Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Looking for a broker that also runs on Linux?

Linux on ThinkPads
Post Reply
Message
Author
phillip1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 10:19 am
Location: Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Looking for a broker that also runs on Linux?

#1 Post by phillip1 » Wed Apr 01, 2020 2:14 am

Hello everyone
Have a problem and I hope that I will got a useful answer on this Forum.
I've been looking for a reputable Broker in which the software runs equally good on Linux. So far I've always traded on my Computer whit Forex and CFDs. I heard from a friend that there is also a broker today who has a special software for Linux. Can someone recommend me such broker?

majkell
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 8:27 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Looking for a broker that also runs on Linux?

#2 Post by majkell » Thu Apr 02, 2020 5:14 am

You heard that right, there is actually a broker today that has made a special version for the Linux operating system. It is used far too little by people today and that is one of the reasons why this broker today is not well known. I have been using the web version of IQ Option for some time, and can say that I really liked it. I simply log in via a Browser and you could use them without much trouble. Works great
Have a look here for more information: https://www.iqoptionmag.com/linux-trading-platform.html
"In a world where I feel so small, I can't stop thinking big." (Rush - Caravan)

w0qj
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:53 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Looking for a broker that also runs on Linux?

#3 Post by w0qj » Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:42 am

Our Forex and CFD broker program works on Win10; no Linux alternative.

Anyways, Win10 works fine for our purposes...
Daily Driver: (X1E3) X1 Extreme 3rd Gen | mobile broadband (WWAN)
Current Thinkpads: X1E3 | X1E1 | X1C9 | X1C4 | X1C3 | X230
Retired Thinkpads: X250 | T410 | T42 | 560 (circa 1996)
~~IBM Thinkpad era computer bag !

MackenziePhil
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 1:56 pm
Location: Ivanhoe, Victoria Australia

Re: Looking for a broker that also runs on Linux?

#4 Post by MackenziePhil » Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:24 am

I also heard that it is a broker that made a special version of the operating system in Linux. The one who is the broker told me about it.

atagunov
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 916
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:11 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Looking for a broker that also runs on Linux?

#5 Post by atagunov » Tue Feb 09, 2021 2:43 pm

Heh, the topic looked a bit too bizarre to read :) Anyway for what it's worth I'm running T520 with 16Gb of RAM under Ubuntu and here I'm running a KVM virtual machine where I run Windows 10. Everything works quite well. If you have to run a Win 10 app on Linux that's an option. How if you really want to squeeze every last millisecond of performance out of your app you might still be better off with running on the native OS with no VM, but if your trading is not absolutely tied to real-time this is an option to consider.

P.S. Hasn't it all moved to mobiles anyway? I never tried them but wouldn't some kind of Android emulator under Linux work even better? I bet every company offering trading apps offers an Android app as well.
X220, 2 *T520

Tyricores
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2021 8:05 am
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: Looking for a broker that also runs on Linux?

#6 Post by Tyricores » Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:31 am

Not many of them are available on linux..you can try OpenLM or TWS api but they're kinda laggy. It's better to use your phone for launching such apps

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Linux Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests