Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

Linux on ThinkPads
Message
Author
CrazyTPFan
Sophomore Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:55 pm
Location: Winthrop, Massachusetts

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#61 Post by CrazyTPFan » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:26 pm

I use Kubuntu 18.04 LTS on my T440p.
Last edited by CrazyTPFan on Sat Feb 16, 2019 8:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.
ThinkPad T440p|i5-4300M|16GB Ram|HD 4600|1600x900 HD+ Display|Intel AC 7260 Wireless|SmartCard|Zheino 256GB M.2 SSD|Ubuntu 18.10|9-Cell Battery

Collection: TR452, R31

WarhawkCZ
Freshman Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Germany, Czechia

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#62 Post by WarhawkCZ » Sat Sep 29, 2018 12:09 pm

Hierax_ca wrote:
Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:29 pm
Since a few others of you are also successfully running MX Linux on your Thinkpads, it might be appropriate to let you know that the MX Linux team is looking for feedback on Thinkpads so they can keep on improving:

- https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=39270

I've posted the inxi info and my comments about how MX Linux is working on my own Thinkpads and it would be great to have more data to improve things for all of us Linux-using Thinkpad lovers. Even if you don't use MX, I'm sure the developers of whatever distribution of Linux you are using would appreciate feedback too -- Linux is free but we are all stronger when we share our knowledge!

Thank You!
x61 works out of the box without any additional tweaks or modifications. I was struggling a bit with my t430. Everytime I docked the laptop, my external screens settings got messed up. I described my problem and the solution here. It still does not work 100%. Sometimes I need to re-dock to get the configuration right.

Q: I am new to the linux world. I understand, that TLP does not work with any profiles - no "on-demand" or "maximum performance". Is this correct?
Daily drivers: x225 FrankenPad and t430

Rs125
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:19 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#63 Post by Rs125 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:42 pm

Ubuntu Mate 18.04 on my T60, runs good. Have tried WATTOS also.
We got some rules to follow,
That and this, these and those...

T60 T7200 @ 2Ghz 2GB ram W7ult
T43 in progress

pm23885
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#64 Post by pm23885 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:59 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first post. I run Debian and Arch on i3.
x61 x220 x230 t61 t420 t430 a475

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2373
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#65 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:12 pm

pm23885 wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:59 pm
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I run Debian and Arch on i3.
Welcome to the Forums.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

pm23885
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#66 Post by pm23885 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:10 pm

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:12 pm
pm23885 wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:59 pm
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I run Debian and Arch on i3.
Welcome to the Forums.
Thanks so much. Pretty much a very recent Thinkpad convert. This site is such full of information.
x61 x220 x230 t61 t420 t430 a475

Hierax_ca
Freshman Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#67 Post by Hierax_ca » Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:56 pm

MX-18 Linux (with the XFCE DE) is now final and I highly recommend it (ymmv) :
- https://sourceforge.net/projects/mx-lin ... nal/MX-18/ .
I'm running it on everything from a Thinkpad 600x to a 701DS. I'm using for Thinkpads that would run Windows XP or 7.

For older Thinkpads running Windows 98se or 2000 or so, in my case 600x to T60p, I also run AntiX 17.3.1 (with the IceWM/SpaceFM option) :
- https://sourceforge.net/projects/antix- ... ntiX-17.3/
(edited because AntiX 17.3.1 released)
Last edited by Hierax_ca on Sat Dec 29, 2018 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Toshiba (93-98): t3400(ct), 3600ct, 610ct, 620ct, 660cdt, 490xcdt, 780cdm/dvd

IBM (95-06): 701c*(s) Butterfly, 600(e,x*), A31p*, T43(S*, p,+pS*)

Lenovo (07-12): t60h, T601pF*, x60t+, x61t+*,
W500, W700, W700ds, W701, W701ds, x301*, x200t, x220t, x220*, W520*.

olddog
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#68 Post by olddog » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:52 pm

I run Puppy Linux on a T61 and an Edge 15. Puppy is like a microcosm of Linux in that it comes in a load of different variants. My current one is called Xenial, which makes it highly compatible with Ubuntu.

I have been playing about with Linux for years, but it's only recently been able to compete properly with Windows (in my view) and that is because LibreOffice is now as good as MS Office in almost every respect.

I still have Windows on my T430, but mainly because I am doing a lot of CD ripping, and the best program I have found (EAC) is Windows only. When I can replace that it's curtains for Windows.

And as soon as I can completely avoid Google the happier I shall be.

skx
Freshman Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#69 Post by skx » Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:57 pm

olddog wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:52 pm
I still have Windows on my T430, but mainly because I am doing a lot of CD ripping, and the best program I have found (EAC) is Windows only. When I can replace that it's curtains for Windows.
This is one of the fake reasons to justify keep using Microsoft malware. You have morituri which is as advanced as EAC, not to say more advanced. In case EAC is of such huge importance, rip your CDs with EAC from a virtualmachine. If not, just agree you can't say goodbye to Microsoft ;)
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian - ME_cleaned
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian - ME_cleaned

olddog
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#70 Post by olddog » Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:12 pm

skx wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:57 pm
olddog wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:52 pm
I still have Windows on my T430, but mainly because I am doing a lot of CD ripping, and the best program I have found (EAC) is Windows only. When I can replace that it's curtains for Windows.
This is one of the fake reasons to justify keep using Microsoft malware. You have morituri which is as advanced as EAC, not to say more advanced. In case EAC is of such huge importance, rip your CDs with EAC from a virtualmachine. If not, just agree you can't say goodbye to Microsoft ;)
With enormous respect, my reasons are not fake, as will become clear.

1 "You have morituri". No, I don't and most probably never will. It's no longer supported, in fact Morituri is moribund. It has been forked to Whipper, so you are somewhat out of date.
2 "as advanced as EAC, not to say more advanced". Not according to Wikipedia's comparison of rippers.
3 "In case EAC is of such huge importance". EAC is not important per se, but accurate ripping is.
4 "rip your CDs with EAC from a virtualmachine". An unnecessary complication.

Furthermore, neither Whipper not Morituri are available to be installed on Ubuntu (I use a distro based on Ubuntu) without a depth of knowledge which I presently lack.

I am pleased that you support Linux, but you would win more friends and influence more people if you were a little less arrogant. No doubt as you get older you will mellow.

cobalt60
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Alhambra, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#71 Post by cobalt60 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:07 am

Scottfish wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:47 am
For those of you running Debian, how do you get wireless working? I think I'd like the stability and weight of Debian.
I do the install over ethernet. During the install, debian generally detects your wifi chip and tells you the exact package you need to install (at least it does when doing advanced net install). Then its just a matter of, on my X200s for example:

sudo apt install firmware-iwlwifi

Then you can use something like wicd-curses (which I prefer) or nm-applet to choose wifi networks to connect to
X200s 1440x900, 64GB SSD, 6GB RAM - main laptop - X200s 1440x900, 128GB SSD, 4GB RAM - school laptop
T60p 1600x1200 IPS - undecided - W500 1920x1200, FireGL V5700 - fixing the frame...
T43p 1600x1200 IPS - needs work - 240X might try FreeDOS from a floppy...

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#72 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:42 am

cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:07 am
I do the install over ethernet. During the install, debian generally detects your wifi chip and tells you the exact package you need to install (at least it does when doing advanced net install). Then its just a matter of, on my X200s for example:

sudo apt install firmware-iwlwifi

Then you can use something like wicd-curses (which I prefer) or nm-applet to choose wifi networks to connect to
Most wifi cards require binary-only firmware blobs, so you have to add the non-free repository first.

So open a terminal window, get root privileges, then edit the /etc/apt/sources.list file with the text editor of your choice.
deb {placeholder for the debian mirror site you're using} stretch main contrib non-free
Then run:

Code: Select all

apt update
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

cobalt60
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Alhambra, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#73 Post by cobalt60 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:57 am

axur-delmeria wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:42 am
cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:07 am
I do the install over ethernet. During the install, debian generally detects your wifi chip and tells you the exact package you need to install (at least it does when doing advanced net install). Then its just a matter of, on my X200s for example:
...
Most wifi cards require binary-only firmware blobs, so you have to add the non-free repository first.
...
Yes, non-free needs to be enabled in the sources.list file. For me, this is usually done during the initial OS install; when doing a net install with the advanced option, it asks if you want non-free software enabled by default. I do not know if it asks this when not using the advanced option.
X200s 1440x900, 64GB SSD, 6GB RAM - main laptop - X200s 1440x900, 128GB SSD, 4GB RAM - school laptop
T60p 1600x1200 IPS - undecided - W500 1920x1200, FireGL V5700 - fixing the frame...
T43p 1600x1200 IPS - needs work - 240X might try FreeDOS from a floppy...

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#74 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:23 am

cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:57 am
Yes, non-free needs to be enabled in the sources.list file. For me, this is usually done during the initial OS install; when doing a net install with the advanced option, it asks if you want non-free software enabled by default. I do not know if it asks this when not using the advanced option.
No it doesn't. I did a net install recently and the installer didn't ask to enable the non-free repository.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

cobalt60
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Alhambra, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#75 Post by cobalt60 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:56 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:23 am
cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:57 am
Yes, non-free needs to be enabled in the sources.list file. For me, this is usually done during the initial OS install; when doing a net install with the advanced option, it asks if you want non-free software enabled by default. I do not know if it asks this when not using the advanced option.
No it doesn't. I did a net install recently and the installer didn't ask to enable the non-free repository.
Interesting, I didn't know that. Another thing the advanced option offers that I bet the standard install doesn't is enabling sudo. In the advanced install, it asks if you want to enable a root password. If you choose "no", it offers to use sudo with your user. Do you know if the standard net install offers to enable sudo?
X200s 1440x900, 64GB SSD, 6GB RAM - main laptop - X200s 1440x900, 128GB SSD, 4GB RAM - school laptop
T60p 1600x1200 IPS - undecided - W500 1920x1200, FireGL V5700 - fixing the frame...
T43p 1600x1200 IPS - needs work - 240X might try FreeDOS from a floppy...

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#76 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:53 am

cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:56 pm
Do you know if the standard net install offers to enable sudo?
I don't remember the installer asking about sudo. Personally it's a good idea: I'd rather stick to a sane default config rather than an unsafe one. *cough cough Windows*
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Linux Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests