Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#91 Post by boutch55555 » Thu May 24, 2018 5:10 am

Wifi and HDD are still working, bluetooth doesn't show up, but that might be because I removed the integrated bluetooth adapter to use an Intel 7260.

evening_hunger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: Normandy, France

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#92 Post by evening_hunger » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:11 am

boutch55555 wrote:
Fri May 04, 2018 7:41 am
I didn't find alternative longer cables, but you could get a couple of those extensions, that's what I used with my W11 panel.
Hi Boutch, there is a problem. I bough extenders from them and got them, but they are not the edp->edp extenders visible in the bottom photo (which probably are compatible with Nitro's cable) but the edp->some_f...g_ribbon converters visible at the top of the photo. What have you gotten when you bought from them?
Do you have any spare extension (of those at the bottom) you'd like to seel or something?

In other words, thie auction photo not one cable visible on both sides (as I though) but two cables. Strange, there's no choice options on the auction, I should've gotten both of them... [censored].

I put my system together with Nitro's cable. My AUO screen has the connector on the wrong side, of course, so it was impossible to fly the cable through any hinges. I drilled holes in the bezel, keyboard support and part of the chassis and put the cable through there directly to Nitroboard. That works, but I suppose it will die, like, really fast, once I give this cable to many squezes. So, I either need this extender - but the correct one, or a longer cable - but you wrote it doesn't exist...
x320/i7-2620M/8GB/256gb.ssd/FHD13.3''IPS/debian_testing (main driver)
x230/i5/8GB/500gb.hdd+256gb.m2ssd/IPS/debian_stable+win7 (better half)

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#93 Post by boutch55555 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 3:34 pm

I'm pretty sure you just got it on the wrong side, pictures on the site are bottom and front view. It needs to be folded 2 times on one end to have the correct orientation, something like this. Same in the junction between the 2 ribbons, except with a single fold. Ain't pretty but works...

evening_hunger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: Normandy, France

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#94 Post by evening_hunger » Tue Jun 05, 2018 10:04 am

Hmm no, I think they just sent me the wrong ribbons. I will take some photos once back home, and post them here. Also, I see what you mean, probably the auction photo indeed shows the same connector from both sides. It's just that they sent me something different. More on it later...
x320/i7-2620M/8GB/256gb.ssd/FHD13.3''IPS/debian_testing (main driver)
x230/i5/8GB/500gb.hdd+256gb.m2ssd/IPS/debian_stable+win7 (better half)

evening_hunger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: Normandy, France

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#95 Post by evening_hunger » Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:33 pm

The connector I got from Yoycart is visible here: https://imgur.com/a/V8uWhG8
x320/i7-2620M/8GB/256gb.ssd/FHD13.3''IPS/debian_testing (main driver)
x230/i5/8GB/500gb.hdd+256gb.m2ssd/IPS/debian_stable+win7 (better half)

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#96 Post by boutch55555 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:43 pm

Does it have a model number on the side ? Mines were HQ-LED30-156. Maybe they sent the wrong part... In which case I'd contact them.

evening_hunger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: Normandy, France

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#97 Post by evening_hunger » Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:59 am

It's HQ-40-156FPC on mine. Yes, I contacted them, so far they're resisting to acknowledge their fault:) By the way I want to say this screen kicks maximum [censored], the colors are off-this-world, and available 'pixelspace' - stunning.
x320/i7-2620M/8GB/256gb.ssd/FHD13.3''IPS/debian_testing (main driver)
x230/i5/8GB/500gb.hdd+256gb.m2ssd/IPS/debian_stable+win7 (better half)

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#98 Post by apala4 » Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:53 pm

boutch55555 wrote:
Sat Dec 23, 2017 8:32 am
Patching is quite easy, worse part is creating an account on 51nb to download the files ;) PM me if you want a google drive / dropbox link.

Whole process :
Update to 2.68 with official installer. Extract the bios, place it in the x230_bios_patch folder, name it x230.bin and run patch.bat. It should create x230.bin.patched. Flash that.

It also removes whitelist and adds advanced menu. You can choose to disable one of them by commenting it in patches.txt
hello,

1) could you please share the files needed for bios patching?

2) https://forum.51nb.com/forum.php?mod=vi ... light=LVDS this link shows:
1. Please refer to the method of whitelisting: https://forum.51nb.com/thread-1737551-1-1.html
(It is recommended to unplug the eighth pin, bios set the way to wake up the network to access the network cable, I myself Tryed to use the eighth pin did not succeed, for reference.)
is it really required to play with all that "wake up the network" things?

TIA.

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#99 Post by boutch55555 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:58 am

Here are files for patching the bios. I used those instructions with the raspberry pi and flashrom to extract and flash the bios.

votumcratum
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:15 am
Location: Taganrog, Russia

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#100 Post by votumcratum » Fri Aug 03, 2018 7:37 am

boutch55555 wrote:
Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:58 am
Here are files for patching the bios. I used those instructions with the raspberry pi and flashrom to extract and flash the bios.
Is this patcher compatible with the latest x230 BIOS version of 2.73 (26 Jun 2018)?

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#101 Post by boutch55555 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:27 am

It was made for 2.67 or earlier, tested ok with 2.68 and 2.70, will probably work. I'll try to take the time to test it over the weekend.

votumcratum
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:15 am
Location: Taganrog, Russia

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#102 Post by votumcratum » Mon Aug 06, 2018 5:47 am

What are the recommended 12.5" WQHD/"2k"/1440p screens for x230?
People usually mention "Sharp" without specifying the particular panel model.

wojtekS
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:41 am
Location: Siemianowice Śląskie, Poland

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#103 Post by wojtekS » Tue Aug 07, 2018 12:06 am

LQ125T1JW02/A01

Sometimes it can be ordered with the metal mounting frame so it can be easily bolted to the existing mounts: https://www.ebay.com/itm/LQ125T1JW02-A0 ... 1995635762
Mine came without.

votumcratum
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:15 am
Location: Taganrog, Russia

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#104 Post by votumcratum » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:42 am

Thanks, wojtekS!
Is there any difference between /A01 and /A02 I should be worried about or they will both work with the #2 mod from before?

wojtekS
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:41 am
Location: Siemianowice Śląskie, Poland

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#105 Post by wojtekS » Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:32 am

Maybe it's just the mounting frame difference. Try to check on panelook website. I have the #2 but with additional USB ports (it was available at the begining of 2018, now no more).

Mine is A01 and I am writing from my X230 with this screen.

Here is the same seller on aliexpress: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-Sh ... 43401.html

Big difference in price.

radostzohany
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 6:40 am
Location: Žilina, SK

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#106 Post by radostzohany » Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:13 pm

how much a whole kit like this goes for? Im kind of unsure, on what does it needs, I know nitrocaster made some fhd boards, but he said they do not support fhd Im wondering what is needed for this taobao fhd or wqhd mod, I would appreciate your help

skrble
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:18 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#107 Post by skrble » Sat Sep 01, 2018 3:31 am

votumcratum wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 7:37 am
boutch55555 wrote:
Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:58 am
Here are files for patching the bios. I used those instructions with the raspberry pi and flashrom to extract and flash the bios.
Is this patcher compatible with the latest x230 BIOS version of 2.73 (26 Jun 2018)?
The keyboard itself works fine, but many Fn- shortcuts stopped working, at least on my unit, as well with the microphone mute button. The previous patched bios ran just fine (patched early beginning 2018, idk which version it actually was).
ThinkPad X230 | Classic 7-row Keyboard Mod | Intel Core i5 | IPS | 9 cell

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#108 Post by boutch55555 » Sat Sep 01, 2018 4:38 am

You might want to flash the EC again. Release notes say it's still 1.14, should be fine.

skrble
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:18 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#109 Post by skrble » Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:32 pm

I already found the problem. It was simply a coincidence with other official Lenovo update: https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-P ... -p/4188711

I apparently noticed it a bit later, so I thought it may be connected with this. My excuse! Thanks! :)
ThinkPad X230 | Classic 7-row Keyboard Mod | Intel Core i5 | IPS | 9 cell

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: thrilleratplay and 10 guests