Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

[SOLVED] volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall && symbol lookup error kmix

Linux on ThinkPads
Post Reply
Message
Author
whqdz
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:42 pm
Location: Belgium, Brussels

[SOLVED] volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall && symbol lookup error kmix

#1 Post by whqdz » Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:52 pm

Hello :)

I'm facing to a strange problem. Yesterday my t430s running on mint sonya has crashed, I mean blackscreen, I had to do alt + ctrl + f1, login and then reinstall sddm package.

Now, the four buttons on the top of the keyboard don't work anymore (mute speakers, volume down, volume up, mute microphone). The leds don't work too.

So, I've did a test with the command acpi_listen in order to know if these keys give a response, and the answer is yes, here are the results:

Code: Select all

$ acpi_listen                       
button/mute MUTE 00000080 00000000 K
button/volumedown VOLDN 00000080 00000000 K
button/volumeup VOLUP 00000080 00000000 K
button/f20 F20 00000080 00000000 K
My point of view is there is an issue about the system, maybe a missing driver/package, but I really don't know what exactly, do someone have an idea of what's the problem?

If needed, here's the output of the inxi -Fxx command:

Code: Select all

$ inxi -Fxx
System:    Host: Saucisson Kernel: 4.10.0-40-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 5.4.0
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.8 (Qt 5.6.1) dm: sddm,sddm Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   Device: laptop System: LENOVO product: 23532MU v: ThinkPad T430s serial: N/A
           Mobo: LENOVO model: 23532MU serial: N/A UEFI [Legacy]: LENOVO v: G7ET29WW (1.11 ) date: 05/24/2012
           Chassis: type: 10 serial: N/A
Battery    BAT0: charge: 10.9 Wh 35.1% condition: 31.0/43.3 Wh (72%) volts: 11.1/11.1
           model: Panasonic 45N1143 serial: 3030 status: Discharging
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-3320M (-HT-MCP-) arch: Ivy Bridge rev.9 cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10376
           clock speeds: min/max: 1200/3300 MHz 1: 1225 MHz 2: 1249 MHz 3: 1390 MHz 4: 1329 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0166
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.18.4 ) drivers: intel (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@59.98hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile
           version: 3.3 Mesa 17.0.7 (compat-v: 3.0) Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:1e20
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-40-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: 5060 bus-ID: 00:19.0 chip-ID: 8086:1502
           IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: 3c:97:0e:1c:2b:63
           Card-2: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 [Taylor Peak]
           driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 8086:0085
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: 60:67:20:20:60:50
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (7.7% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HITACHI_HTS72505 size: 500.1GB serial: TF1500Y9GP4ZJB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 455G used: 32G (8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1
           ID-2: /boot size: 472M used: 408M (92%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.01GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-2
RAID:      System: supported: N/A
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 44.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 3100
Info:      Processes: 205 Uptime: 6 min Memory: 1028.2/11738.6MB
           Init: systemd v: 229 runlevel: 5 default: 2 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481 running in konsole) inxi: 2.3.40
Thank you!
Last edited by whqdz on Wed Nov 29, 2017 4:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2001
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:03 am

Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

whqdz
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:42 pm
Location: Belgium, Brussels

Re: volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall

#3 Post by whqdz » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:04 am

Hello axur-delmeria,

This solution didn't work, and I've already tried many different solutions, maybe the 2 first pages of different google searchs. Only one works (see below).

In fact, I've created 4 new shortcuts based on "amixer" in System settings >> shortcuts >> custom shortcuts. It works really fine, and the leds are lighting if mute keys are activated or not, that's a good point!

My new - and last I guess - problem is I don't have any pop-up notifications or pop-up sounds when I push the keys.

Any idea?

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2001
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall

#4 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:54 am

It looks like the program/daemon that monitors the volume controls is malfunctioning/not loading.

I'm not familiar with the MATE desktop though (I use Debian with Xfce desktop), but the idea is to reinstall or reconfigure the package that performs that task.

A quick search through Debian's package manager shows "mate-media", which could be what we need.

In a terminal window with root privileges, try this:

Code: Select all

dpkg-reconfigure mate-media
If it doesn't work, try removing said package, then reinstalling it.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

whqdz
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:42 pm
Location: Belgium, Brussels

Re: volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall

#5 Post by whqdz » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:06 pm

Well, your idea sounds relevant, I got the same point of view about a software/package issue but I'm on KDE and not on Mate, so the command doesn't work :(

I've also tried by reinstall pulseaudio but it didn't help me.

do you have any idea of this mate-media package for kde?

Thank you

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2001
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall

#6 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:40 pm

whqdz wrote:
Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:06 pm
do you have any idea of this mate-media package for kde?

Thank you
I think it's kmix.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall

#7 Post by jaspen-meyer » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:28 pm

I wonder if there is an out of date configuration file in /home/user/ causing the problem.

Add a new user and see if that changes anything.
sudo adduser newuser

to remove the user
sudo deluser newuser
T420 i7 3612QM seabios; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100 seabios; T61 P9600; T60 libreboot; x62; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

whqdz
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:42 pm
Location: Belgium, Brussels

[SOLVED] Re: volume and mute buttons not working after sddm reinstall

#8 Post by whqdz » Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:51 pm

Hello :)

good news, after days and decends of various researchs, I've found what was my problem.

According to what axur-delmeria said, I took a look on kmix and I've discovered that the package was a little bit "broken". I mean: when I clicked on the icon, nothing happenned, and the icon tray was missing.
Then i've tried by command line and bash gave to me an "symbol lookup error" around libQtWebKit.so.4 .

So, the problem was kmix. These last days i've tried many different "solutions" I found on mint and ubuntu forums, like fixing broken package (I got no one!), uninstall / reinstall each qt library etc. but still facing the same problem...

Until a simple & easy solution that I've found from a stackexchange topic: just remove all the libqt packages that are in /usr/local/lib because of a dynamic link issue.

After that, i've launched kmix and... tadaaaaam yippi yay, it works really fine! :D I'm able to see kmix in shortcuts settings, bind it, use it, pop-up notifications, it's all perfect! Except the fact that I still don't know how to get back the pop-up sound but what ever i'm happy!

Here's the link of the topic if it can help someone: https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... -libraries

By the way jaspen-meyer: your suggestion is one of the first I've tried last week, and it didn't change anything. Finally the problem was more simple eh :)

thank you guys, I really appreciate your help!


PS: I just did a small edit of the title, to add SOLVED, and change the title, just in case for further people that could meet the same issue.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Linux Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests