Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

General Questions, Rumors, Real news & More
Post Reply
Message
Author
RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18087
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#1 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Jan 29, 2017 8:42 am

FryPpy wrote:Any modern Linux distro can handle it and Acronis True Image 2016 (linux based) works well.
I have Acronis True Image 2012, which works great and fast.
Last year May I picked up Acronis 2016 (new) but forgot all about it until last week.
I had to uninstall ATI 2012 first then install ATI 2016 (on my desktop).
Then I took an image of only the W7 System and OS partitions from a laptop HDD (1TB Samsung 5400rpm) that was to be restored onto an SSD (250GB Sandisk X400).
I used a USB2.0 port and a Sabrent HDD/SSD adapter for that.
Unfortunately I didn't time it, but it took forever to image only about 21GB. My guess? Well over 1 hour!
Then I tried to find my way through a crappy UI to restore that image onto the SSD.
Found it eventually, and started the restore.
Believe it or not, that took almost 2 hours!

Result?
Uninstalled that piece of sh!t ATI 2016 immediately and reinstalled good old ATI 2012.
Just out of curiosity I took another same image from that same HDD, using ATI 2012, which took less than 20 minutes!
If you check on the web, there are tons of complaints about ATI 2016 being as slow as frozen molasses on a Siberian tundra!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Puppy
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:52 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: what is the most powerful Thinkpad?

#2 Post by Puppy » Sun Jan 29, 2017 8:49 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:If you check on the web, there are tons of complaints about ATI 2016 being as slow as frozen molasses on a Siberian tundra!
I see more people switching to Macrium Reflect but I don't have experience with it yet. I'd use the bootable CD only anyway, maybe it is time for an open source tool instead but I need BitLocker support.
ThinkPad (1992 - 2012): R51, X31, X220, Tablet 8

bobcardone
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: Sunny Saint Petersburg, Florida

Re: what is the most powerful Thinkpad?

#3 Post by bobcardone » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:26 am

Second that on Macrium Reflect.
I used it to do 3 SSD upgrades yesterday, it worked with no issues.
Only problem is you can't go from a larger source drive to a smaller target drive... even if the target drive has sufficient space.
"What, me worry?" - Alfred E. Neuman

Daily: T520, X220T

Museum: Z61M and Z61T Titaniums, X301, T43p, X32, X61 Tablet

In progress: T/W520 speaker mod

Panasonic Toughbook CF19 Mk 4 (Not a ThinkPad, but still awesome)

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18087
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Feb 01, 2017 6:55 am

And another warning!
Acronis True Image 2016 must be SO bad, that Newegg is now giving it away for free!

Acronis True Image 2016 w/ 250GB Cloud Storage
$0
With Promo Code: EMCRCRB26
After $30 MIR.

JPOESQ
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 2:26 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#5 Post by JPOESQ » Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:01 am

Strange. I use ATI2016 to image 200+GB on my daughter's X230 with a Samsung SSD and it takes about 40 minutes to back up to a WD USB 3.0
John P. O'Banion, JD, PE, BSEE
Registered Patent Attorney
http://www.intellectual.com

600, X61s, X220, X230, T530

Whitieiii
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Location: Kingston, WA

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#6 Post by Whitieiii » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:26 pm

I used Acronis True Image 2017 to clone my T440s Hard drive and it worked great! went to a 300GB SSD from a 500GB HDD I don't notice a speed increece with the SSD over the HDD
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 60GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 320 GB HDD Win 7
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 500 GB HDD Mac OS 10.12 Sierra
T430 3rd Gen i5 8GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD Win 10
T440P 4th gen i5 8GB ram GT 730m 2x500GB Win 7

JWalker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:00 am
Location: Oakton, Virginia

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#7 Post by JWalker » Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:13 am

Whitieiii wrote:I used Acronis True Image 2017 to clone my T440s Hard drive and it worked great! went to a 300GB SSD from a 500GB HDD I don't notice a speed increece with the SSD over the HDD
Interesting and surprising. With about a 3x speed increase with the SSD I would have expected a significant speed increase in your computer. If your laptop is set properly for the SSD then then there must be a bottleneck somewhere else. I finally got a SSD with my new E570 and the overall speed it so much faster than my old T510 with an optical HD. The processor is faster and I have more memory. The combination has to be right.

TPFanatic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Hudson, New Hampshire

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#8 Post by TPFanatic » Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:19 pm

It depends on usage. SSD will increase boot times and drive based tasks like loading programs and reading lots of files. There will be speed improvements, but are they that necessary? If you reboot often, yes, if not, not really. If you work primarily on the web or have a lot of RAM, you'll get close to no performance boost for web things from an SSD, and a smart OS will be loading programs and files into the RAM anyway.
Daily driver: lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
Ultraportable: IBM lenovo X60s
Home theater: lenovo T420

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

Puppy
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:52 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#9 Post by Puppy » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:44 am

TPFanatic wrote:smart OS will be loading programs and files into the RAM anyway.
There is no RAM in current OSes anymore, it is just a virtual memory space :)
ThinkPad (1992 - 2012): R51, X31, X220, Tablet 8

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2790
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#10 Post by Temetka » Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:45 pm

I used to use EaseUS for cloning partitions, but they install a lot of other tools of theirs I don't want.

Macrium reflect (free) so far has been perfect for me the few times I've cloned a disk for people. Being in IT, we usually just wipe and reload.
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

Utwig
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: Slovenia/Europe

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#11 Post by Utwig » Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:59 am

what's wrong with plain Linux and dd?
T540p, T420s (soon to be T420ps :) ), X61t, T60p, T42p, A21p

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#12 Post by TankPad » Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:57 pm

Macrium Reflect and Norton Ghost are the ones I'd be most familiar with. Reflect is really easy to use and does pretty must everything you'll need, plus it's pretty fast.
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect, others?

#13 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:45 pm

TankPad wrote:Reflect is really easy to use and does pretty must everything you'll need, plus it's pretty fast.
I agree! I have been using Macrium Reflect for the last 2 years and find it very easy to create an image and restore it if need be. Easy peasy!
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “GENERAL ThinkPad News/Comments & Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests