Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

x230 display issue

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
pictux
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Treviso, Italy

x230 display issue

#1 Post by pictux » Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:49 pm

Hi all,
i've recevied this x230 (type 2325-CJ0).
Case is quite good (a few scratches and the lcd bezel broken in 2 points) but i don't care it too much.
Big problem here is that the display after a while start flickering showing black and white bands (as you can see in the image)
Mouse and keyboard are inactive, i have to turn off the machine to make it usable again.

https://s12.postimg.org/juv6emyrh/P60906_230316_1.jpg

Can i fix this in any way?
Any tips?
Thanks!
T460 20FMS3FM00, x230 2325-CJ0
T440s 20AR S08Q00, T500 2082-9JG, T60 1952-CTO, R50P 1832-22G, T40 2374-PG2

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: x230 display issue

#2 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Sep 10, 2016 5:20 pm

Does the same issue appear with an external display?
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

pictux
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Treviso, Italy

Re: x230 display issue

#3 Post by pictux » Tue Sep 13, 2016 3:33 pm

Hi and thanks for the reply!
nitrocaster wrote:Does the same issue appear with an external display?
I've checked and yes, same issue on external display....
Maybe the motherboard is defective?
T460 20FMS3FM00, x230 2325-CJ0
T440s 20AR S08Q00, T500 2082-9JG, T60 1952-CTO, R50P 1832-22G, T40 2374-PG2

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21164
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: x230 display issue

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Sep 13, 2016 4:00 pm

If both LCD and external screen show the same crap, then you'll need a new motherboard.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes: I Am Pilgrim)

kony
Sophomore Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Poland

Re: x230 display issue

#5 Post by kony » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:13 am

I agree, it's a clear motherboard issue (or CPU's iGPU, though much less likely).
My T430 with GTX 560 Ti (Now with GTX 670)
T430: i5-3320m, 8 GB, SSD + HDD, 1600x900.

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: x230 display issue

#6 Post by StefanKo » Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:46 pm

Doesn't matter, the CPU is soldered onto the mainboard and can not be exchanged without mainboard replacement anyway.
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

pictux
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Treviso, Italy

Re: x230 display issue

#7 Post by pictux » Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:14 am

Thanks for the replies.
I'll search for a replacement.
M
T460 20FMS3FM00, x230 2325-CJ0
T440s 20AR S08Q00, T500 2082-9JG, T60 1952-CTO, R50P 1832-22G, T40 2374-PG2

pictux
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Treviso, Italy

Re: x230 display issue

#8 Post by pictux » Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:36 am

Hi everybody,
i simply try removing one memory bank at time (there were 2 banks 4gb each), and found out that the problem was one of them.
So no need to change mobo :)
M
T460 20FMS3FM00, x230 2325-CJ0
T440s 20AR S08Q00, T500 2082-9JG, T60 1952-CTO, R50P 1832-22G, T40 2374-PG2

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21164
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: x230 display issue

#9 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:29 am

Good find!
We usually forget that a lot of laptops have integrated graphics with shared memory, i.e. use the RAM modules.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes: I Am Pilgrim)

rjwilmsi
Freshman Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 1:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: x230 display issue

#10 Post by rjwilmsi » Tue Nov 29, 2016 6:41 am

Interesting. Did you run memtest86+ on the RAM to identify if a module reports as faulty? I've previously heard reported that some people have found RAM starts reporting errors after a few hours after it has been hot for a prolonged period. As you say the display issue only appears after a few hours, perhaps that could be related.

Though in my own RAM testing all but 1 of over 100 modules I'd estimate I've tested were either absolutely fine i.e. full pass of memtest86+ passed zero errors, or failed within seconds (machine wouldn't boot or caused memtest86+ to crash or raise errors within seconds of starting). The only one that wasn't like that had a single error at a single address, so I still use it with the Linux kernel told not to use that address (via grub settings).

In older ThinkPads there was an issue with the graphics that if you had internal graphics, two RAM modules and had a particular BIOS setting enabled (I think it was a virtualisation setting like VT-d or something though I can't find the link to the relevant Lenovo support page) then you could see graphics corruption issues, though not as severe as in your photo. Saw that personally on an X200s.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests