Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X210s

Old(er) Thinkpads with New(er) Intestines: X62 / T50 / T70 / etc.
Message
Author
harryK
Freshman Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: X210s

#61 Post by harryK » Sat Mar 10, 2018 8:31 pm

greenblob wrote:
Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:36 pm
Huh, okay.

This is what powertop tells me:

https://i.imgur.com/lsUvuRR.png

But I'm not sure if it's accurate.
It's a bit odd, your powertop output. Seems garbled. Try and extend the window vertically. This is what mine looks like https://imgur.com/a/MfPd3. Notice how package c-states are shown as (pcX) in the leftmost column. Package states below 8 require panel self refresh, and my screen desn't seem to support it

*EDIT*
Your powertop is an older version (2.8 ). Probably doesn't work well with latest generation processors

greenblob
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:44 pm
Location: Bloomington, Indiana

Re: X210s

#62 Post by greenblob » Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:15 pm

How do I update it? Running "sudo apt-get install powertop" doesn't do anything.

thinker01
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:44 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: X210s

#63 Post by thinker01 » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:47 am

I followed all the advice in this thread to set up energy saving and now I am pretty happy with my Ubuntu 17 setup.

The only issues I have are with mouse button and keyboard debouncing. I wonder if there are any easy solutions.

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X210s

#64 Post by FryPpy » Sun Mar 25, 2018 3:17 pm

Count me in.
Last week i have goten my X210 (mobo + UXGA kit) and have assembled it. And some questions have arise.
Initially i can't start start it with normal WXGA screen. I changed swith to LVDS position but screen haven't show anything. But eDP WUXGA working well and it is beauty.
The mouse ran away;) Neither trackpoint nor touchpad working:( Have tested in Linux and Win7. Is there any thing to check in BIOS? What device in linux do you have for mouse?

PS
Win7 is working almost fine. I can install drivers for UHD from 15.45.19 package with some modding. Have strange device ACPI/USBC000 but have no USB Type C connectos here. Can't install Hotkey Features and Power Manager :(

PPS
Strange thing about Intel ME. In BIOS it say that there are no ME at all (version 0.0.0.0). It can be switched off either. But in Windows there is MEI device.

thinker01
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:44 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: X210s

#65 Post by thinker01 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:46 am

FryPpy wrote:
Sun Mar 25, 2018 3:17 pm

The mouse ran away;) Neither trackpoint nor touchpad working:( Have tested in Linux and Win7. Is there any thing to check in BIOS? What device in linux do you have for mouse?
$ xinput --list
⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ xwayland-pointer:13 id=6 [slave pointer (2)]

fourthree
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:15 pm
Location: Bat Yam, Israel

Re: X210s

#66 Post by fourthree » Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:04 am

How does the X210 compare to X62?
Dorkstation: T601f
Ultraportable: X61s

GoJoe
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: X210s

#67 Post by GoJoe » Tue May 15, 2018 3:07 am

My X210 is supposed to arrive in the next couple of weeks.

So, I want to put in a "new" battery. But I cannot find the 43R9254 (6-cell) or 43R9255 (9-cell) on the lenovo store anymore.

Does any of you know as to where to get one?

Thanks

Best

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7309
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: X210s

#68 Post by BillMorrow » Tue May 15, 2018 3:43 am

hello and welcome to the forum..
search for the FRU number on bing or google..
i did and came up with one from amazon USA: https://www.amazon.com/43R9255-001-Thin ... B017O1PVBA
i'm sure one should be available in germany.. :)
one more thing, try to get a real lenovo branded battery..
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

GoJoe
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: X210s

#69 Post by GoJoe » Tue May 15, 2018 1:51 pm

Hi,

And thanks alot. That is actually the point. There are lots of places selling FRU compatible items and many (as well) which claim to sell original or something alike.

I did it once for my X201s, but in reality I got a cheap imitation.

So how can I find out if it is an original lenovo battery?

Best

RushNY
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:15 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: X210s

#70 Post by RushNY » Tue May 15, 2018 2:16 pm

I purchased mine from this listing: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SQ5ZU6A

My seller was Blue Donut however, we had confirmed a few months back in a Reddit post that they're good for genuine batteries. Unfortunately it looks like their stock has dried up but you could always go for one of the other sellers and return it if it's not genuine since it's Amazon.
Current: 51NB X210 - i5-8250U 4C/8T | 32GB DDR4 2400 | 500GB 960 EVO | WUXGA
Collection: T400 - C2D P9600 | 8GB DDR3 1600 | WXGA+ | Libreboot
Past: X230 - i5-3210M | 8GB DDR3 1600 | X220 KB | Coreboot

m000
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:38 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: X210s

#71 Post by m000 » Thu May 24, 2018 4:05 pm

I bought a new battery from aliexpress. Among all the billion 3rd party sellers promising pretty miserable capacity rates, there was this store called "KingSener" that stood out by charging a premium over the others but also promising almost-original level battery capacity.

I took my chances, and ordered.

I received a battery that by all looks seems to be a lenovo original - the backside sticker looks similar to my geniune battery, with the exception that it had a bunch of strategically placed additional stickers with labels like "KingSener", "QC passed" etc - all strategically placed in locations where the word "lenovo" would appear on the original big backside sticker.

I did a battery reset a couple of times on my old X201, and was left with a ~63WH capacity at the end of it (vs. 67wh design capacity of the original).

My educated guess would be that the store somehow has gained access to old stocks of Lenovo batteries that Lenovo has discarded because it no longer lives up to the advertised capacity due to age degradation, and then just sells these onward as "third party" equipment. But of course, you can never be too sure with these chinese retailers. So far I'm happy with my purchase though.

greenblob
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:44 pm
Location: Bloomington, Indiana

Re: X210s

#72 Post by greenblob » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:54 am

I noticed that the M.2 slot is accessible via the Express Card slot. Do you think an eGPU would be feasible?

Does anyone know how many PCIe lanes are allocated to the NVMe slot?

Also, I'm constantly impressed by this thing's performance (yeah, I know, it's more about Intel than 51nb, but still).

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1211
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

X210 with 3:2 3K LCD

#73 Post by TPFanatic » Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:51 pm

lenovo X230 i5 3320m IPS 8GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m FHD 8GB
lenovo T430s i5 3230m QHD 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700 WUXGA 8GB


Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

fourthree
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:15 pm
Location: Bat Yam, Israel

Re: X210 with 3:2 3K LCD

#74 Post by fourthree » Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:09 am

TPFanatic wrote:
Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:51 pm
https://translate.google.com/translate? ... t=&act=url

3:2 3K = 2880x1920 @ 236.57 PPI
Did you mean this?
https://forum.51nb.com/forum.php?mod=vi ... a=page%3D1

Panelook has both 3000x2000 and 1920x1280 panels at the same size (13") -- so you won't need a 51nb mobo for the latter. (but I dunno if there' something like nitrocaster's for X200)
Dorkstation: T601f
Ultraportable: X61s

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#75 Post by dmdsoftware » Mon Feb 04, 2019 6:30 pm

Tyruiop wrote:
Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:54 am
Some news from Jacky:

The 2560x1700 screen modification (discussed on irc) is not possible for the x210, because
1:X210 motherboard cannot support this voltage.
2: The size of the need to cut off too many circuits and indicators, we can
not fully modified him.
And they are making a second batch of x210 motherboards that apparently will be better than the previous batch. I might grab one as backup in case mine dies. I will first ask how is it improved though.
The next batch of X210 boards, releasing in mid-Feb 2019 will have the adjustments made to support higher resolutions (the screens used in the X230 mods).
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#76 Post by dmdsoftware » Fri Feb 08, 2019 11:11 am

Anyone have success with one of the these boards in Linux as a daily driver?

I use Linux on all my systems. I also use BTRFS which has checksum checks -- if you are not aware, if you run into corruption of the filesystem, you'd realize it sooner rather than later, because you'd get checksum reports in dmesg. On my third production board, I've noticed issues with BTRFS reporting checksum failures randomly. Usually then followed by some erratic system behaviour including crashes and sometimes "CPU stuck". I'm using a brand new Samsung 128GB 2.5" SSD and two 8GB new Samsung DDR4 2400mhz.

What I've done so far:
1) tried booting off USB drive, the BTRFS errors would randomly appear there as well.
2) boot the BTRFS in read-only mode and BTRFS errors will appear there was well.
3) swapped out the SSD with another known-good OCZ SSD that I've used on other systems without any issues, the BTRFS errors would appear there as well
4) used the system with only one DDR4 module, trying once in each bay, alternating modules, , the BTRFS errors would still randomly

The BTRFS checksum errors I'm really suspecting to be a RAM or motherboard interacting with the RAM wrongly. The more disk IO I generate, the faster the errors will surface.

If anyone is using their system without these issues, which RAM are you using, and what BIOS settings did you tweak. I know you must have tweaked something since I know for sure the default BIOS setting is to treat all SATA devices as Hard Drives rather than SSD.

Also, what distribution and kernel version are you using? I'm in the progress of updating to the latest Debian Stretch with the newer kernels. I have to do this on a separate machine as obviously I'd never make it through the upgrade on this system without completely trashing the disk in the process (thank god for BTRFS snapshots).
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

L29Ah
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X210s

#77 Post by L29Ah » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:43 am

dmdsoftware wrote:
Fri Feb 08, 2019 11:11 am
If anyone is using their system without these issues, which RAM are you using, and what BIOS settings did you tweak. I know you must have tweaked something since I know for sure the default BIOS setting is to treat all SATA devices as Hard Drives rather than SSD.

Also, what distribution and kernel version are you using? I'm in the progress of updating to the latest Debian Stretch with the newer kernels. I have to do this on a separate machine as obviously I'd never make it through the upgrade on this system without completely trashing the disk in the process (thank god for BTRFS snapshots).
I had no such issues. Haven't tweaked anything using Gentoo on vanilla 4.20.6, using one AMD memory stick, dmidecode says:

Handle 0x003E, DMI type 17, 40 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x003D
Error Information Handle: Not Provided
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 16384 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: ChannelA-DIMM0
Bank Locator: BANK 0
Type: DDR4
Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
Speed: 2400 MT/s
Manufacturer: 8001
Serial Number: 00000000
Asset Tag: 9876543210
Part Number: R7416G2400S2S
Rank: 2
Configured Memory Speed: 2400 MT/s
Minimum Voltage: 1.2 V
Maximum Voltage: 1.2 V
Configured Voltage: 1.2 V
X210; X230 with coreboot and nitrocaster's FHD mod as a backup; R500 for guests; T60 just for the looks.

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#78 Post by dmdsoftware » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:13 pm

L29Ah wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:43 am
dmdsoftware wrote:
Fri Feb 08, 2019 11:11 am
If anyone is using their system without these issues, which RAM are you using, and what BIOS settings did you tweak. I know you must have tweaked something since I know for sure the default BIOS setting is to treat all SATA devices as Hard Drives rather than SSD.

Also, what distribution and kernel version are you using? I'm in the progress of updating to the latest Debian Stretch with the newer kernels. I have to do this on a separate machine as obviously I'd never make it through the upgrade on this system without completely trashing the disk in the process (thank god for BTRFS snapshots).
I had no such issues. Haven't tweaked anything using Gentoo on vanilla 4.20.6, using one AMD memory stick, dmidecode says:

Handle 0x003E, DMI type 17, 40 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x003D
Error Information Handle: Not Provided
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 16384 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: ChannelA-DIMM0
Bank Locator: BANK 0
Type: DDR4
Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
Speed: 2400 MT/s
Manufacturer: 8001
Serial Number: 00000000
Asset Tag: 9876543210
Part Number: R7416G2400S2S
Rank: 2
Configured Memory Speed: 2400 MT/s
Minimum Voltage: 1.2 V
Maximum Voltage: 1.2 V
Configured Voltage: 1.2 V
Thanks for the info. I guess I need to try doing that upgrade to Stretch so I can use a more modern kernel to rule out kernel issue. That or my board is defective or the two memory modules are defective.

My output:

Handle 0x0040, DMI type 17, 40 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x003D
Error Information Handle: Not Provided
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 8192 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: ChannelB-DIMM0
Bank Locator: BANK 2
Type: <OUT OF SPEC>
Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
Speed: 2400 MHz
Manufacturer: Samsung
Serial Number: 44020000
Asset Tag: 9876543210
Part Number: M471A1K43CB1-CRC
Rank: 2
Configured Clock Speed: 2400 MHz
Minimum voltage: 1.200 V
Maximum voltage: 1.200 V
Configured voltage: 1.200 V
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#79 Post by dmdsoftware » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:54 pm

Did a bunch of testing using memtestx86+. After a bunch of passes, 0 errors on both modules.

I've now managed to upgrade to the latest possible in debian (debian 9.7 with kernel 4.19). With both modules installed, I rarely can even get into a logged in state without the system crashing. If I run only with 1 module, I can make some fair use of the system before crashing. The first sign of trouble is checksum filesystem errors.

Maybe some odd BIOS setting or these boards are garbage.
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#80 Post by dmdsoftware » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:17 pm

Ok, seems after encountering some threads of other users running into random segmentation faults when compiling code for long periods of time, I came across a known defect with Hyperthreading on Kaby Lake processors. Doing some testing, by disabling the HT in the BIOS, I was able to eliminate the segmentation faults and BTRFS checksum errors.

Anyone using the X210 on Linux (or any Sky Lake or Kaby Lake processors on Linux), should ensure they apply the microcode fix (not publicly available for Kaby Lake, only Sky Lake) or disable Hyperthreading in the BIOS.

Kaby Lake:

Users of systems with Intel Kaby Lake processors should immediately
*disable* hyper-threading in the BIOS/UEFI configuration. Please
consult your computer/motherboard's manual for instructions, or maybe
contact your system vendor's support line.

The Kaby Lake microcode updates that fix this issue are currently only
available to system vendors, so you will need a BIOS/UEFI update to get
it. Contact your system vendor: if you are lucky, such a BIOS/UEFI
update might already be available, or undergoing beta testing.

You want your system vendor to provide a BIOS/UEFI update that fixes
"Intel processor errata KBL095, KBW095 or the similar one for my Kaby
Lake processor".

We strongly recommend that you should not re-enable hyper-threading
until you install a BIOS/UEFI update with this fix.


https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/2 ... 00308.html
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

L29Ah
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X210s

#81 Post by L29Ah » Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:43 pm

This is really strange since i have already compiled for ~10h on it and never encountered any problems.
X210; X230 with coreboot and nitrocaster's FHD mod as a backup; R500 for guests; T60 just for the looks.

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#82 Post by dmdsoftware » Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:59 pm

L29Ah wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:43 pm
This is really strange since i have already compiled for ~10h on it and never encountered any problems.
Maybe the microcode fix was applied to your board already? Mine is part of the third batch (delivered from the factory in Dec 2018) and perhaps they forgot to apply the patch to the third batch. The problem was occurring a lot. Every computing session on the laptop included at minimum 3 reboots due to the issue. The more system ram I had attached to the system, the more frequent it occurred.

Disabling HT, it hasn't spewed out a single segfault or BTRFS checksum error in an entire day. So no more crashes.
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

L29Ah
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X210s

#83 Post by L29Ah » Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:30 pm

dmdsoftware wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:59 pm
L29Ah wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:43 pm
This is really strange since i have already compiled for ~10h on it and never encountered any problems.
Maybe the microcode fix was applied to your board already? Mine is part of the third batch (delivered from the factory in Dec 2018) and perhaps they forgot to apply the patch to the third batch. The problem was occurring a lot. Every computing session on the laptop included at minimum 3 reboots due to the issue. The more system ram I had attached to the system, the more frequent it occurred.

Disabling HT, it hasn't spewed out a single segfault or BTRFS checksum error in an entire day. So no more crashes.
Mine is as well.
Disabling HT must bring quite a big of a performance toll. Have you tried lowering your CPU temperature or frequency limit instead? As far i see, by default the temperature stays at 100°C for the first half a minute of a heavy load.
X210; X230 with coreboot and nitrocaster's FHD mod as a backup; R500 for guests; T60 just for the looks.

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#84 Post by dmdsoftware » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:05 pm

It is actually working faster because it isn't dealing with segfaults and other i/o errors. At least disabling hyperthreading is not the same as disabling real cores, and since this system has double the number of cores then the X62, the performance has been great.

How are you getting the CPU temperature so high? My fan is nearlyalways off and there is no heat on the bottom or side from average use -- fan only kicks on if I'm doing a lot of heavy work, such as compiling. Even during hours of repetitive memtestx86+ runs, the reported temperature was maximum 45C. I ran the same tests on my X62 for fun and the temperature peaked at 88C and the fan ran continuously.
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

L29Ah
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X210s

#85 Post by L29Ah » Fri Feb 15, 2019 9:07 am

dmdsoftware wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:05 pm
How are you getting the CPU temperature so high? My fan is nearlyalways off and there is no heat on the bottom or side from average use -- fan only kicks on if I'm doing a lot of heavy work, such as compiling. Even during hours of repetitive memtestx86+ runs, the reported temperature was maximum 45C. I ran the same tests on my X62 for fun and the temperature peaked at 88C and the fan ran continuously.
What are your CPU frequencies?
Any CPU-intensive task brings it up, be it compiling, benchmarking or game playing. It's not only me: https://www.pcper.com/reviews/Mobile/51 ... quid-Metal reports the same results. I suppose with HT disabled it will work cooler, but less efficient.
X210; X230 with coreboot and nitrocaster's FHD mod as a backup; R500 for guests; T60 just for the looks.

LeoRig
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:47 pm
Location: lancaster, pa

Re: X210s

#86 Post by LeoRig » Sat May 11, 2019 9:52 pm

dmdsoftware wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:59 pm
L29Ah wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:43 pm
This is really strange since i have already compiled for ~10h on it and never encountered any problems.
Maybe the microcode fix was applied to your board already? Mine is part of the third batch (delivered from the factory in Dec 2018) and perhaps they forgot to apply the patch to the third batch. The problem was occurring a lot. Every computing session on the laptop included at minimum 3 reboots due to the issue. The more system ram I had attached to the system, the more frequent it occurred.

Disabling HT, it hasn't spewed out a single segfault or BTRFS checksum error in an entire day. So no more crashes.
Thank you for posting. This is quite disheartening for me though; I got an x210 motherboard only (no screen) last month and got to assemble it into an x201s body yesterday, for the past 48hrs I've been trying to trouble shoot it. It keeps crashing. Sometimes immediately after powering up (2 seconds) and the most it's been is right after booting linux (but never got to complete an install from usb iso). I've tried several usb distros, likely thousands of bios options combinations, disaling HyperThreading, disconnecting all components one by one, both eDP and LVDS switch positions, and anything else I could think of. No luck. At first I thought it was maybe temperature shut-off in case I did a bad job with the heatsink, but I triple checked it (did the application 3 times) and the bottom is barely getting warm when it shuts down, also, it can hang in BIOS for hours without overheating. It never shuts down in bios, always when it starts booting the kernel (in the case of puppy linux) or during the first stages of the install wizard for Ubuntu and Deepin.

At this point I'm giving up and about to try the likely impossible mission of returning the motherboard to 51nb... any help or hints would be very appreciated. Thanks.

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#87 Post by dmdsoftware » Sat May 11, 2019 11:31 pm

LeoRig wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 9:52 pm
dmdsoftware wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:59 pm


Maybe the microcode fix was applied to your board already? Mine is part of the third batch (delivered from the factory in Dec 2018) and perhaps they forgot to apply the patch to the third batch. The problem was occurring a lot. Every computing session on the laptop included at minimum 3 reboots due to the issue. The more system ram I had attached to the system, the more frequent it occurred.

Disabling HT, it hasn't spewed out a single segfault or BTRFS checksum error in an entire day. So no more crashes.
Thank you for posting. This is quite disheartening for me though; I got an x210 motherboard only (no screen) last month and got to assemble it into an x201s body yesterday, for the past 48hrs I've been trying to trouble shoot it. It keeps crashing. Sometimes immediately after powering up (2 seconds) and the most it's been is right after booting linux (but never got to complete an install from usb iso). I've tried several usb distros, likely thousands of bios options combinations, disaling HyperThreading, disconnecting all components one by one, both eDP and LVDS switch positions, and anything else I could think of. No luck. At first I thought it was maybe temperature shut-off in case I did a bad job with the heatsink, but I triple checked it (did the application 3 times) and the bottom is barely getting warm when it shuts down, also, it can hang in BIOS for hours without overheating. It never shuts down in bios, always when it starts booting the kernel (in the case of puppy linux) or during the first stages of the install wizard for Ubuntu and Deepin.

At this point I'm giving up and about to try the likely impossible mission of returning the motherboard to 51nb... any help or hints would be very appreciated. Thanks.
I never resolved the Linux issue with the board. It is unreliable and garbage.
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

vladisslav2011
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:33 am
Location: Velikiye Luki, Pskov, Russia

Re: X210s

#88 Post by vladisslav2011 » Sun May 12, 2019 6:03 am

LeoRig wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 9:52 pm
any help or hints would be very appreciated. Thanks.
I had similar issue with x210 from Jacky. Replacing bad RAM module had resolved this issue...

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: X210s

#89 Post by dmdsoftware » Sat May 18, 2019 6:16 am

vladisslav2011 wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 6:03 am
LeoRig wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 9:52 pm
any help or hints would be very appreciated. Thanks.
I had similar issue with x210 from Jacky. Replacing bad RAM module had resolved this issue...
Which RAM module did you end up using? Got a link?
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

vladisslav2011
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:33 am
Location: Velikiye Luki, Pskov, Russia

Re: X210s

#90 Post by vladisslav2011 » Sat May 18, 2019 9:18 pm

dmdsoftware wrote:
Sat May 18, 2019 6:16 am
Which RAM module did you end up using? Got a link?
I've already posted my RAM testing results here:
viewtopic.php?p=833449#p833449
Both modules are working fine. I can even put both in and have 20Gb RAM and stable system.

Post Reply

Return to “51nb and other modded Thinkpads”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests