Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Anyone using their X60/X60s for really demmanding apps?

X60/X61 and X60t/X61t Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
Thinkpaddict
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:15 am
Location: Sacramento, California

Anyone using their X60/X60s for really demmanding apps?

#1 Post by Thinkpaddict » Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:23 pm

I am mainly concerned about using the X60s for Photoshop, After Effects, video encoding, Sonar/Cubase, etc. Also for playing the occasional game (GTA Vice City, Doom 3, etc.) How are the X60s series for that? Much better than say a T41p with a 1.7 Ghz Dothan and FireGL T2? I am really tempted to get an X60s, just need some reassurance (i.e., excuse). :)

sheynk
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: chicago
Contact:

#2 Post by sheynk » Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:10 pm

I have a x60 with 2ghz and 2gb of ram...i wouldnt think to do heavy video and/or modern gaming on it

photoshop runs awesome though (dual monitoring with a 19 inch)

This laptop is the single best tech purchase ive ever made...and can tell you that I will NEVER buy a non thinkpad laptop.

...however...the x series are not for videos

rja
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:15 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Anyone using their X60/X60s for really demmanding apps?

#3 Post by rja » Sat Mar 31, 2007 11:23 pm

Thinkpaddict wrote:I am mainly concerned about using the X60s for Photoshop, After Effects, video encoding, Sonar/Cubase, etc. Also for playing the occasional game (GTA Vice City, Doom 3, etc.) How are the X60s series for that? Much better than say a T41p with a 1.7 Ghz Dothan and FireGL T2? I am really tempted to get an X60s, just need some reassurance (i.e., excuse). :)
I use a 1.6uv with Visual Studio for medium sized projects. It is sufficient but no where near as fast as my machine at work (Athlon x2.) However, a large part of the difference is compile times is probably due to disk throughput. Don't expect to play any games with the Intel graphics chip though.

sugo
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1813
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:54 am
Location: Seattle, WA

#4 Post by sugo » Sat Mar 31, 2007 11:40 pm

For H264 encoding and playback, the performance is doubled on my X60s compared with a T42.
X61

Comage
Sophomore Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: The City/State of Singapore

#5 Post by Comage » Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:15 am

FireGL cards are not for games.

If you want to play Doom3, you can forget about it. The onboard GMA is not good for any of these games. Most will refuse to install if they detect an onboard graphics solution.

xene
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Sugar Land, TX

#6 Post by xene » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:43 pm

I'm running the full Adobe Creative Suite CS2 on my X60s ( L2400-1.66GHz & 2GB RAM) with no problems. Well, there is the increased eye strain from trying to touch-up photos on a 12" monitor instead of my old 14" T40....

thibouille27
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium

#7 Post by thibouille27 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:04 pm

I play WoW on my X60. Runs fine although not 50fps at all time of course ;)
TP X23 +UBX2 +cdrw
TP X60 +UBX6 +dvdrw slim + floppy + 8cells battery

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X60/X61 Series incl. Tablets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests