Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

Linux on ThinkPads
Message
Author
CrazyTPFan
Sophomore Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:55 pm
Location: Winthrop, Massachusetts

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#61 Post by CrazyTPFan » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:26 pm

I use Ubuntu 18.10 on my T440p.
Last edited by CrazyTPFan on Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:03 am, edited 4 times in total.
ThinkPad T440p|i5-4300M|16GB Ram|HD 4600|1600x900 HD+ Display|Intel AC 7260 Wireless|SmartCard|Zheino 256GB M.2 SSD|Mac OS Mojave 10.14|9-Cell Battery

Collection: TR452, R31

WarhawkCZ
Freshman Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Germany, Czechia

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#62 Post by WarhawkCZ » Sat Sep 29, 2018 12:09 pm

Hierax_ca wrote:
Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:29 pm
Since a few others of you are also successfully running MX Linux on your Thinkpads, it might be appropriate to let you know that the MX Linux team is looking for feedback on Thinkpads so they can keep on improving:

- https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=39270

I've posted the inxi info and my comments about how MX Linux is working on my own Thinkpads and it would be great to have more data to improve things for all of us Linux-using Thinkpad lovers. Even if you don't use MX, I'm sure the developers of whatever distribution of Linux you are using would appreciate feedback too -- Linux is free but we are all stronger when we share our knowledge!

Thank You!
x61 works out of the box without any additional tweaks or modifications. I was struggling a bit with my t430. Everytime I docked the laptop, my external screens settings got messed up. I described my problem and the solution here. It still does not work 100%. Sometimes I need to re-dock to get the configuration right.

Q: I am new to the linux world. I understand, that TLP does not work with any profiles - no "on-demand" or "maximum performance". Is this correct?

Rs125
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:19 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#63 Post by Rs125 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:42 pm

Ubuntu Mate 18.04 on my T60, runs good. Have tried WATTOS also.
We got some rules to follow,
That and this, these and those...

T60 T7200 @ 2Ghz 2GB ram W7ult
T43 in progress

pm23885
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#64 Post by pm23885 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:59 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first post. I run Debian and Arch on i3.
x61T X201 X250 T61 T430 T530 T450S

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2588
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#65 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:12 pm

pm23885 wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:59 pm
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I run Debian and Arch on i3.
Welcome to the Forums.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

pm23885
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#66 Post by pm23885 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:10 pm

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:12 pm
pm23885 wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:59 pm
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I run Debian and Arch on i3.
Welcome to the Forums.
Thanks so much. Pretty much a very recent Thinkpad convert. This site is such full of information.
x61T X201 X250 T61 T430 T530 T450S

Hierax_ca
Freshman Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#67 Post by Hierax_ca » Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:56 pm

MX-18 Linux (with the XFCE DE) is now final and I highly recommend it (ymmv) :
- https://sourceforge.net/projects/mx-lin ... nal/MX-18/ .
I'm running it on everything from a Thinkpad 600x to a 701DS. I'm using for Thinkpads that would run Windows XP or 7.

For older Thinkpads running Windows 98se or 2000 or so, in my case 600x to T60p, I also run AntiX 17.3.1 (with the IceWM/SpaceFM option) :
- https://sourceforge.net/projects/antix- ... ntiX-17.3/
(edited because AntiX 17.3.1 released)
Last edited by Hierax_ca on Sat Dec 29, 2018 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Toshiba (93-98): t3400(ct), 3600ct, 610ct, 620ct, 660cdt, 490xcdt, 780cdm/dvd

IBM (95-06): 701c*(s) Butterfly, 600(e,x*), A31p*, T43(S*, p,+pS*)

Lenovo (07-12): t60h, T601pF*, x60t+, x61t+*,
W500, W700, W700ds, W701, W701ds, x301*, x200t, x220t, x220*, W520*.

olddog
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#68 Post by olddog » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:52 pm

I run Puppy Linux on a T61 and an Edge 15. Puppy is like a microcosm of Linux in that it comes in a load of different variants. My current one is called Xenial, which makes it highly compatible with Ubuntu.

I have been playing about with Linux for years, but it's only recently been able to compete properly with Windows (in my view) and that is because LibreOffice is now as good as MS Office in almost every respect.

I still have Windows on my T430, but mainly because I am doing a lot of CD ripping, and the best program I have found (EAC) is Windows only. When I can replace that it's curtains for Windows.

And as soon as I can completely avoid Google the happier I shall be.

skx
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#69 Post by skx » Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:57 pm

olddog wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:52 pm
I still have Windows on my T430, but mainly because I am doing a lot of CD ripping, and the best program I have found (EAC) is Windows only. When I can replace that it's curtains for Windows.
This is one of the fake reasons to justify keep using Microsoft malware. You have morituri which is as advanced as EAC, not to say more advanced. In case EAC is of such huge importance, rip your CDs with EAC from a virtualmachine. If not, just agree you can't say goodbye to Microsoft ;)
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian - ME_cleaned
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian - ME_cleaned

olddog
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#70 Post by olddog » Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:12 pm

skx wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:57 pm
olddog wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:52 pm
I still have Windows on my T430, but mainly because I am doing a lot of CD ripping, and the best program I have found (EAC) is Windows only. When I can replace that it's curtains for Windows.
This is one of the fake reasons to justify keep using Microsoft malware. You have morituri which is as advanced as EAC, not to say more advanced. In case EAC is of such huge importance, rip your CDs with EAC from a virtualmachine. If not, just agree you can't say goodbye to Microsoft ;)
With enormous respect, my reasons are not fake, as will become clear.

1 "You have morituri". No, I don't and most probably never will. It's no longer supported, in fact Morituri is moribund. It has been forked to Whipper, so you are somewhat out of date.
2 "as advanced as EAC, not to say more advanced". Not according to Wikipedia's comparison of rippers.
3 "In case EAC is of such huge importance". EAC is not important per se, but accurate ripping is.
4 "rip your CDs with EAC from a virtualmachine". An unnecessary complication.

Furthermore, neither Whipper not Morituri are available to be installed on Ubuntu (I use a distro based on Ubuntu) without a depth of knowledge which I presently lack.

I am pleased that you support Linux, but you would win more friends and influence more people if you were a little less arrogant. No doubt as you get older you will mellow.

cobalt60
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Alhambra, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#71 Post by cobalt60 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:07 am

Scottfish wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:47 am
For those of you running Debian, how do you get wireless working? I think I'd like the stability and weight of Debian.
I do the install over ethernet. During the install, debian generally detects your wifi chip and tells you the exact package you need to install (at least it does when doing advanced net install). Then its just a matter of, on my X200s for example:

sudo apt install firmware-iwlwifi

Then you can use something like wicd-curses (which I prefer) or nm-applet to choose wifi networks to connect to
X200s 1440x900, 64GB SSD, 6GB RAM - main laptop - X200s 1440x900, 128GB SSD, 4GB RAM - school laptop
T60p 1600x1200 IPS - undecided - W500 1920x1200, FireGL V5700 - fixing the frame...
T43p 1600x1200 IPS - needs work - 240X might try FreeDOS from a floppy...

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#72 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:42 am

cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:07 am
I do the install over ethernet. During the install, debian generally detects your wifi chip and tells you the exact package you need to install (at least it does when doing advanced net install). Then its just a matter of, on my X200s for example:

sudo apt install firmware-iwlwifi

Then you can use something like wicd-curses (which I prefer) or nm-applet to choose wifi networks to connect to
Most wifi cards require binary-only firmware blobs, so you have to add the non-free repository first.

So open a terminal window, get root privileges, then edit the /etc/apt/sources.list file with the text editor of your choice.
deb {placeholder for the debian mirror site you're using} stretch main contrib non-free
Then run:

Code: Select all

apt update
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

cobalt60
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Alhambra, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#73 Post by cobalt60 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:57 am

axur-delmeria wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:42 am
cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:07 am
I do the install over ethernet. During the install, debian generally detects your wifi chip and tells you the exact package you need to install (at least it does when doing advanced net install). Then its just a matter of, on my X200s for example:
...
Most wifi cards require binary-only firmware blobs, so you have to add the non-free repository first.
...
Yes, non-free needs to be enabled in the sources.list file. For me, this is usually done during the initial OS install; when doing a net install with the advanced option, it asks if you want non-free software enabled by default. I do not know if it asks this when not using the advanced option.
X200s 1440x900, 64GB SSD, 6GB RAM - main laptop - X200s 1440x900, 128GB SSD, 4GB RAM - school laptop
T60p 1600x1200 IPS - undecided - W500 1920x1200, FireGL V5700 - fixing the frame...
T43p 1600x1200 IPS - needs work - 240X might try FreeDOS from a floppy...

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#74 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:23 am

cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:57 am
Yes, non-free needs to be enabled in the sources.list file. For me, this is usually done during the initial OS install; when doing a net install with the advanced option, it asks if you want non-free software enabled by default. I do not know if it asks this when not using the advanced option.
No it doesn't. I did a net install recently and the installer didn't ask to enable the non-free repository.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

cobalt60
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Alhambra, CA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#75 Post by cobalt60 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:56 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:23 am
cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:57 am
Yes, non-free needs to be enabled in the sources.list file. For me, this is usually done during the initial OS install; when doing a net install with the advanced option, it asks if you want non-free software enabled by default. I do not know if it asks this when not using the advanced option.
No it doesn't. I did a net install recently and the installer didn't ask to enable the non-free repository.
Interesting, I didn't know that. Another thing the advanced option offers that I bet the standard install doesn't is enabling sudo. In the advanced install, it asks if you want to enable a root password. If you choose "no", it offers to use sudo with your user. Do you know if the standard net install offers to enable sudo?
X200s 1440x900, 64GB SSD, 6GB RAM - main laptop - X200s 1440x900, 128GB SSD, 4GB RAM - school laptop
T60p 1600x1200 IPS - undecided - W500 1920x1200, FireGL V5700 - fixing the frame...
T43p 1600x1200 IPS - needs work - 240X might try FreeDOS from a floppy...

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#76 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:53 am

cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:56 pm
Do you know if the standard net install offers to enable sudo?
I don't remember the installer asking about sudo. Personally it's a good idea: I'd rather stick to a sane default config rather than an unsafe one. *cough cough Windows*
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

rjsrjs
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:18 am
Location: Kissimmee, Florida

T430 running Linux Mint

#77 Post by rjsrjs » Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:01 am

I have a:
Lenovo T430 Think pad
IBM 180 GB SSD
8 GB RAM
i5 IBM Processor
Running Linux Mint MATE 19.1 with no major problems, just small Hic-Cups which can be fixed, so far, by searching on line.

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: richhelen-ThinkPad-T430 Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64 bits: 64 
  compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 2347C32 v: ThinkPad T430 
  serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: LENOVO model: 2347C32 serial: <filter> UEFI [Legacy]: LENOVO 
  v: G1ET45WW (1.20 ) date: 08/07/2012 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 22.4 Wh condition: 22.4/47.5 Wh (47%) 
  model: SANYO 45N1001 status: Full 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5-3320M bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Ivy Bridge rev: 9 L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 20753 
  Speed: 1197 MHz min/max: 1200/3300 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1197 2: 1197 
  3: 1197 4: 1197 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics vendor: Lenovo 
  driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile v: 4.2 Mesa 18.2.8 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio vendor: Lenovo 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-20-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network vendor: Lenovo driver: e1000e 
  v: 3.2.6-k port: 5080 bus ID: 00:19.0 
  IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 [Taylor Peak] driver: iwlwifi 
  v: kernel port: efa0 bus ID: 03:00.0 
  IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 167.68 GiB used: 13.49 GiB (8.0%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Intel model: SSDSC2BW180A3L size: 167.68 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 164.05 GiB used: 13.49 GiB (8.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 48.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 3614 
Info:
  Processes: 189 Uptime: 2h 38m Memory: 7.52 GiB used: 1.01 GiB (13.4%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27 

DartMan68
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:33 pm
Location: Covington, GA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#78 Post by DartMan68 » Mon May 20, 2019 3:34 pm

WarhawkCZ wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:07 am
this is brilliant. With Linux, I feel that I am in charge of the PC again - with all pros and cons. I don't like the direction which new SW development goes (e.g. software as a service, cloud, telemetry, uncontrolled updates etc.) and for this reason, I've been carefully experimenting with software which is multiplatform. Now it finally turned out, that I can practically do anything I regularly do in Linux and can use a second W7 machine, Wine or a virtual machine for those small bits which better work in windows.

I hope I will see MS hitting the rock bottom like Nokia did.
I most definitely agree with and 2nd the above sentiments, though I've chosen to dual-boot Windows 7 Pro and Manjaro MATE instead of keeping a separate laptop with just Windows on it.
Lenovo TP T61p MTM 6460-DVU T9300 4GB 128GB SSD WSXGA+ nVidia FX570m
Lenovo TP T61p MTM 6457-W3P T7700 4GB 128GB SSD *WSXGA+ **Intel X3100
*(repl. dim Samsung WUXGA) **(repl. faulty FX570m)

skx
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#79 Post by skx » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:26 pm

Just upgraded my machines to the new Debian stable release, Buster :bow:
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian - ME_cleaned
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian - ME_cleaned

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#80 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:39 am

skx wrote:
Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:26 pm
Just upgraded my machines to the new Debian stable release, Buster :bow:
Same here! Did a live upgrade rather than a fresh install, but I did backup the root partition beforehand. First I booted from an external SSD (with its own Debian installation), then used fsarchiver. Because it works at the filesystem level rather than block/sector level, it only copies the used portion of the partition. It also does compression, which further reduces the size of the resulting archive. My 16GB Linux root partition (6+GB used) became a 2.4GB fsa file. :D
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

agklimit
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:09 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#81 Post by agklimit » Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:22 am

I install Mint 19.1 Cinnamon everywhere I can. Really enjoy this distro... :) Just installed it onto an M-SATA SSD (Samsung, 256GB) in my ThinkPad T430. The "regular" drive is a 2.5" 250GB SSD with Windows 10 (for when the work requires) and there's another 1TB HD (storage) in the ODD-bay. My cup runneth over, really...
ThinkPad Yoga 260, ThinkPad T430 2347, ThinkPad T400 2768, ThinkPad T400 2765, ThinkPad R51

DucatiThumper
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 3:23 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#82 Post by DucatiThumper » Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:44 am

T440p

i5-4210m
8gb ram
500gb Crucial MX500 SSD in main bay + 500gb stock Lenovo HDD in ultrabay caddy for shared data with Windows 10 Pro

Running Debian 10 Buster KDE. I've tried a bunch of distros but always end up back at Debian. Fedora 30 is cool because the developers use Thinkpads but Gnome has quirks I don't like.

TP-Grrl
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:10 pm
Location: Santiago, Chile

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#83 Post by TP-Grrl » Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:38 am

x220t

Linux Mint (main OS) and Windows 8.1 on SSD (500gb)
MacOSX High Sierra on small mSata (32gb)

Dekks
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:38 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#84 Post by Dekks » Sat Jul 20, 2019 6:14 pm

Pretty much moved all 4 thinkpads over to stock debian bar the X230T which is on Arch. Have mothballed my T61 with nVidia GPU as the mess that is now 340-xx on arch pretty much leaves it unsupported.
Home - Win10/i5//Arch GNOME 3/X230 Tablet //Spectrwm X61 [Korean] - Debian 10//X32//T60p
Work - Win7/X230T

skx
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#85 Post by skx » Sun Jul 21, 2019 12:34 pm

cobalt60 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:56 pm
Do you know if the standard net install offers to enable sudo?
under stretch, if you used a root password during install, you did not have sudo enabled. if you left the root password blank, sudo was enabled by default (has been like this for years, and was mentioned during installation at the screen where you can set your root password). no idea about buster as I upgraded all my machines from stretch this time.
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian - ME_cleaned
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian - ME_cleaned

yawanathanisrael
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:12 am
Location: Carrollton, Texas

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#86 Post by yawanathanisrael » Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:37 pm

Hello,

I run Manjaro on a T510 and T61P. So far, I have had no problems. The DE is KDE :banana:
Sincerely,
Yawanathan
:banana:

Pete B
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Trumbull CT

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#87 Post by Pete B » Fri Aug 23, 2019 4:47 pm

Hierax_ca wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:56 pm
MX-18 Linux (with the XFCE DE) is now final and I highly recommend it (ymmv) :
- https://sourceforge.net/projects/mx-lin ... nal/MX-18/ .
I'm running it on everything from a Thinkpad 600x to a 701DS. I'm using for Thinkpads that would run Windows XP or 7.

For older Thinkpads running Windows 98se or 2000 or so, in my case 600x to T60p, I also run AntiX 17.3.1 (with the IceWM/SpaceFM option) :
- https://sourceforge.net/projects/antix- ... ntiX-17.3/
(edited because AntiX 17.3.1 released)
Thanks for the links, I prefer to run the 32 bit version as long as it has PAE enabled
and can therefore access more than 4 GB of RAM. I've seen some Linux distros mention
PAE but do you know if MX has it enabled?
PAE info: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_ ... _Extension
I'm going to try it anyway but thought I'd ask.
Frankenpad 15" TuuS MB X9000, LED IPS, T440s IPS display
X61s L7700 7666-B7U Prefer a T8100
Toughbook CF51 with SSD, Dell: D830, M4400, M6400, E4300 - gave away

Scottfish
Freshman Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: Detroit, MI USA

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#88 Post by Scottfish » Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:01 pm

After coming to my senses and NOT selling my T440P, I installed an FHD screen and then Debian Buster w/ Gnome.

Loving it. I'll eventually get around to installing Openbox and one of my old configs, but she's running so well. Glad I kept her!
T440P - 250GB SSD (2.5") - 240GB SSD (M.2) - Backlit Keyboard Mod - 3 Button Trackpad Mod - 128GB (2.5")SSD in Optical Drive Bay -Running Debian

skx
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Time for a "what distro are you running" thread...

#89 Post by skx » Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:24 pm

Scottfish wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:01 pm
After coming to my senses and NOT selling my T440P, I installed an FHD screen and then Debian Buster w/ Gnome.

Loving it. I'll eventually get around to installing Openbox and one of my old configs, but she's running so well. Glad I kept her!
Of course, I am daily traveling with my X220 (Debian), older than your T440p and it is running smooth as butter :mrgreen: The only downside is that it weighs a bit more compared to today's minimal micro machines but I happily carry the extra weight :D
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian - ME_cleaned
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian - ME_cleaned

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Linux Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests