Where is Adobe Gamma in Vista? Photoshop Problem - Monitor

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
arlab
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:14 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Where is Adobe Gamma in Vista? Photoshop Problem - Monitor

#1 Post by arlab » Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:18 am

Many Thinkpad users have problems with Photoshop CS3, due to their "Wrong Monitor Profile" error.

I've read that this can be solved through Adobe Gamma, but I can't find it (I'm usng Vista).

Here's the solution I read:
1. Choose Start > Settings > Control Panel.
2. Double-click Adobe Gamma.
3. Select Step By Step Wizard, and then click Next.
Anyone knows where Adobe Gamma can be found?
T61p T7800 2.6 GHz, Vista Ultimate x64, 15.4 WUXGA, NVIDIA Quadro FX 570M (256MB), 4 GB SDRAM, 200GB 7200rpm, Intel Turbo Memory 1GB, Intel 4965AGN, Bluetooth.

erik
moderator
moderator
Posts: 3597
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: United States

#2 Post by erik » Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:42 am

adobe photoshop CS3 no longer contains the adobe gamma control panel.   both the ATI and nvidia control panels have gamma controls if you absolutely need them.
ThinkStation P700 · C20 | ThinkPad P40 · 600

arlab
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:14 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

#3 Post by arlab » Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:32 am

That's why I couldn't find it... Anyway, here's how I solved it:

Go to Control Panel -> Color Management.
In the Devices tab you'll see the Display: ThinkPad Display (resolution) - (graphics card) associated with the TPLCD.icm ICC profile.

This profile is the one conflicting with Adobe Photohop.
What I did was choose another profile that doesn't conflict.

Check the "Use my settings for this device" box, press the "Add..." button, select the other ICC Profile (the one that appears to me is sRGB IEC61966-2.1) and set it as the default profile.

Problem solved :)

Thanks to pae77 for the info.
T61p T7800 2.6 GHz, Vista Ultimate x64, 15.4 WUXGA, NVIDIA Quadro FX 570M (256MB), 4 GB SDRAM, 200GB 7200rpm, Intel Turbo Memory 1GB, Intel 4965AGN, Bluetooth.

pae77
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 738
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Honolulu, HI, USA

#4 Post by pae77 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:38 pm

Thanks for the credit and saving me the effort of responding. :)
HP DV8t | Intel i7-Q 720 | 6GB (DDR3 1333) RAM | 1 TB (500GB Seagate 7200 rpm x2)| GeForce GT 230M (1GB) | 18.4" FHD | SuperMulti 8X w Lightscribe | FP Reader | Bluetooth | HDTV Tuner | Win 7 Ultimate x64. Backup: T61p (8891-CTO)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests