Max CPU Upgrade for 600E?

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
jamiphar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Millstadt, Illinois
Contact:

#1 Post by jamiphar » Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:08 pm

I have a ThinkPad 600E with a 300mhz PII. It runs well and is very reliable, but I would like to speed it up a bit. Can somebody tell me how much of a processor upgrade I could do on this?

pkiff
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

#2 Post by pkiff » Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:44 pm

[moved from Official 600 upgrade thread to new thread]

You can put a PII 400MHz MMC-2 CPU in there without any other hardware modifications. If you want something faster, then you should read through the Official 600 upgrade thread to learn about the possibility (and difficulties) of upgrading to a PIII.

Phil.
W520 (dual-boot Windows 10/Ubuntu 15) · X61 Tablet SXGA+ · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver

jamiphar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Millstadt, Illinois
Contact:

#3 Post by jamiphar » Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:18 am

pkiff wrote:You can put a PII 400MHz MMC-2 CPU in there without any other hardware modifications. If you want something faster, then you should read through the Official 600 upgrade thread to learn about the possibility (and difficulties) of upgrading to a PIII.

Phil.
Yeah, I read through those. I couldn't quite understand what's attainable without risking damage to the computer. I see some 1.0ghz PIII's on ebay for good prices, but I don't know how to tell which ones might work. If I were going to upgrade the CPU, I'd like to get it higher than a PII to make it worth it.
James Arndt
Lenovo Business Partner/Authorized Reseller

ThinkPad T420s [4171-7FU] i7-2640m/8GB/480GB SSD
ThinkPad 600X [2645-4EU] PIII-M 1GHz/576MB/60GB Internal WiFi/BT/ThinkLight/Slot-loading DVD/CD-RW

www.famteam.com
www.arndtcomputer.com

harald612
Freshman Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Germany

#4 Post by harald612 » Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:16 am

You can only put a MMC-2 CPU in the TP 600E socket. The fastest (I saw) was 850MHz. For more info, please read these fantastic official 600 upgrade thread.
T23 - PIII 1200 MHz, 1024 MB, DVD-RW, SXGA+, WLAN Display
600X - PIII 850 MHz, 576 MB, DVD, USB 2.0, WLAN int.
600E - PIII 650 MHz SS Mod, 416 MB, CD-RW/DVD, WLAN XJack
TP 760XD - P166 MHz, 104 MB, 20 GB, ESS1688, USB 2.0, LAN

pkiff
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

#5 Post by pkiff » Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:42 am

jamiphar wrote:I see some 1.0ghz PIII's on ebay for good prices, but I don't know how to tell which ones might work.
harald612 wrote:You can only put a MMC-2 CPU in the TP 600E socket. The fastest (I saw) was 850MHz.
As harald612 suggests, the fastest PIII that Intel made in the MMC-2 form factor is 850MHz. This is also the fastest CPU you can put in a 600X, 770X, or 770Z. The trick to figuring out what will fit is that you need an "MMC-2" form factor.

You can identify a CPU by the code/markings Intel puts on them. In the 600 Upgrade thread, DNA_DAN provides a list of Intel processor identification codes. A PIII MMC-2 Intel processor will have a number that begins with "PMM...". Some more information about the "MMC-2" module is available from Tom's Hardware Mobile CPU Mania.

MMC-2 PIII 850MHz modules are somewhat rare, and can cost anywhere from around USD$100 to USD$200, and so may not be worth the cost for the upgrade. You can usually get PIII 750MHz or less modules for a reasonable price.

Phil.
W520 (dual-boot Windows 10/Ubuntu 15) · X61 Tablet SXGA+ · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver

jamiphar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Millstadt, Illinois
Contact:

#6 Post by jamiphar » Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:55 am

All right, I see what you guys are saying. Thanks for the info!
James Arndt
Lenovo Business Partner/Authorized Reseller

ThinkPad T420s [4171-7FU] i7-2640m/8GB/480GB SSD
ThinkPad 600X [2645-4EU] PIII-M 1GHz/576MB/60GB Internal WiFi/BT/ThinkLight/Slot-loading DVD/CD-RW

www.famteam.com
www.arndtcomputer.com

bosco
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 9:08 am
Location: Ohio, USA

#7 Post by bosco » Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:02 pm

Also, a 850mhz P3 will only run at 700mhz on a 600E due to the 600E being non-speedstep.

A 500mhz P3 can be had for about $20 and will run at the full 500mhz.

jamiphar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Millstadt, Illinois
Contact:

#8 Post by jamiphar » Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:04 pm

bosco wrote:Also, a 850mhz P3 will only run at 700mhz on a 600E due to the 600E being non-speedstep.

A 500mhz P3 can be had for about $20 and will run at the full 500mhz.
Hmm, would a 700mhz PIII run its fastest?
James Arndt
Lenovo Business Partner/Authorized Reseller

ThinkPad T420s [4171-7FU] i7-2640m/8GB/480GB SSD
ThinkPad 600X [2645-4EU] PIII-M 1GHz/576MB/60GB Internal WiFi/BT/ThinkLight/Slot-loading DVD/CD-RW

www.famteam.com
www.arndtcomputer.com

AlphaKilo470
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 2762
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:42 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

#9 Post by AlphaKilo470 » Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:42 pm

Depends on whether or not it's a SpeedStep CPU. SpeedStep CPUs always run 150mhz slower in the 600E. Non SS (e.g. 450, 500) will run at full speed.
Latitude E7250: i5 5300U 2.3ghz, 12gb RAM, 12" 1080p touch, 256gb SSD, Win 10, Linux Mint 18.2
HP Compaq 6910p: 2GHZ C2D T6400, 4gb RAM, 14.1" WXGA, 500gb WD Blue, Linux Mint 18.2
ThinkPad T60: 2GHZ CD T2500, 2gb RAM, 14.1" XGA, 60gb 7k100, Win 7 Ult

jamiphar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Millstadt, Illinois
Contact:

#10 Post by jamiphar » Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:47 pm

AlphaKilo470 wrote:Depends on whether or not it's a SpeedStep CPU. SpeedStep CPUs always run 150mhz slower in the 600E. Non SS (e.g. 450, 500) will run at full speed.
Is there any workaround for that? Are the only true PIII's the ones with speedstep?
James Arndt
Lenovo Business Partner/Authorized Reseller

ThinkPad T420s [4171-7FU] i7-2640m/8GB/480GB SSD
ThinkPad 600X [2645-4EU] PIII-M 1GHz/576MB/60GB Internal WiFi/BT/ThinkLight/Slot-loading DVD/CD-RW

www.famteam.com
www.arndtcomputer.com

pkiff
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

#11 Post by pkiff » Tue Aug 15, 2006 1:33 pm

jamiphar wrote:
AlphaKilo470 wrote:Depends on whether or not it's a SpeedStep CPU. SpeedStep CPUs always run 150mhz slower in the 600E. Non SS (e.g. 450, 500) will run at full speed.
Is there any workaround for that? Are the only true PIII's the ones with speedstep?
AlphaKilo470 is right. If you have a PIII that is a non-SpeedStep CPU, then they will run at full speed. These are "true" PIII's as much as a SpeedStep PIII is a "true" PIII. It is just that some PIII's (the ones that are 650MHz or faster) have SpeedStep functions.

The 600E was not designed to use a PIII, nor to use SpeedStep. Installing a PIII in a 600E can therefore be unpredictable, and some people have run into unknown, unsolvable problems. Others install it, modify the BIOS, add the PowerLeap utility, and everything runs tickety-boo.

Just keep in mind that if you install a PIII in a 600E you will have issues with your "L2 cache", and if you install a SpeedStep PIII then you will also have a problem with your CPU running slower than the max, as AlphaKilo470 explains. For some ideas about the workarounds, please carefully re-read the The official 600 Upgrade and general information Topic and follow the links to other sites and threads there.

You may also want to check out:
SpeedStep Issues with 600E upgraded to PIII 650 MHz
SpeedStep and Windows 2000 on a ThinkPad 600E
600E 55U upgrade problems
and
Mod the Pad
and you can also try browsing through
Wim's BIOS - IBM Thinkpad 600E bios mod for processor update

Phil.
W520 (dual-boot Windows 10/Ubuntu 15) · X61 Tablet SXGA+ · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests