Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

what is the best linux distro for thinkpad x41 tablet?

Linux on ThinkPads
ijunsung

what is the best linux distro for thinkpad x41 tablet?

#1 Post by ijunsung » Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:22 am

Hi,

I am a beginner in linux and am interested in installing linux into my old thinkpad x41 tablet.

* Mint 18.3 xfce

I installed this linux distro into my x41t but rotation function does not work and tablet buttons do, neither. due to previous article, I got some help to assign commands into thinkpad tablet buttons. but can't find how to fix screen rotation function. and it is a little bit slow.

*Lubuntu 17.10
with lubuntu, it runs much faster than one with Mint but tablet functions do not work at all. at least it recognizes tablet pen with mint.

my ideal goal is to use it with tablet mode like this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C74Rhx0eY6s

is there anyone who tried to install linux into the x41 tablet and made a success?

I appreciate you in advance.

Dekks

Re: what is the best linux distro for thinkpad x41 tablet?

#2 Post by Dekks » Sat May 05, 2018 3:08 am

Did you install the Wacom driver package and libinput? I'm assuming Xorg and not Wayland.
Home - Win 10 MSi GF63 Gaming Laptop /Arch GNOME 3/X230 Tablet /X61 [Korean] - Debian 10/T60p - Ubuntu 20.10 Helix 2
Work - Win10/Thinkpad X1 Tablet Gen 2

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat May 05, 2018 5:17 am

If you don't need to go online, the official Windows XP for tablet still works fine.
I have that on my X41t (that is just gathering dust nowadays).
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Monkeyfume

#4 Post by Monkeyfume » Tue May 08, 2018 10:41 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sat May 05, 2018 5:17 am
If you don't need to go online, the official Windows XP for tablet still works fine.