X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
mandelmanden
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:36 pm
Location: Århus, Denmark

X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#1 Post by mandelmanden » Wed May 15, 2013 4:32 am

Hello,

I've a support case where I was requested to upgrade a X301 with some RAM, price was a big issue, so I found some Corsair CMSO8GX3M2A1600C11, 2x4gb modules, and ordered them. The client then proceeds to install them himself and gets the beepcode 1 long followed by 3 short, which indicates something wrong with DIMM or systemboard.

Now, I haven't been able to find any information that there should be a problem with installing 1600mhz 4gb modules in the X301. Is there a problem here? I haven't had a chance to get my own hands on the machine yet, so I sadly can't say if there's any fumbling with the installation. But I'd just like to hear if anyone has got any experience with upgrading RAM beyond base specs in this and how it handles clocking them down...

I'll get back when I have more info.

Thank you in advance for any insight you might offer :)

lead_org
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#2 Post by lead_org » Wed May 15, 2013 1:45 pm

it maybe due to the Corsair ram itself. ThinkPad have known incompatibility issues with certain Corsair ram modules.
Current ThinkPad: T430u, T430s, X1 Carbon, X1, X230t, X220t, X230, X220, X201t, W520, W701ds, T500, T420 and many more

91011
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:10 pm
Location: Centennial, CO

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#3 Post by 91011 » Wed May 15, 2013 8:21 pm

Happened to see this at the Lenovo forum a few hours after seeing your post:

Re: x300 memory Options
‎05-15-201312:30 PM - edited ‎05-15-201312:30 PM
I can confirm, my Lenovo X301 with 2x 4GB DDR3 Samsung 2Rx8 PC3 12800 working.
But unfortunatelly, in Lenovo X301 DDR-II adjusted chipset is used to get DDR3 memory working, so all the memory is running at 400MHz (800MHz respectively), so even though you are using 1600MHz memory (PC 12800) like me, they are running only at 800MHz.


http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-Th ... 093/page/2

Seems to indicate the problem may be the Corsair RAM.
X301 -- X201s -- X2faux1s -- X201 -- x230 -- T61 -- T60p -- T42p

mandelmanden
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:36 pm
Location: Århus, Denmark

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#4 Post by mandelmanden » Fri May 17, 2013 7:37 am

Thanks for your replies.

Upgrading this 301 has become a nightmare of incompatible parts.

Radioguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:45 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#5 Post by Radioguy » Sun Jun 14, 2015 5:18 am

91011 wrote:Happened to see this at the Lenovo forum a few hours after seeing your post:

Re: x300 memory Options
‎05-15-201312:30 PM - edited ‎05-15-201312:30 PM
I can confirm, my Lenovo X301 with 2x 4GB DDR3 Samsung 2Rx8 PC3 12800 working.
But unfortunatelly, in Lenovo X301 DDR-II adjusted chipset is used to get DDR3 memory working, so all the memory is running at 400MHz (800MHz respectively), so even though you are using 1600MHz memory (PC 12800) like me, they are running only at 800MHz.


http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-Th ... 093/page/2

Seems to indicate the problem may be the Corsair RAM.
Hynix s a no-go as well...at least this type:

https://www.skhynix.com/products/comput ... 451S6AFR8A

It's 1xR8, though. Perhaps this is the issue?
  • T61 - 6465CTO - T9500 - 15.4" LG WSXGA+ - 8GB OCZ- 120GB EVO 850 SSD - X3100 - Win 8.1 Pro 64-bit
    X301 - 2774W8Q - U9400 - 13.3" BOEHYDIS WXGA - 8GB Elpida - 128GB C400 mSATA SSD - 4500MHD - Win 10 Pro 64-Bit

Hierax_ca
Freshman Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#6 Post by Hierax_ca » Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:51 am

FWIW, I just upgraded my x301 (4057-WXP) from 4GB to 8GB of RAM using some Crucial memory (DDR3 PC3-12800 - CL=11 - Unbuffered - NON-ECC - DDR3-1600 - 1.35V) :

- http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/thinkpad- ... /CT5311320

and it is working just fine!
Toshiba (93-98): t3400(ct), 3600ct, 610ct, 620ct, 660cdt, 490xcdt, 780cdm/dvd

IBM (95-06): 701c*(s) Butterfly, 600(e,x*), A31p*, T43(S*, p,+pS*)

Lenovo (07-12): t60h, T601pF*, x60t+, x61t+*,
W500, W700(ds), W701, x301*, x200t, x220t, x220*, W520*

Mac (04+11): iMac G4 20", MacBook Pro 17"

johnmcdonnell
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:51 pm
Location: Upland, CA

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#7 Post by johnmcdonnell » Thu Jun 25, 2015 3:32 pm

Another 4GB module that I can confirm works fine in the ThinkPad x301:
Elpida PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600) EBJ41UF8BDU5-GN-F CL11 16c 256x8 DDR3-1600 2RX8 1.5v

I'm compiling a list of RAM modules that have been verified as working or problematic in the x301. That list (along with some other x301 resources) is here:

http://x301.mcdonnelltech.com

Hope this helps.

shawross
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:48 am
Location: Perth Aus / Thailand

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#8 Post by shawross » Thu Jun 25, 2015 6:34 pm

Nice website :thumbs-UP:
Active --- Love the X series
X301 SU9400 IDA Mod - W 7 / X201 540M - W 7 / X220 2520 - W7

Nostalgia
X61 T7500 / T43's / T42

Rogue daily driver - Samsung RV511 15.6 " Screen - W 7

Radioguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:45 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#9 Post by Radioguy » Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:31 am

Ditto!
  • T61 - 6465CTO - T9500 - 15.4" LG WSXGA+ - 8GB OCZ- 120GB EVO 850 SSD - X3100 - Win 8.1 Pro 64-bit
    X301 - 2774W8Q - U9400 - 13.3" BOEHYDIS WXGA - 8GB Elpida - 128GB C400 mSATA SSD - 4500MHD - Win 10 Pro 64-Bit

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#10 Post by thinkpadcollection » Thu Sep 17, 2015 12:11 pm

x301 CPU is C2D means 1.5V and 2Rx8 memory (16 chips). Same with 1st gen i core series as well.

If any memory 1Rx8 for 4GB per stick, will not work.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

johnmcdonnell
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:51 pm
Location: Upland, CA

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#11 Post by johnmcdonnell » Thu Sep 17, 2015 12:32 pm

thinkpadcollection wrote:x301 CPU is C2D means 1.5V and 2Rx8 memory (16 chips). Same with 1st gen i core series as well.

If any memory 1Rx8 for 4GB per stick, will not work.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection
That seems logical, but Kingston's KHX1600C9S3K2/8GX are 1Rx8 4GB modules and are confirmed to be working correctly in the x301.

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2790
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#12 Post by Temetka » Sat Sep 19, 2015 5:29 pm

shawross wrote:Nice website :thumbs-UP:
You are right. That site has a lot of useful information.

I myself am very interested in picking up an X301. I was worried about the lack of lack of expansion. The mini-pci to microSD adapter is very interesting.
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

Radioguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:45 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#13 Post by Radioguy » Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:21 pm

Those are useful for all laptops, not just ThinkPads. Honestly, the only thing I find myself really wanting on a X301 is an externally-accessible SD card reader. That's been the sole drawback I don't understand.
  • T61 - 6465CTO - T9500 - 15.4" LG WSXGA+ - 8GB OCZ- 120GB EVO 850 SSD - X3100 - Win 8.1 Pro 64-bit
    X301 - 2774W8Q - U9400 - 13.3" BOEHYDIS WXGA - 8GB Elpida - 128GB C400 mSATA SSD - 4500MHD - Win 10 Pro 64-Bit

Radioguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:45 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: X301 1600mhz RAM upgrade failure?

#14 Post by Radioguy » Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:32 pm

Forgot to mention: I can also confirm the Elpida EBJ41UF8BDU5-GN-F 4GB sticks work in the X301. I grabbed a pair, and bumped it up to 8GB.
  • T61 - 6465CTO - T9500 - 15.4" LG WSXGA+ - 8GB OCZ- 120GB EVO 850 SSD - X3100 - Win 8.1 Pro 64-bit
    X301 - 2774W8Q - U9400 - 13.3" BOEHYDIS WXGA - 8GB Elpida - 128GB C400 mSATA SSD - 4500MHD - Win 10 Pro 64-Bit

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests