Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.

Would you pay $54 for such kit for X220T/X230T?

Yes
95
90%
No
10
10%
 
Total votes: 105

Message
Author
mariojlhm
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:24 am
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#331 Post by mariojlhm » Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:27 am

I'd very much like to be considered in the running to purchase one of the FHD mod kits when they're next available. What's the best way to keep up to speed other than checking this thread?

Mrtn
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#332 Post by Mrtn » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:07 am

I'm very excited!

My first screen arrived this week, but the box was really damaged. Screen broken. :(

Now waiting for another one and this kit ofcourse! We can expect them soon? :D

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#333 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:02 am

mariojlhm wrote:What's the best way to keep up to speed other than checking this thread?
Subscribe to this thread. It's kinda better :)
Mrtn wrote: We can expect them soon?
Working on it.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

superchump
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:12 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#334 Post by superchump » Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:23 pm

Hi everyone, Nitrocaster.

I'm very interested in ordering an adapter if there is a third batch.

Cheers, and thanks for all the hard work!

raincrumb
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:25 am
Location: Hoest, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#335 Post by raincrumb » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:16 am

Hi nitrocaster,

please also count me in for a 3rd batch.

KR

offcet
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:42 am
Location: Joensuu, Finland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#336 Post by offcet » Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:40 pm

Hi nitrocaster,

Please count me in for a 3rd batch too.

offcet

g4b
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#337 Post by g4b » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:31 am

Hi!

I'm also interested by a 3rd batch

g4b

guix77
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:07 pm
Location: Toulouse, France

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#338 Post by guix77 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:10 pm

Hello,

I am also interested in the 3rd batch !!! Great project, kudos :D

M4gnuM420
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:12 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#339 Post by M4gnuM420 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:01 pm

Is this mod reversible?
I got x220 with i3 and usb 2.0 only. On some point i would like to upgrade to i7 with usb 3.0 or even to board from x230 and still enjoy 1080p ips screen.
This mod is amazing and definitely i will buy it when i get some money

mystery905
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:58 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#340 Post by mystery905 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:51 pm

Hi nitrocaster,

Have you made any progress doing the X230T/X220T version?

TheChuckster
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#341 Post by TheChuckster » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:54 pm

nitrocaster wrote:Not really. Today I finished assembling 24 boards (from 120). I hoped to complete it quickly by using a stencil (which became much more important since the new design uses smaller passive components), but I'm not getting a sustainable quality, so for now I just solder every single part manually. But I'll try to find a way to use a stencil again.

With the first batch I begun to accept payments after the whole batch was ready. Maybe it would make sense to split the current batch into sub-batches and dispatch them separately. We'll see.
Nice! :banana: I'm really excited! How goes the boards? Halfway done yet?

Would love to do a YouTube tutorial and review when I get mine.

phage
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:09 pm
Location: McHenry, IL

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#342 Post by phage » Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:52 pm

Guys, I get it that you're excited, but it's rude to bother a developer.

Evnnbd
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:56 am
Location: Alexandreia, Greece

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#343 Post by Evnnbd » Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:01 am

I'm also interested about the possibility of a 3rd batch.
What's the technical difficulty of diy this from scratch?

seasonshu
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:55 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#344 Post by seasonshu » Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:44 am

boutch55555 wrote:
inq wrote:How can this be done? Which pins do I have to tape? What does tape mean?
Like this : http://imgur.com/XjGmbz3

Zoom in, you need to put tape between the red lines. I put too much but don't care since they aren't used for the battery, only for dock.
Thank you so much for this! I can confirm that after doing this isolation on a Mini Dock (Type: 4337, one DisplayPort), I can dock my FHD x220 and use the ports (so far tried power, ethernet and DP).
Having said that, it required a lot of patience from me, those pins are really small and hard to count. To help, I ended up buying a Magnifier http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/201066207601.

The only caveat that, when an external monitor is plugged in, I lost the option to control the brightness on the laptop screen, which is probably no surprising given that the mode (Fn+F7) changes to 'projector only'. Otherwise (not using an ext monitor), business is usual!

ctoph0
Freshman Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:58 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: RE: Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#345 Post by ctoph0 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 2:18 pm

seasonshu wrote:
boutch55555 wrote:
Like this : http://imgur.com/XjGmbz3

Zoom in, you need to put tape between the red lines. I put too much but don't care since they aren't used for the battery, only for dock.
Thank you so much for this! I can confirm that after doing this isolation on a Mini Dock (Type: 4337, one DisplayPort), I can dock my FHD x220 and use the ports (so far tried power, ethernet and DP).
Having said that, it required a lot of patience from me, those pins are really small and hard to count. To help, I ended up buying a Magnifier http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/201066207601.

The only caveat that, when an external monitor is plugged in, I lost the option to control the brightness on the laptop screen, which is probably no surprising given that the mode (Fn+F7) changes to 'projector only'. Otherwise (not using an ext monitor), business is usual!
This was pretty much my only reservation of the upgrade, I need the abilty to dock and use an external. Is the tape going to wear out?

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Past: A22M T61P X41T X200 X201
Present: X201 X220 X61s T420
Future: Upgrading the present!

boutch55555
Freshman Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#346 Post by boutch55555 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 2:29 pm

Depending on the tape, it will probably wear out. The "clean" solution would probably be to disconnect / cut / unsolder the pins internally on the dock pcb. I could do a guide but don't have a dock...

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#347 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:22 pm

For some reason I lost some updates here :eek:
So, I'm considering outsourcing PCB assembly to get kits done faster.

There will be a third batch, but I can't give ETA for it.

Anybody here attending ExpoElectronica 2017 in Moscow?
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

phage
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:09 pm
Location: McHenry, IL

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#348 Post by phage » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:34 pm

Consider me in for the third batch too, if you would.

tannhauserHyde
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:51 pm
Location: Brisbane, Gold Coast AUS

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#349 Post by tannhauserHyde » Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:53 pm

Also registering my desire for a third batch kit. Looking forward to further updates :)

albertine
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:03 am
Location: Lorraine, France

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#350 Post by albertine » Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:15 am

nitrocaster wrote: So, I'm considering outsourcing PCB assembly to get kits done faster.

There will be a third batch, but I can't give ETA for it.
What a great news, I'm ready to wait as long as you want/need!
Also count on me for the third batch, one or two units :)
X201 i5-560M & 8GB RAM & SSD + PE4H-EC2C v2.4 eGPU w/ ATI FirePro 2460 running ArchLinux

guix77
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:07 pm
Location: Toulouse, France

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#351 Post by guix77 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:04 pm

I received my x220 and it's way too small for me : count me out of the 3rd batch. Great work you're doing, anyways !!!

davem
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 9:50 pm
Location: Kupang, Indonesia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#352 Post by davem » Thu May 04, 2017 9:52 pm

Put me down for a unit please.

thnikk
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 2:04 am
Location: Belmont, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#353 Post by thnikk » Fri May 05, 2017 2:06 am

Count me in. I love my x220 and this would make me love it so much more.

BigT0ny
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 2:24 pm
Location: West Sussex, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#354 Post by BigT0ny » Fri May 05, 2017 2:45 pm

If you have more available in the future I'll be interested in buying one or two. :D
W520 + CF-W9 :help:

jdoebean
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 7:13 pm
Location: River Ridge, Loiusiana

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#355 Post by jdoebean » Fri May 05, 2017 7:15 pm

I'm in, let me know about the third batch, put two (have systems)or three perhaps more on order. Yumyum :D

rkan
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:52 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#356 Post by rkan » Fri May 05, 2017 7:19 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:22 pm
For some reason I lost some updates here :eek:
So, I'm considering outsourcing PCB assembly to get kits done faster.

There will be a third batch, but I can't give ETA for it.

Anybody here attending ExpoElectronica 2017 in Moscow?
Where did the 2nd batch go though?? I thought I registered on the Google form that was around here about 5 months ago..
T43p - M 770(2.13GHz), 2GB RAM, 60GB HDD, 15in 1600x1200 LCD, 128MB ATI FireGL V3200, CD-RW/DVD-R Multi-Burner, Intel 802.11abg wireless(MPCI), Bluetooth/Modem(CDC), 1Gb Ethernet(LOM)

TheChuckster
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#357 Post by TheChuckster » Sat May 06, 2017 1:05 am

At this point, if I had to guess, it seems like he is going to roll the second batch into the third in order to get enough scale to improve the efficiency of his production.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#358 Post by nitrocaster » Sat May 06, 2017 5:42 am

The second batch did not go anywhere. The third one is only planned, but the design is not ready yet, which means I can't send it to factory right now.

Regarding the scale and efficiency - first batch was 60 pcs, second is 120 and the third should be 240, so the problem is rather assembling, flashing, testing, packaging and posting all these kits. It's easier when I install the kit myself: I don't have to test kits, since the percentage of good boards is high enough and I have spare parts and equipment to fix them, I don't have to pack and send them.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#359 Post by nitrocaster » Sun May 07, 2017 11:10 am

So far I got 22 good adapters and managed to get a affordable quote for oursourced assembly to finish the rest of the second batch. Meanwhile I'm going to dispatch these 22 kits and fix ones which failed testing, then dispatch remaining kits.

My local post office was working like a complete garbage last time I visited it to send stuff: I waited about 3 hours because of their new software was constantly freezing and hanging. Hopefully they will do better the next time when I come with all these kits :?
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#360 Post by TankPad » Sun May 07, 2017 1:00 pm

Great news. Looking forward to hearing more. :)
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pamark and 10 guests