Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Before I install Ubuntu

Linux on ThinkPads
Torque

Before I install Ubuntu

#1 Post by Torque » Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:47 pm

Hi!

I've been thinking about trying out Ubuntu on my spanking new T60. The plan is to convert to OpenOffice and hopefully get Beryl going for some eyecandy :) I'm an absolute beginner with Linux, so pardon any stupid questions.

The T60 is right out of the box. So the service partition is intact and so is the MBR that allows for entry to the pre-desktop area - at least so I've been told.

1. How do I remove the service partition? I have no real use for it (already made the recovery discs) and I've heard that GRUB will make it impossible to boot on it anyways.

2. Will Ubunti 6.10 have driver support for the hardware? If not, where can one find drivers?

3. Will installing drivers require alot of terminal-work?

4. Anyone here have experience with Beryl?
IBM T60
14,1" (1400x1050), 1,83GHz Core Duo, 64MB X1300
1GB RAM, 100GB 7200 HDD, DVD burner

Leikeze Ajnin

#2 Post by Leikeze Ajnin » Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:17 pm

1) In the BIOS, you'll need to disable the pre-desktop area if you intend to remove the service partition. Then, when you install Ubuntu, tell the installer you want to repartition the drive. OR you could use one of the graphical partition programs from the Live CD portion of the install media. As I'm not familiar with Ubuntu's installer, I'm not sure how straightforward their interface is (for partitioning).

2) It should have drivers for everything and then some, with the possible exception of either wireless card drivers and/or video card drivers, or technology that's too new. the PCLinuxOS wiki has some decent information on getting hardware working, particularly installing ATI or NVidia drivers.