specific requirements to order these, or could you just use a generic Taobao/china agent if you'd want a spare?

greenblob
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:44 pm
Location: Bloomington, Indiana

Re: X210s

#58 Post by greenblob » Thu Mar 08, 2018 12:58 pm

m000 wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:22 am
harryK wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:47 am


viewtopic.php?p=814005#p814005
Thanks, don't know how I missed that.

In other news, utilizing ThrottleStop, i noticed that my machine never went below Package C-state 2. Trying to replicate somebody's elses' solution to the problem, I replaced the standard MS SATA/AHCI driver with the Intel SATA/AHCI driver from here. You want the f6flpy-x64.zip, and then just manually replace the driver via device manager. Afterwards, enjoy package C-state3 also:

Still not going below 3, but I assume that is because of the BIOS, as there are no deeper package state options even listed there?

This change seems to have dropped CPU package idle minimum power consumption from ~1.3-1.5w to 1.0-1.1w in my case.
Is that after applying the BIOS settings?

In Ubuntu, powertop reports that it's reaching package c-state 10. But I'm not sure if that's a reliable report.

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#59 Post by m000 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 12:54 pm

Yes, it is after applying all the BIOS settings mentioned in this thread :/ Don't recall changing anything myself besides those.

greenblob
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:44 pm
Location: Bloomington, Indiana

Re: X210s

#60 Post by greenblob » Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:36 pm

Huh, okay.

This is what powertop tells me:

https://i.imgur.com/lsUvuRR.png

But I'm not sure if it's accurate.


ADMIN warning: Picture WAY too big, tags removed.
Please read Forum Rules, especially Section 5:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14339

Post Reply

Return to “51nb and other modded Thinkpads”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests