Anybody using Open SuSE?

Linux on ThinkPads
Post Reply
Message
Author
XE1UFO
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:29 am
Location: Queretaro, Mexico

Anybody using Open SuSE?

#1 Post by XE1UFO » Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:48 am

Dear Friends:

I tried the OpenSuSE distro, installed it to a partition, but could not get wifi to connect, though it doe see my router, no matter what. Perhaps I am using the wrong kind of password (wep)?

I am a licensed ham radio nut, and SuSE has a ton of ham software built in, thus my interest.

Thanks in advance!

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2790
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

Re: Anybody using Open SuSE?

#2 Post by Temetka » Wed Aug 05, 2015 5:05 am

I haven't used that distro in years.

The beauty of linux though is this: find the HAM radio programs you want and install them in another distro.
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

portsample
Sophomore Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 11:38 pm
Location: Alaska (not Anchorage)

Re: Anybody using Open SuSE?

#3 Post by portsample » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:56 pm

Well, hope I'm not too late on this reply, but openSuSE is all I've been running since 2001 when it was still a German company. I've installed on a 760ED, 770, T21, T30,T41 as well as T60's and T61's. Installation and configuration has gotten massively straightforward in the last few years. Just my $0.02.
T61, 14.1", T9500 2.6ghz, Intel GM965, 8gb RAM, 250gb SSD, 1tb SATA Ubay, openSuse 42.3/Win8
T61, 14.1", X9000 2.8ghz, Intel GM965, 8gb RAM, 250gb SSD, 1tb SATA Ubay, openSuse 42.2/Win8
X61, T7300 2.0 ghz, 4gb RAM, 250gb, openSuse 13.2/Win8
Using T60, T42, T30 as shop terminals

felixzero
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 12:52 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

Re: Anybody using Open SuSE?

#4 Post by felixzero » Sat Dec 05, 2015 3:29 pm

Does the wifi work with another distribution or Windows?
Do you see the network list?

EvoT61
Freshman Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:44 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Anybody using Open SuSE?

#5 Post by EvoT61 » Tue Dec 08, 2015 2:30 am

if your pass is wrong it should show up ( im linux user and if my wifi pass inserted incorrectly - it warns me ) so this one should fall back, next if its intels , try to disable N and use 2.5Ghz . wifi is very strange thing ..even says N is strong and future, but its weak and useless in my experience... if im using N signal on x230 ... im loosing signal when i change the room , so i have to go back to router room to get back on it . try use G (5ghz ) i think or A .. its 5Ghz, or maybe you check your router and see what settings are .. 2.5 or 5 :)
IBM ThinkPad
T61 C2D-T8300 + FingerPrint.
ArchLinux ThinkPad
X220 i5-3320M

XE1UFO
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:29 am
Location: Queretaro, Mexico

Re: Anybody using Open SuSE?

#6 Post by XE1UFO » Mon Sep 19, 2016 6:14 pm

felixzero wrote:Does the wifi work with another distribution or Windows?
Do you see the network list?
The wifi works fine on the Windows sideof the same laptop.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15986
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Anybody using Open SuSE?

#7 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 6:33 pm

XE1UFO wrote: The wifi works fine on the Windows sideof the same laptop.
With the same WEP encryption?
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Anybody using Open SuSE?

#8 Post by jaspen-meyer » Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:25 pm

Have you tried a few other wifi cards? If you have some around, that's the first thing I'd try. On my x22 the original card would see my network but would not connect - it was an 802.11b wifi card. Changing the card fixed the problem - I changed to Atheros as it is well supported by Linux.

If you don't have another wifi card to try....search the web for your [specific card] and "Open SuSE", i.e. "Intel 2100 Open SuSE" and see if there are some steps needed to load a driver.

Check which card you have installed with one of these commands 'lspci' or 'lshw' (or open the machine and check).

Also try this: http://www.opensuse-guide.org/wlan.php
T420 i7 3612QM; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

Dekks
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:38 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Anybody using Open SuSE?

#9 Post by Dekks » Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:08 pm

Be aware testing old wifi cards on linux atm there is a regression in the commonly used redhat networkmanager package namely bug 1371623 that prevents them connecting at all.
Home Win10/i5 Arch//Openbox R61//GNOME 3 X201i/X230 Tablet //Spectrwm T61/X61/X61 Debian 9.2/X32/T60p
Work - Win7/X220T BunsenLabs/Debian 9 T43
Retired T60/X30/X31/X61S RIP T400/T21/X61T/X200T

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Linux Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests