Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#991 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:55 am

Are you sure it's not a soldering issue? eDP cables failures are extremely rare unless you intentionally abuse them.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

L29Ah
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#992 Post by L29Ah » Tue Jul 17, 2018 5:02 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:55 am
Are you sure it's not a soldering issue? eDP cables failures are extremely rare unless you intentionally abuse them.
Yeah, you're right: after poking the PTHs thoroughly with a soldering iron it works flawlessly. Thanks a lot for the suggestion!

Humpauttaja
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:11 pm
Location: Tampere, Finland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#993 Post by Humpauttaja » Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:35 pm

Got my kit somewhat working just now. My screen was working without backlight until I had an idea to drop some isopropyl alcohol on the chips (while running the laptop). It looks like if I drop alcohol on the chip on the right the backlight comes on and the picture is great. But after a while when the alcohol has evaporated the backlight goes out. Also the backlight control doesn't work.

I've tried cleaning the whole board with alcohol couple of times already, but at most the backlight has stayed on for about ~10min. If reapply some alcohol on the right side chip the backlight comes back on no problem.

Could the board just still be dirty?
Any thoughts?
Using Manjaro Linux as the OS. Could the backlight control not be working because of this?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#994 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:56 pm

Make sure you run dual display mode ('Dummy display' + FHD display). Because your alcohol contains a small amount of water, pouring it onto the adapter board injects voltage to the sense wire, triggering the backlight. This can happen only when backlight enable signal is not present, which means that the backlight for the LVDS display is not being told to turn on. Unless you fried something during the installation, that means that the LVDS display is not enabled in the OS.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Humpauttaja
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:11 pm
Location: Tampere, Finland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#995 Post by Humpauttaja » Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:47 pm

Oops, didn't notice I had the dummy one disabled. :oops:
Now it works in the OS, but the backlight doesn't work during post. This means my sense wire is bad, right?

At one point during my install I had backlight but no picture, even during post. Does it mean that my sense wire _was_ connected at that time?

Anyway, thanks for the great kit and advice! :)

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#996 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:54 pm

Humpauttaja wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:47 pm
At one point during my install I had backlight but no picture, even during post. Does it mean that my sense wire _was_ connected at that time?
No. That means your computer was using Dummy display rather than the real FHD display. So, the sense wire wasn't connected that time.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

winhard
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:08 am
Location: Tours, France

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#997 Post by winhard » Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:15 am

I received my kit last week , mod done on my X230 and everything is working great !
Thanks alot Nitrocaster ! :D

totti9696
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:59 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#998 Post by totti9696 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:52 am

hello

help me please

which lcd is better? where can i buy lcd for kit, only by win0win store? thank you

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/i/32810180893.html


https://www.aliexpress.com/store/produc ... 28e4JDnGJa

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#999 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:12 am

Just make sure you buy the exact model, not some 'compatible' one. NV125FHM-N62 looks just as good as LP125WF2-SPB4 and it's cheaper. I added a link to verified eBay listing.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19313
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1000 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:55 am

Are you sure?
The (supposedly) NV125FHM-N62 pictures are from a Samsung LTN125HL02-302.
And further down it says: Package includeds 1x LCD SCREEN or compatible one.
Proper BOE confirmation and guarantee is required before buying!

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1001 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:10 am

I bought 3 screens from that seller and they turned out to be good. However, you always have to ask the seller for the exact model that you need.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

kosyx
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:34 pm
Location: Bakersfield, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1002 Post by kosyx » Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:59 pm

Anyone have flicker issues when you move the screen? It works perfectly then I move the screen and it’ll flicker then artifact and go back to normal.

omgitsaheadcrab
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1003 Post by omgitsaheadcrab » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:04 am

Screen finally arrived today so I'm going to solder my mod. The mod kit didn't come with an auxiliary power cable, just a sense wire. Can I use part of an old USB cable (which is stranded) or should I find a thin single core wire?

L29Ah
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1004 Post by L29Ah » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:44 am

omgitsaheadcrab wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:04 am
Screen finally arrived today so I'm going to solder my mod. The mod kit didn't come with an auxiliary power cable, just a sense wire. Can I use part of an old USB cable (which is stranded) or should I find a thin single core wire?
Whatever solderable (since some cheap cables aren't even copper these days) will work, i personally prefer a single core one (and butcher cat5 twisted pair patches for them).

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1005 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:11 am

kosyx wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:59 pm
Anyone have flicker issues when you move the screen? It works perfectly then I move the screen and it’ll flicker then artifact and go back to normal.
That's a typical sign of display failure. Could you upload a video?
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

kosyx
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:34 pm
Location: Bakersfield, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1006 Post by kosyx » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:06 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:11 am
kosyx wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:59 pm
Anyone have flicker issues when you move the screen? It works perfectly then I move the screen and it’ll flicker then artifact and go back to normal.
That's a typical sign of display failure. Could you upload a video?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/93kb634s85cyx ... 4.MOV?dl=0

omgitsaheadcrab
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1007 Post by omgitsaheadcrab » Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:00 am

L29Ah wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:44 am
omgitsaheadcrab wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:04 am
Screen finally arrived today so I'm going to solder my mod. The mod kit didn't come with an auxiliary power cable, just a sense wire. Can I use part of an old USB cable (which is stranded) or should I find a thin single core wire?
Whatever solderable (since some cheap cables aren't even copper these days) will work, i personally prefer a single core one (and butcher cat5 twisted pair patches for them).
Ended up using single core. Soldering was quite stressful but it worked first time so :banana:

Now time to investigate putting osx on it, seems the fhd mod doesn't play nice with it.

Thanks nitrocaster, "credit to team"!

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1008 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:26 am

What happens if you slightly press on the bottom area of the bezel?
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

kosyx
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:34 pm
Location: Bakersfield, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1009 Post by kosyx » Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:22 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:26 am
What happens if you slightly press on the bottom area of the bezel?
It turns pink and artifacts/flickers when i press the bottom left area of the bezel.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1010 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:01 pm

That's definitely a display failure. Sometimes displays get damaged during the shipping, sometimes the damage occurs when people handle them too rough.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

kosyx
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:34 pm
Location: Bakersfield, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1011 Post by kosyx » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:29 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:01 pm
That's definitely a display failure. Sometimes displays get damaged during the shipping, sometimes the damage occurs when people handle them too rough.
Wonderful, thanks.

Justintoxicated
Freshman Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:52 pm
Location: Long Bach, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1012 Post by Justintoxicated » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:43 pm

I finally got my conversion kit, but I'm a little afraid of installing it at this point... Is there a place in San Diego that can install it for me? I still need to order a screen and I'm not sure which model to go for.

What have I gotten myself into!

Or am I overthinking it and it's not too hard.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1013 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:26 am

Justintoxicated wrote:
Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:43 pm
Or am I overthinking it and it's not too hard.
If you don't have any soldering experience, it's going to be very hard.

Regarding display choices, the very first post of this thread shows your options:

LG LP125WF2-SPB3 : matte, IPS
LG LP125WF2-SPB4 : matte, IPS
AUO B125HAN02.0 : matte, IPS - avoid (sometimes doesn't work with the kit when other displays work fine)
BOE NV125FHM-N62 : matte, IPS
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

hanseatic
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 2:51 am
Location: Hamburg Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1014 Post by hanseatic » Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:39 am

I am looking for a kit. A new batch seems not in sight, so if anyone has one spare, feel free to drop a message.

deper29
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 2:00 am
Location: Saskatoon, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1015 Post by deper29 » Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:32 pm

hanseatic wrote:
Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:39 am
I am looking for a kit. A new batch seems not in sight, so if anyone has one spare, feel free to drop a message.
Are new kits not going to be made? I signed up and am also hoping for one.

hanseatic
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 2:51 am
Location: Hamburg Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1016 Post by hanseatic » Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:13 am

deper29 wrote:
Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:32 pm
Are new kits not going to be made? I signed up and am also hoping for one.
There probably will be, though not in a forseeable future from my humble understanding.

Duard
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 3:14 pm
Location: Baleares, Spain

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1017 Post by Duard » Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:38 pm

winhard wrote:
Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:58 am
I filled the form something like 10 days ago and received the bill today ! paiement done ! waiting the board and gonna order the screen ! :D
Thank you nitrocaster :thumbs-UP:
You're a lucky man. I filled out the form 7 months ago and have not yet received any news from Nitrocaster.
I have at home the new screen... hope to receive news soon.
Enjoy

votumcratum
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:15 am
Location: Taganrog, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1018 Post by votumcratum » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:21 am

Hi guys,

Could you please advise what the difference between preferable screens is?

LG LP125WF2-SPB3 : matte, IPS
LG LP125WF2-SPB4 : matte, IPS
BOE NV125FHM-N62 : matte, IPS

I mean, how should I pick one, what are the criteria?
Thanks.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1019 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:50 am

Good news! The 4th batch is in production now. Assembled PCBs are expected to be ready by September.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1020 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:00 am

votumcratum wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:21 am
Hi guys,

Could you please advise what the difference between preferable screens is?

LG LP125WF2-SPB3 : matte, IPS
LG LP125WF2-SPB4 : matte, IPS
BOE NV125FHM-N62 : matte, IPS

I mean, how should I pick one, what are the criteria?
Thanks.
There's little to no difference as far as I know (and I've seen all 3). Just make sure to ask your seller for exact model (not 'compatible' or 'replacement') without dead/stuck pixels.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests